Show Us Your Iray Renders

Comments

• XoechZXoechZ Posts: 1,102
    edited December 1969

Hello!

This is my first try with Iray. Render time was 12 minutes in CPU mode with a Intel Core i7 @3.4 Ghz, which is pretty ok.
    No postwork here!

And I have a question. The floor is a simple white plane with reflection set to 100%. But as you can see, there are hardly and reflectios visible. So, how do you make a surface reflective with Iray?

model.jpg
    800 x 1000 - 260K
  • SickleYieldSickleYield Posts: 7,629
    edited December 1969

Glossy weight AND the glossy slider both need to be set high.

Thanks, Ram! And yes, I did mean literally hot, with all four cards running it gets to 80 degrees in here in about twenty minutes. I let that one run over an hour at 2000x33something and then did a blur for the fireflies.

I actually played with the ISO a bit on that one, and did some google searching for info about the three pillars of photography, and it sure does make a difference. No more postworking brightness and contrast on every render! Methinks I need to do another tutorial.

• DAZ_SpookyDAZ_Spooky Posts: 3,100
    edited March 2015

Jimbow said:
    Interesting iray tip from büro bewegt:

Quicktip: rendering even faster in iray
    http://buerobewegt.com/quicktip-rendering-even-faster-in-iray/

From 20 minutes to 3 minutes for the same apparent quality in one case.

One option we found is you can render at twice the intended size, for less time, and reducing using resampling, like in Photoshop or even IRFanview, the image to the intended size will eliminate most of the noise.

LOL. Never mind, same technique. LOL.

Post edited by DAZ_Spooky on
  • Oso3DOso3D Posts: 14,888
    edited December 1969

Interestingly, I found that a good technique to use even in 3Delight, because it helps capture details that otherwise get lost if you do 1:1 render size/final size.

edited December 1969