mcjTeleBlender:Daz Studio scenes/animations w/Blender's Cycles Engine

1404143454648

Comments

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,160
    edited July 22

    although not mission-critical, it seems the ability for mcjTeleblender (daz script ) to remotely launch Blender 2.80 was magically restored while i slept

    though though tho, maybe it's Daz Studio 4.11 that was the problem we don't know you don't know i don't know badabing badaboom

    missionnoncritical.jpg
    1920 x 2080 - 543K
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • TheKDTheKD Posts: 1,266

    Where is the download for this? Is it the v20 that says from 2017 one on the mcjTeleBlender3 page?

  • DeanDean Posts: 21

    Feature Request Mr Casual.. Would it be possible that if we group scene items into 'groups' in Daz Studio they are transfered into blender as seperate collections ???

    It would be nice to seperate props from lights and cameras and characters..

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,160
    edited July 22

    Cycles render in Blender 2.80 of a Daz Studio 4 scene with Genesis 3

    my goal is to have mcjTeleBlender4 work with older versions of blender and older versions of Daz Studio

    and with Blender 2.80 and up, and EEVEE and Radeon P? Render

    nimoy.jpg
    752 x 1000 - 213K
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,160

    when it's ready i'll call it mcjTeleblender4

    i want to keep compatibility with older Blender versions

    i will change the Forum thread title to mcjTeleblender 3 and mcjTeleblender 4

    it may also include RPR compatibility for Radeon

     

    TheKD said:

    Where is the download for this? Is it the v20 that says from 2017 one on the mcjTeleBlender3 page?

     

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,160

     in the last version of mcjTeleBlender3 i think everything in the scene was 1 object, but in mcjTeleblender4  each figure and prop will be an object

    i dont know if i'll add grouping/collectionning things

    Dean said:

    Feature Request Mr Casual.. Would it be possible that if we group scene items into 'groups' in Daz Studio they are transfered into blender as seperate collections ???

    It would be nice to seperate props from lights and cameras and characters..

     

  • DeanDean Posts: 21

    Having seperate objects import will be awesome.. We can do the same thing blender side by moving objects into collections if it does works out that way.. Looking forward to it.laugh..

  • Silver DolphinSilver Dolphin Posts: 1,121

    Radeon Pro in Blender is cool shaders is what always makes me hesitant to use.

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,160
    edited July 24

    some progress on the mcjTeleBlender4 front

    ( it will be ready when it's ready, by that i just mean it's not ready :) and i adroitly avoided typing the word soon, oops  )

    yakou.jpg
    752 x 1000 - 200K
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • TheKDTheKD Posts: 1,266

    Thanks for making it, and looking forward to trying 4. I was just messing around with 3, it's working well with DS 4.10 and blender stable one, not RC. I couldn't get it to open the RC one, and tried outputting a blend file but had no luck with that.           Any tips on working with geographs like newgens? It seems to come in ok geometrywise, but the shader is a bit off. I need to dive into my hard drive of tutorials, I know I gotta have some blenders cycles stuff in there somewheres lol. 

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,160

    eventually i'll look into geografts issue

    the thing is i have zero experirence using them or seeing them on figures

     

    TheKD said:

    Thanks for making it, and looking forward to trying 4. I was just messing around with 3, it's working well with DS 4.10 and blender stable one, not RC. I couldn't get it to open the RC one, and tried outputting a blend file but had no luck with that.           Any tips on working with geographs like newgens? It seems to come in ok geometrywise, but the shader is a bit off. I need to dive into my hard drive of tutorials, I know I gotta have some blenders cycles stuff in there somewheres lol. 

     

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,160
    edited July 28

    are you unafraid and impatient to test mcjTeleBlender4 for daz studio for Blender 2.80? here's your chance to crash both Daz Studio and Blender ( not really but this should scare the afraid and the patient ones ) https://sites.google.com/site/mcasualsdazscripts9/mcjteleblender4temprelease

     

    mcjTeleBlender3MMXVII.dsa.png
    466 x 466 - 295K
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • Silver DolphinSilver Dolphin Posts: 1,121

    Ha ha, beta testers have a hard life watching those dreaded blue screens.

  • OctaneRender 2019 for Blender 2.8 now free.

    https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=72241

  • madsergiomadsergio Posts: 6
    edited July 30

    mcjTeleBlender4 beta already works great :) tested in DS 4.12 beta and Blender 2.80 RC3

    Post edited by madsergio on
  • Silver DolphinSilver Dolphin Posts: 1,121

    Blender 2.8 is out of beta just to let you know!!!!   Thanks for the beta script. Works well. Great work as always.

  • marblemarble Posts: 3,730

    So just to be clear and becaue I can’t test at the moment, McjTeleBlender4  transfers the scene for rendering in either Eevee or Cycles, right? Can I ask if it transfers in OBJ format and, if so, would it work with MDD files for animation? And also, does it still require conversion to 3Delight shaders?

     

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,160

    was the script able to remotely launch blender or you had to use the batch file?

    on my pc i have to use the batch file, but for 1 day i can almost swear the remote launch worked

    i suspect it has to do with python versions and environment variables/paths

    - i started working on converting the specular/glossiness/metallicity and maybe subsurface

    mcjTeleBlender4 beta already works great :) tested in DS 4.12 beta and Blender 2.80 RC3

     

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,160

    there used to be provisions for MDD ( 1 welded object instead of one object per group )

    so i hope to keep that option but didnt test it yet

    with Blender 2.8, the built-in importer sets up the "principled bsdf" material shaders upon importing the obj/mtl files

    then my mcjBlendBot blender python script executes  the commands that the daz script created for each material

    which fixes things like , adding texture tiling, re-creating the lights and cameras from the daz studio scene 

    and fixing the bad bump-map setup of blender's obj/mtl importer ( though i think they did it that way to favor the use of normal maps )

    since mcjTeleBlender can export sequences of obj files, this is part of what's required for MDD

    but i didnt test the animation compatibility yet ( animated cameras and lights )

     

    marble said:

    So just to be clear and becaue I can’t test at the moment, McjTeleBlender4  transfers the scene for rendering in either Eevee or Cycles, right? Can I ask if it transfers in OBJ format and, if so, would it work with MDD files for animation? And also, does it still require conversion to 3Delight shaders?

     

     

  • marblemarble Posts: 3,730
    mCasual said:

    there used to be provisions for MDD ( 1 welded object instead of one object per group )

    so i hope to keep that option but didnt test it yet

    with Blender 2.8, the built-in importer sets up the "principled bsdf" material shaders upon importing the obj/mtl files

    then my mcjBlendBot blender python script executes  the commands that the daz script created for each material

    which fixes things like , adding texture tiling, re-creating the lights and cameras from the daz studio scene 

    and fixing the bad bump-map setup of blender's obj/mtl importer ( though i think they did it that way to favor the use of normal maps )

    since mcjTeleBlender can export sequences of obj files, this is part of what's required for MDD

    but i didnt test the animation compatibility yet ( animated cameras and lights )

     

    marble said:

    So just to be clear and becaue I can’t test at the moment, McjTeleBlender4  transfers the scene for rendering in either Eevee or Cycles, right? Can I ask if it transfers in OBJ format and, if so, would it work with MDD files for animation? And also, does it still require conversion to 3Delight shaders?

     

     

    Thanks for the reply but I am still a little unsure. 

    1. I thought that MDD works with a single OBJ for the whole animation. As I understand it, the MDD file tracks the changes in geometry over the sequence of frames. If so then why the need for a sequence of object files?

    2. I didn't get whether your answer covered my question about whether we still need to convert to 3Delight shaders. 

     

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,160
    my script doesnt build the mdd file, so you need to build it from the sequence of obj files using ... i forgot what. once it's done you can delete all obj files except the first one. mcjteleblender works best when the shader is the DzDefault shader. but it works ok with the Uber/iray shader since about 2016. The other shaders ( ex:water, metal, carpet ) may cause problems because, my script uses the services of the Daz Studio obj exporter which will export no material definition for those materials. So in general its better to stick with uber and the default one. If you dont have the DzDefault shader in your library, you could create a primitive plane and export its shader as a duf file
    marble said:
    ..

  • marblemarble Posts: 3,730
    mCasual said:
    my script doesnt build the mdd file, so you need to build it from the sequence of obj files using ... i forgot what. once it's done you can delete all obj files except the first one. mcjteleblender works best when the shader is the DzDefault shader. but it works ok with the Uber/iray shader since about 2016. The other shaders ( ex:water, metal, carpet ) may cause problems because, my script uses the services of the Daz Studio obj exporter which will export no material definition for those materials. So in general its better to stick with uber and the default one. If you dont have the DzDefault shader in your library, you could create a primitive plane and export its shader as a duf file
    marble said:
    ..

     

    Thanks ... things are a little clearer now. I do have the default DAZ 3Delight shader so no problem there - I just hoped that I didn't need to go through the conversion step as my scenes are all set up for IRay.

    As for MDD, I guess I was asking because I have Animate 2 which can export MDD. Could I use that in conjunction with your TeleBlender?

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,160
    not totally sure the material transfer would work, since the obj and mtl files produced by animate would need to have the same material and node names as the ones that mcjteleblender sees/modifies ...well there's all sorts of workarounds, for example loading the scene using teleblender, then importing your animate .obj, then copy/pasting the materials that suffered during the import
    marble said:
    mCasual said:
    my script doesnt build the mdd file, so you need to build it from the sequence of obj files using ... i forgot what. once it's done you can delete all obj files except the first one. mcjteleblender works best when the shader is the DzDefault shader. but it works ok with the Uber/iray shader since about 2016. The other shaders ( ex:water, metal, carpet ) may cause problems because, my script uses the services of the Daz Studio obj exporter which will export no material definition for those materials. So in general its better to stick with uber and the default one. If you dont have the DzDefault shader in your library, you could create a primitive plane and export its shader as a duf file
    marble said:
    ..

     

    Thanks ... things are a little clearer now. I do have the default DAZ 3Delight shader so no problem there - I just hoped that I didn't need to go through the conversion step as my scenes are all set up for IRay.

    As for MDD, I guess I was asking because I have Animate 2 which can export MDD. Could I use that in conjunction with your TeleBlender?

  • marblemarble Posts: 3,730
    mCasual said:
    not totally sure the material transfer would work, since the obj and mtl files produced by animate would need to have the same material and node names as the ones that mcjteleblender sees/modifies ...well there's all sorts of workarounds, for example loading the scene using teleblender, then importing your animate .obj, then copy/pasting the materials that suffered during the import
    marble said:
    mCasual said:
    my script doesnt build the mdd file, so you need to build it from the sequence of obj files using ... i forgot what. once it's done you can delete all obj files except the first one. mcjteleblender works best when the shader is the DzDefault shader. but it works ok with the Uber/iray shader since about 2016. The other shaders ( ex:water, metal, carpet ) may cause problems because, my script uses the services of the Daz Studio obj exporter which will export no material definition for those materials. So in general its better to stick with uber and the default one. If you dont have the DzDefault shader in your library, you could create a primitive plane and export its shader as a duf file
    marble said:
    ..

     

    Thanks ... things are a little clearer now. I do have the default DAZ 3Delight shader so no problem there - I just hoped that I didn't need to go through the conversion step as my scenes are all set up for IRay.

    As for MDD, I guess I was asking because I have Animate 2 which can export MDD. Could I use that in conjunction with your TeleBlender?

     

    Thanks again. I will have to experiment when I get home from my trip abroad.

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,160
    edited August 2

     

    mcjTeleBlender 4 For Blender 2.8 progress report

    mcjTeleBlender 4 for Daz Studio will be able to transfer "Specular Strength" / "Glossy Layered Weight" and

    "Glossiness" ) /"Glossy Roughness" to Blender 2.8 Eevee

    something that Blender's obj/mtl importer doesn't seem to be able to do. that's not the final conversion but without mcjBlendBot all the blender materials looked the same

    beingaware.jpg
    1920 x 960 - 274K
    Post edited by Chohole on
  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,160
    edited August 2

    looks like Blender converts 0.5 value-red ( 128,0,0 ) into 0.74 value red

    so here i changed the red in daz studio to ( 80,0,0 )

    so blender's red is now close to iRay's red

    impression.jpg
    960 x 960 - 78K
    Post edited by Chohole on
  • Silver DolphinSilver Dolphin Posts: 1,121

    Nice work. Thank you for your hard work!

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,160
    edited August 2

    mcjTeleBlender 4 preview for unafraid impatients 

    This is the second release

    mcjTeleBlender 4  for Daz Studio and Blender 2.8
    TEMPORARY AND VERY BETA


    but dont be scared
    just because i typed in caps

    https://sites.google.com/site/mcasualsdazscripts9/mcjteleblender4temprelease

    betapromo2.jpg
    1920 x 1080 - 212K
    Post edited by Chohole on
  • Silver DolphinSilver Dolphin Posts: 1,121

    oooh new toy, thank you!

  • MasterstrokeMasterstroke Posts: 776

    wow 43 pages now, where do I extract zip file to?

Sign In or Register to comment.