Introduce Yourself, Hello, my name is.....

Comments

• Hello Daz3DForums,

I am a new member and found this wonderful and fascinating site while doing a search on Google for 'background plates' 'green screen special effects' and 'virtual sets.'

I am a filmmaker based in Los Angeles and recently completed a horror-thriller feature film [Abandoned Dead] set for release on video-on-demand and Pay Per View this coming January. What few  effects used were done with SFX makeup, prosthetics, and good old ingenuity!  (No CG, animation or green screen).

Now I would like to learn more about the green screen process, digital compositing and the technique of creating virtual sets and then using actual actors in front of a green screen, into later which the virtual backdrop or set will be placed and the keying process implemented.

My first question is likely to be rather elementary and obvious, but it is this: It appears most of the 3D packages here are used for gaming and poser applications that are more for a virtual world like Second Life. Can the same packages be used to create a virtual backdrop or be integrated into a live-action film, and if so, how might I learn the process and techniques by which it can be done?

For instance, shooting live actors in front of a green screen and dropping in a background like:

Interrogation - Cross-Examination Room
    http://www.daz3d.com/cross-examination-room

I saw one film online that really impressed me:

"Memorium" Short Film HD
    https://vimeo.com/41759561

Behind Scenes
    https://vimeo.com/74325441

If anyone here can help guide me in researching the processes and techniques involved and to answer my most basic question, that being if the packages offered can be effectively utilized in live action green screen integration that would be great!

Thanks in Advance

Mark W. Curran - Nightwatcher Films - Los Angeles ['Abandoned Dead''

• mwcurran said: