January 2016 New User 3D Art contest “Composition” (WIP Thread)

Comments

• KA1KA1 Posts: 1,012
    Teofa said:

@KA1 If you don't mind steampunk-ish, Ghastly has a pistol in his free space cowboy set that contrasts nicely in dark environments.  motphs to 3 different bbl lengths.  Thread in Freepository.

Now THAT is another nice gun!! Thank you,  I'll definitely be popping over and pick that one up!!

• TeofaTeofa Posts: 823
    edited January 2016
    Ati said:

This is my first time trying one of these contests, so please forgive me if I do something stupid. This is my entry.

"Here's To Us" - Inspired by the Halestorm song.

I'm pretty happy with it overall, but the lighting in Iray washes out some of the detail on his face. His skin in DAZ Studio looks more weathered. I'd welcome any suggestions for acheiving an "old, weathered, world-weary" look.

Welcome! :) I like the overall look of the image. I like the composition as well, it immediately tells the story. My only suggestion would be for the mug. It looks really strange to me. In fact, if he wasn't holding ip up like this, I would not even have said it was a mug.

I agree, the mug has tiling texture issues.  Might need scaled down a bit as well.  I would try some different metal and wood shaders for it.  Given the extreme foreshortening on the hands, I would tend to fudge that a little with some hand propagation.

Post edited by Teofa on
  • AtiAti Posts: 9,078
    edited January 2016

I'm playing around with instancing in Bryce. This is actually my very first finished render in this program. After seeing Rafmer's image, I feel tempted to try to add more visible grass and flowers.

Bryce_Riverside_1a.jpg
    1653 x 875 - 335K
    Post edited by Ati on
  • RafmerRafmer Posts: 564
    Ati said:

I'm playing around with instancing in Bryce. This is actually my very first finished render in this program. After seeing Rafmer's image, I feel tempted to try to add more visible grass and flowers.