<

mcjTeleBlender:Daz Studio scenes/animations w/Blender's Cycles Engine

1161719212249

Comments

  • siocsioc Posts: 300
    edited December 1969

    Isn't a weird white film/shadow on the upper lips ?

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,308
    edited August 2014

    sioc said:
    Isn't a weird white film/shadow on the upper lips ?

    it's hypergloss it will be back in fashion someday

    but the thing i wanted to show was the blonde-shadows and blonde hair tips
    compared to the old ones which were slightly black/gray/discolored

    -----

    recipe in Paintshop

    loaded the color map
    color/negative
    select all
    copy
    load black and white opacity map
    paste inverted color-map as a layer on top of the opacity map
    select the "color" layer overlay type
    merge the layers
    save as the new opacity map

    --------

    fig 3 when there's no opacity image map, AND the opacity strength is not 100%
    the inverse of the diffuse color tint ( saturation + hue ) supplies
    the transparency tint
    and the opacity strength supplies the transparency strength

    plasticallity.jpg
    1000 x 1000 - 394K
    ABO.jpg
    1920 x 1920 - 616K
    ninjablondeshadowblack.jpg
    1920 x 1080 - 339K
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • siocsioc Posts: 300
    edited December 1969

    Casual said:
    sioc said:
    Isn't a weird white film/shadow on the upper lips ?

    it's hypergloss it will be back in fashion someday

    but the thing i wanted to show was the blonde-shadows and blonde hair tips
    compared to the old ones which were slightly black/gray/discolored

    That I saw and it's interesting :)

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,308
    edited August 2014

    case where there is no opacity map but opacity strength is not 100%
    and there's a diffuse map

    fig 2 : thin veils

    fig 3 - for now if there is an opacity map, the diffuse color is not influencing the projected color shadows, but you could introduce it through the opacity map using a paint program

    if there's no opacity map and there's an opacity strength less than 100%, the diffuse color and/or color-map is the master of the projected shadows

    ( that made me think of "Les Mystérons" ... pretty scary stuff :) )

    fig 4 typical networks

    fig 5 when there's no opacity map and opacity strength is 100%

    easycase.jpg
    1080 x 328 - 157K
    explain.jpg
    1920 x 1080 - 557K
    mystere.jpg
    1280 x 720 - 151K
    thinveil.jpg
    1280 x 720 - 122K
    plasticallity2.jpg
    1280 x 1280 - 516K
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,308
    edited August 2014

    equivalent of Daz Studio/OpenGL's ambient channel, non-emissive
    well it's emissive for the camera rays and glossy/mirror rays and it's diffuse for the others
    ..oops i will re-design this

    zibo.jpg
    1436 x 664 - 333K
    mam.jpg
    1264 x 624 - 195K
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • nakamuram002nakamuram002 Posts: 434
    edited December 1969

    Will there be an option to use the always use Mix Shader instead of the Add Shader for combining all nodes?

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,308
    edited December 1969

    Will there be an option to use the always use Mix Shader instead of the Add Shader for combining all nodes?

    yes in a recent version i accidentally removed the feature,
    but in teleblender there will be a checkbox to globally
    use a mix shader or an add shader to combine diffuse and specular

    the diffuse-to-glossy ratio for that mixer will also be set globally by teleblender


    the daz default materials also have a ''multiply specular through opacity'' switch, maybe this could be
    usedas a per-material mix/add selector
    ... i will see if it affects the .mtl file adversely

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,308
    edited August 2014

    ambient / emissive

    when in classic TeleBlender2 mode
    an emissive node is added to a material only if the material in DS has a token image map
    applied to the material's Ambient Color channel
    if there is one, the diffuse node is replaced by an emissive node
    so the ambient color/map is whatever the diffuse color/map was
    the specific ambient color map and ambient color is unceremoniously ignored
    the emission node intensity is set to 100

    it worked this way to allow the creation of object-lights / area-lights with an intensity of up to 100
    the requirement for the presence of a token ambient image map was there to, in a way,
    to reserve the ambient setting for object-lights and prevent other materials from becoming such strong lights

    --------
    when in Teleblender3 mode
    the ambient color map, the ambient color and the ambient strength will all be taken into account
    the diffuse node stays where it was
    the emissive node output is added to the diffuse-and-gloss output
    because when the ambient strength is weak, you still want to see the substantial diffuse shading
    an ambient strength of 100% in Daz Studio will result in an emissive node with a strength of 1 in Blender
    if you set the "limits off" in Daz Studio, you will be able to get Blender Emission strengths of 10, 100, 1000
    by using DS ambient strengths of 1000% 10000% and 100000%

    ------------
    Fig 2 - no ambient map, no diffuse map, but the ambient color is blue with a strength of 40% ( 0.4 )
    the plane is red - so non-shadowed areas are red + blue and shadowd areas are blue

    -------------
    Fig 3 - in Daz Studio i use this for Amy's skin because it looks good even in Hardware/Preview renders

    -------------
    Fig 4 - so apparently i need to inject the skin color in the ambient/emissive color

    Fig 5 .... as you can see ... note that the beauty of ambient light is that skin in shadowy areas isnt grayish, it always keeps a minimum of color, it's vaguely also like subsurface , and if not exaggerated it gives the figure a 'glow'

    ambiamy.jpg
    1280 x 720 - 340K
    inject.jpg
    1056 x 434 - 229K
    wai.jpg
    1718 x 608 - 303K
    blau.jpg
    480 x 480 - 14K
    ambi.jpg
    1416 x 660 - 397K
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,308
    edited August 2014

    the corneas of Aiko 3 have (optionally) a fake-reflections transparency map
    here i discovered the ambient light must be added before the transparency nodes
    else the corneas would be totally while

    ( yes i know too much ambient light in the skin )

    =======
    Fig 2 - the gloss mix-or-add option set to mix

    gloglo.jpg
    1920 x 1080 - 568K
    ambient2.jpg
    720 x 720 - 96K
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • siocsioc Posts: 300
    edited December 1969

    Nice !!

    Will you do a specific to import AoA ambient lightning ? And will the script recognized his others lights ?

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,308
    edited December 1969

    sioc said:
    Nice !!

    Will you do a specific to import AoA ambient lightning ? And will the script recognized his others lights ?

    i was not aware of the existence of AoA's ambient lights

    in Blender-cycles, there's Ambient occlusion but i only tried it once
    mcjTeleblender is designed to look at the channels of the Daz Studio Default shader
    it doesnt inspect Shader properties

    though someday it may! do a search by label or by name of ambient occlusion settings
    and replicate them in Blender

    for now in fact, it's better if all objects in a scene use the daz default shader
    because mcjTeleBlender expects to find the standard material channels

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,308
    edited August 2014

    ambient/opacity/diffuse

    Fig 1 tests 0 to 7 of 32
    Fig 2 tests 8 to 15 of 32

    8a15.jpg
    2000 x 1250 - 823K
    0123.jpg
    2000 x 1250 - 831K
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • edited December 1969

    This is looking great so far. Can't wait to try it out.

    I have tried to sort it out from the shader trees, but the pictures are a little hard to read, so: does this handle DS's displacement maps at all?

    (also do you have a tip jar or a store page or something to be compensated for all this work?) :P

  • siocsioc Posts: 300
    edited August 2014

    This is looking great so far. Can't wait to try it out.

    I have tried to sort it out from the shader trees, but the pictures are a little hard to read, so: does this handle DS's displacement maps at all?

    (also do you have a tip jar or a store page or something to be compensated for all this work?) :P

    I got an idea: Daz Gift cards !

    He'll have some once released but not before else he'll play with the new things he'll buy with and don't work on the script :-P ;)

    I am so impatient to have it...

    Thanks to the waiting I can watch/read some tuto about Blender.


    PS: I see daily the amount of work you do for us, it's just amazing. Thanks again

    Post edited by sioc on
  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,308
    edited December 1969

    This is looking great so far. Can't wait to try it out.

    I have tried to sort it out from the shader trees, but the pictures are a little hard to read, so: does this handle DS's displacement maps at all?

    (also do you have a tip jar or a store page or something to be compensated for all this work?) :P

    Daz Studio/3Delight do the displacements in the Render engine
    Blender can do it only on "real" geometry, so you have to subdivide the surfaces
    "manually" then Blender can take an image map and move the vertices

    mote that long ago i wrote a script named mcjElevate which creates a morph from a displacement map, in Daz Studio 1, 2, 3, 4, 4.5
    https://sites.google.com/site/mcasualsdazscripts/mcjelevate ( there's a movie ! )

    Blender-Cycles does have bump and normal maps

    i think some Blender users did experiments with render-time real-time "parallax" displacements
    but maybe it's only for GLSL/OpenGL renders https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_1uhy_vrUFo

    if you really want to, you could give me gift coupons through the Daz3D store and improve Amy's wardrobe :)

    here's a close-up of one of the 32 test trees, mostly to test opacity and ambient light
    most materials only have a diffuse map, a glossy node and a mix or add node

    with this material you could have hair with its opacity map diffuse map. glossiness and some ambient light to add glow
    a map for the ambient channel is rarely needed, you could set an ambient color, strength, and the diffuse map would supply the colors

    testtree31.jpg
    1738 x 618 - 442K
  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,308
    edited August 2014

    once i'm sure those cases work, we're closer to the release ( yeah i said that a few weeks ago )

    Figure 2 us the daz studio 3delight render
    i guess i may tweak my design again ! will it ever end? :)

    well actually it's mostly the 8 panels in the lower left corner that have a discolored transparency map problem


    Fig 3 Cycles without the environment sphere and with a sharper sun

    Fig 4 - looks like it was important to inject the diffuse color in the opacity and ambient channels
    to get closer to the way the DS-Default shader does it

    Fig 5 - competition for the last mixing node was fierce and transparency had become disconnected

    evenbetter.jpg
    960 x 540 - 319K
    azoi.jpg
    963 x 1080 - 665K
    onelight.jpg
    960 x 540 - 252K
    inDS.jpg
    1920 x 1080 - 2M
    32bottlesofchocolatebeeronthewall.jpg
    1920 x 1080 - 1M
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,308
    edited August 2014

    there seems to be a need for a square-root of the opacity strength extracted from the opacity color map, could be one of them "gamma" settings

    when compared to Daz Studio/3Delight

    andnow.jpg
    1902 x 568 - 443K
    Image47.jpg
    1920 x 1080 - 795K
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,308
    edited August 2014

    next weekend next weekend we'll ...try again :)

    slitely.jpg
    960 x 540 - 121K
    projo.jpg
    1080 x 1080 - 171K
    manama.jpg
    1440 x 810 - 311K
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,308
    edited August 2014

    the final version of teleblender 2 will have the glossMix checkbox too

    there may also be a global setting for the glossMix ratio ( 50% by default )

    ( fig 2 coming soon, mcjA3TippyToes, scarpin props for Aiko3-base

    tippi.jpg
    1280 x 1080 - 93K
    tippi.jpg
    540 x 1080 - 88K
    tippi3.jpg
    800 x 800 - 82K
    mixinnit.jpg
    1920 x 1080 - 758K
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • RoygeeRoygee Posts: 2,243
    edited December 1969

    Hi Casual :)

    Firstly, thank you so much for making this script available.

    Hopefully you can help me - when I first tried a few weeks ago, it worked fine, but I realized I'd have to do some studying up on cycles nodes to get the best effect. Did that and came back for another go; Blender opened, but with the splash screen and no figure. When I ran the script, I got a "Python failed" error.

    The .obj and materials exported perfectly, because I can import into both Carrara and Blender with the materials fine - although, of course, the materials are not correct for Cycles - simply white.

    I'm on Win 7 64 bit, using DS 4.6.4.52, Blender 2.71.

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,308
    edited December 1969

    Roygee said:
    Hi Casual :)

    Firstly, thank you so much for making this script available.

    Hopefully you can help me - when I first tried a few weeks ago, it worked fine, but I realized I'd have to do some studying up on cycles nodes to get the best effect. Did that and came back for another go; Blender opened, but with the splash screen and no figure. When I ran the script, I got a "Python failed" error.

    The .obj and materials exported perfectly, because I can import into both Carrara and Blender with the materials fine - although, of course, the materials are not correct for Cycles - simply white.

    I'm on Win 7 64 bit, using DS 4.6.4.52, Blender 2.71.

    could you post the complete error message and where it was displayed?

    also if your mcjBlendBot kit is older than Jul 12, 2014, there was an update for changes that happened in Blender 2.7 ( related to the "collect maps" option )

    when you upgraded to Blender 2.71, it's important to install the mcjBlendBot files in the new 2.71 folder .... like you did when you installed mcbBlendBot

    here.jpg
    325 x 508 - 57K
  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,308
    edited August 2014

    .... in other News

    for the xth time i expect to release TelebBlender 3 this weekend :)

    I made sure the daz scripts mcjTeleBlender2
    and mcjTeleBlender 3 working in "TB2 mode"
    will still work with older versions and mods of mcjBlendBot

    Fig. 1 some notes about the diffuse/specular mix/add nodes

    contrary to what is said here, if there's a specular image map, it doesn't plug directly into the glossy color input
    instead a Color-mixer node is added, the specular color is therefore not thrown away
    its important since the specular color may also be the carrying the "Glossy Factor"

    Fig 2 the rarely observed issue of faulty UV Tiling vertical offsets

    Fig 3 - Blender 2.63a compatibility test : yes ! ( backward compatibility is the purpose of the calls to trad() in mcjBlendBot )

    263a.jpg
    1280 x 960 - 217K
    UVME.jpg
    1280 x 720 - 236K
    tv.jpg
    1920 x 1080 - 645K
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • RoygeeRoygee Posts: 2,243
    edited December 1969

    Thank you so much for your fast response - got it working brilliantly by installing the update and copying the files into Blender 2.71.

    It was by watching a video of your script which got me into trying this - in the video, the author mentioned that in the next video he would show how to animate the figure sent over from Studio in his next video, but never got around to making the second one.

    I imagine this would involve rigging in Blender - I take it your script does not involve sending over rigging?

    In any case, thanks again for everything - so good of you to share your expertise with us - looking forward to the next version :)

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,308
    edited August 2014

    Roygee said:
    Thank you so much for your fast response - got it working brilliantly by installing the update and copying the files into Blender 2.71.

    It was by watching a video of your script which got me into trying this - in the video, the author mentioned that in the next video he would show how to animate the figure sent over from Studio in his next video, but never got around to making the second one.

    I imagine this would involve rigging in Blender - I take it your script does not involve sending over rigging?

    In any case, thanks again for everything - so good of you to share your expertise with us - looking forward to the next version :)

    when teleblender sends over animations, it exports the scene in a frozen state, as one obj file per animation frame
    then a batch file automates the import/render of those frozen scenes

    somewhere on the net there was/is someone working on importing rigged Poser figures in Blender,

    daz studio can export in FBX format, which does include rigging, but last time i checked, importing that in Blender was not working
    i did some tests with Carrara too but objects in the scene were all over the place

    in the distant future i may make "live"connections between Studio and Blender, don't know how practical this will be, it involves a lot of data transfer


    -------------


    see here http://maddieman.wordpress.com/2012/04/23/exporting-daz-studio-4-figures-to-blender/

    it uses Collada


    -------

    that method does work actually !

    there's a few quirks but

    using Daz Studio 3 ii made everything invisible except Aiko3
    i zeroed the figure
    i exported in Collada, i used the "Generic Collada" preset
    i specified i didnt want morphs exported, but should probably at least export "bend" morphs
    i imported this in Blender 2.63

    i tried using mcjBlendBot to recover the materials but it didnt work

    one could export a frozen Aiko using mcjTeleblender
    and apply her materials to the collada-imported one

    plii.gif
    160 x 120 - 325K
    poze.jpg
    1600 x 800 - 247K
    ixi.png
    960 x 540 - 1011K
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • RoygeeRoygee Posts: 2,243
    edited December 1969

    Very interesting - thank you for the clarification :)

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,308
    edited August 2014

    teleblender 3 when there's an image map on the Glossiness channel applied in Daz Studio
    see the cloth and cream pot, the glossiness varies
    this image is relayed through python , not the obj / mtl, if there's no image, the per-material glossiness/roughness is applied

    Fig 3 : bump map strength is also transfered via python, not the obj
    here the strength in Daz Studio was 100% and the "max" was 0.1 which means 1 mm
    Once in Blender this became a 0.01 multiplier between the image map color and the output node's "displacement" input

    fig 4 - the render in Daz Studio looks quite different

    note that this is an AO map and should normally not be used as a height/bump map

    in fig 3 i had manually set the strength to 0.2 that's why it was so pronounced

    fig 5 - with the correct 0.01 multiplier

    fig 2 - 2 mm / 0.02

    arrrrGH ! the forum program changed the order of the images !!!

    bumpok2.jpg
    960 x 1080 - 165K
    bumpok.jpg
    512 x 384 - 33K
    bumpit.jpg
    512 x 384 - 81K
    bump.jpg
    512 x 384 - 41K
    glossi.jpg
    720 x 540 - 57K
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,308
    edited August 2014

    Fig 1 - bump map
    in Daz Studio strength 100% min = 0 max = 2
    in Blender image-map-color-multiplier = 2

    Fig 2 - transparencies without the need for image maps ( i wonder why i didnt make this before, the blender material did include the opacity strength

    transparencies with Darcie
    "From fearful trip, the victor ship, comes in with object won" -- Walt Whitman

    This is Aiko4 with the "anime" maps, the ambient strength of the skin was reduced from 15% to 7%
    the clothes had no ambient, so i added a 7% white ambient

    the eye-whites were using an image map, but looked a bit gray
    so i removed the image map, making them plain white
    it would probably look better with the image map, but a 7% white ambient added

    teeth are the other surfaces that would benefit from some ambient light

    the very glossy materials on the telescope are probably the cause of the 'fireflies'
    i didn't read much about Cycle's de-speckle options !

    Fig 3 - monkey see , making sure the light gets through transparencies
    note - Darcie wears http://www.daz3d.com/casual-outfit-for-v4-a4-g4
    see the shoulder straps? i there's a finely detailed bump map on them, looks great

    Fig 4, 5 - normal maps

    scopia.jpg
    960 x 240 - 44K
    norma.jpg
    960 x 960 - 216K
    monkeysee.jpg
    960 x 960 - 166K
    despeckleme.jpg
    960 x 960 - 202K
    InAlexsApt.jpg
    960 x 540 - 88K
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,308
    edited December 1969

    starting with teleblender 3, when a MIX node is used to combine the diffuse and the glossy
    Daz Studio's specular strength value will be transmitted to Blender ( through the python script )
    and will be applied to the MIX node's diffuse/glossy ratio slider

    glossia.jpg
    1646 x 940 - 502K
  • SzarkSzark Posts: 10,633
    edited August 2014

    Nice I was about to mention that a MixRGB is better than an Add Shader node when mixing Diffuse and Glossy.. Been a while since I used it but here is my latest piece using your script http://www.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/19223/P195/#662870 thank you for a very cool tool.

    Also I am not sure if it has been mentioned or you know but you don't need the Texture Coordinate and Mapping nodes as Blender reads UV's as Standard.

    Post edited by Szark on
  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,308
    edited December 1969

    Szark said:
    Nice I was about to mention that a MixRGB is better than an Add Shader node when mixing Diffuse and Glossy.. Been a while since I used it but here is my latest piece using your script http://www.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/19223/P195/#662870 thank you for a very cool tool.

    Also I am not sure if it has been mentioned or you know but you don't need the Texture Coordinate and Mapping nodes as Blender reads UV's as Standard.

    welcome

    the choice of Mix-Shader vs Add-Shader to combine the diffuse and specular will remain

    in part in case people want to get the exact same renders as when they rendered a given scene in the past

    but also because there's probably materials that do need the Add Shader, maybe like varnished materials or something

    i only recently noticed the coordinates node wasn't needed, but on the other hand, it probably doesn't slow down render to leave it there, and it can be useful when the uv map is unusable, so you can quickly switch to the other generated/camera/object mappings

    ( it's ok to post renders in this thread too ! )

    oh interesting render !
    i actually saw this early stages of that render last week i forget where though!

    someday i'll address the issue of the other shader nodes like velvet, anisotropic, subsuface etc
    though when someone uses those they usually are tweaking the node trees "manually"

Sign In or Register to comment.
pe" content="text/html;charset=utf-8"> 500 Server Error

Error: Server Error

The server encountered an error and could not complete your request.

Please try again in 30 seconds.