JACK TOMALIN APPRECIATION SOCIETY [JAS III]

14445464850

Comments

  • Daz Jack TomalinDaz Jack Tomalin Posts: 13,117
    edited December 1969

    Szark said:
    Any machines on either of those sites take your fancy?
    I saw this http://3xs.scan.co.uk/ShowSystem.asp?SystemID=1235 for which I customized and got a reasonable price of £1500 but that was my first look.

    They are pretty good, like if you wanted to get a desktop gfx card rather than a Quadro, you just email them and they'll do a switcheroo. I'd definitely get a self-contained watercooler for it too, like a Corsair H100 or Antec Kuhler.

  • SzarkSzark Posts: 10,634
    edited December 1969

    Thank Jack for the advice...I shall take that onboard...Yeah GFX card might be better too. I never thought of a water coolor for the i7 but being overclocked I think it prudent.

  • Daz Jack TomalinDaz Jack Tomalin Posts: 13,117
    edited December 1969

    Yea, they are a godsend - it eliminates all of that ramping up of fans when the CPU is maxed out.. mine is whisper quiet, no matter if it's idling or screaming its nuts off.

  • ChoholeChohole Posts: 33,604
    edited December 1969

    Pete I have fun designing an ideal system using this company, and then whittle it down till I can afford it.

    http://www.pcspecialist.co.uk/

  • JabbaJabba Posts: 1,458
    edited December 1969

    chohole said:
    Pete I have fun designing an ideal system using this company, and then whittle it down till I can afford it.

    http://www.pcspecialist.co.uk/


    I got my current PC from them just over a year ago... so far, not a single problem (and was delivered 4 hours early - worth the extra £25 I paid for "priority handle with care" delivery.)

    I bought a pre-built system that was almost exactly what I was looking for - but none of the pre-builds in stock today are as good... I suppose it depends what's in stock at the time you need to buy, or wait the 12 days for custom spec to be built.

  • ChoholeChohole Posts: 33,604
    edited January 2013

    I always am prepared to wait for the custom spec to be built. This is the 3rd one I have had from them. The last one, which does still work but is sadly lacking in ooomph, is well over 6 years old, and Has never even had the case opened since I have had it. I dread to think how much gunk is in that case.

    The only complaint I had this time was I somehow got scheduled for one of the first drops of the day. some stupid o clock in the morning, well stupid for someone who is usually still on the PC till the early hours that is. He was very prompt, and didn't even laugh when himself had to open the door wearing his dressing gown. :coolsmirk:

    Post edited by Chohole on
  • frank0314frank0314 Posts: 13,341
    edited December 1969

    The biggest thing you have to worry about is dust piling up on the heat sink. It will start to overheat your PC. It's always good to clean out your PC every few months

  • SzarkSzark Posts: 10,634
    edited January 2013

    Thx chohole for the link...interesting stuff.

    Frank I do that every 3 - 4 months and have done for the last 17 years with my 2 computers I have had in that time. My first lasted over ten years.

    Post edited by Szark on
  • wancowwancow Posts: 2,708
    edited December 1969

    Am I reading GIS right? Does that mean "Goths in Space?"

  • Daz Jack TomalinDaz Jack Tomalin Posts: 13,117
    edited December 1969

    Pretty much, yea :D

  • SzarkSzark Posts: 10,634
    edited December 1969

    As it stands now it is between Scan and Pcspecialist for the ease you can choose what you want...Overclockers site is a nightmare. :) Comparable prices between the two. Now all I need is the money. I saw the fianance avaible but being disabled has put a stop to that. Time to get my CC down to the bear minimum and get saving. As soon as I have half the cash I will get ordering.

    Shame though as I could have gotten 6 months Interest free with Argos using my Argos card and no trouble with paying the rest off before the 6 months was up. Anyways all good stuff.

    Jack yes Water cooler is on the list..you sold me on that one and not bad price too.

  • wancowwancow Posts: 2,708
    edited December 1969

    Pretty much, yea :D

    I'm super intrigued by this, Jack. It seems like it's a well thought out universe you've created. I'm wondering if you've created a base story line for it.

  • KickAir 8PKickAir 8P Posts: 1,865
    edited December 1969

    Jack's product used: Parkside Cargo. :cheese: DS4.5Pro render, postwork in GIMP. Larger version in my deviantART gallery here.

    Train-horn Alarm

    TrainhornAlarm-x2000.jpg
    2000 x 1600 - 1M
  • KeryaKerya Posts: 10,943
    edited December 1969

    Bridges ... more bridges ... Jack, we need BRIDGES!

    I had to kick the surfaces of the old CastleCreator Bridge very hard ...
    The only other bridge that I have that would work in a city surrounding has steps ... poor horse!

    Did I mention we need Bridges?????
    Something in the style of Divinity Skies Ascension or the Kingdom of Marrakesh, please!

    OverTheBridge.jpg
    1280 x 960 - 301K
  • TotteTotte Posts: 13,495
    edited December 1969

    Kerya said:
    Bridges ... more bridges ... Jack, we need BRIDGES!

    I had to kick the surfaces of the old CastleCreator Bridge very hard ...
    The only other bridge that I have that would work in a city surrounding has steps ... poor horse!

    Did I mention we need Bridges?????
    Something in the style of Divinity Skies Ascension or the Kingdom of Marrakesh, please!


    I know Jack is a sentimental kind of guy, so he should create the package "Bridge over troubled Renders".

  • Daz Jack TomalinDaz Jack Tomalin Posts: 13,117
    edited December 1969

    Szark said:
    As it stands now it is between Scan and Pcspecialist for the ease you can choose what you want...Overclockers site is a nightmare. :) Comparable prices between the two. Now all I need is the money. I saw the fianance avaible but being disabled has put a stop to that. Time to get my CC down to the bear minimum and get saving. As soon as I have half the cash I will get ordering.

    Shame though as I could have gotten 6 months Interest free with Argos using my Argos card and no trouble with paying the rest off before the 6 months was up. Anyways all good stuff.

    Jack yes Water cooler is on the list..you sold me on that one and not bad price too.

    Crossing my fingers that you don't have to wait too loo! I want to see more of that Marrakesh render you're working on ;)

  • Daz Jack TomalinDaz Jack Tomalin Posts: 13,117
    edited December 1969

    wancow said:
    Pretty much, yea :D

    I'm super intrigued by this, Jack. It seems like it's a well thought out universe you've created. I'm wondering if you've created a base story line for it.

    I'd love to say it was, but really, I needed a name - and since it was part of a series (of which there is no real master plan) I just went with it. It was almost tongue in cheek, but it kind-of works :)

    But yea, the premise was really to take the usual sci-fi stuff, and put a clean, gothic twist on it. As I've gone along, I've tried to integrate the various bits, but I've tried not to let that limit me too much.

    More GIS on the way, too ;)

  • Daz Jack TomalinDaz Jack Tomalin Posts: 13,117
    edited December 1969

    Jack's product used: Parkside Cargo. :cheese: DS4.5Pro render, postwork in GIMP. Larger version in my deviantART gallery here.

    Train-horn Alarm

    Nice sense of speed from the passing train :)

  • Daz Jack TomalinDaz Jack Tomalin Posts: 13,117
    edited December 1969

    Totte said:
    Kerya said:
    Bridges ... more bridges ... Jack, we need BRIDGES!

    I had to kick the surfaces of the old CastleCreator Bridge very hard ...
    The only other bridge that I have that would work in a city surrounding has steps ... poor horse!

    Did I mention we need Bridges?????
    Something in the style of Divinity Skies Ascension or the Kingdom of Marrakesh, please!


    I know Jack is a sentimental kind of guy, so he should create the package "Bridge over troubled Renders".

    lol!

    Yep, have a few bridges on the list actually ;)

  • KeryaKerya Posts: 10,943
    edited December 1969

    Totte said:
    Kerya said:
    Bridges ... more bridges ... Jack, we need BRIDGES!

    I had to kick the surfaces of the old CastleCreator Bridge very hard ...
    The only other bridge that I have that would work in a city surrounding has steps ... poor horse!

    Did I mention we need Bridges?????
    Something in the style of Divinity Skies Ascension or the Kingdom of Marrakesh, please!


    I know Jack is a sentimental kind of guy, so he should create the package "Bridge over troubled Renders".

    lol!

    Yep, have a few bridges on the list actually ;)

    YES! That's good to hear!

  • Norse GraphicsNorse Graphics Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    Totte said:
    Totally off topic but my fiber is finally installed, configured and my network is moved and now the routing works too ;-)

    TA EMOT FILER = Download
    SKICKA FILER = Upload

    Gonna reset something huge just to see how fast DAZ downloads now ;-)

    The limit is on the DAZ's servers. I can download large files quickly, but each file is limited to 100kB's/sec from DAZ. I tend to download files simultaneously to circumvent this limit.

  • TotteTotte Posts: 13,495
    edited January 2013

    Totte said:
    Totally off topic but my fiber is finally installed, configured and my network is moved and now the routing works too ;-)

    TA EMOT FILER = Download
    SKICKA FILER = Upload

    Gonna reset something huge just to see how fast DAZ downloads now ;-)

    The limit is on the DAZ's servers. I can download large files quickly, but each file is limited to 100kB's/sec from DAZ. I tend to download files simultaneously to circumvent this limit.

    I get a 500kB/s cap from DAZ, 4 files in parallell, the cloudfire severs in Germany, 36 ms ping btw.

    Post edited by Totte on
  • Norse GraphicsNorse Graphics Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    Totte said:
    Totte said:
    Totally off topic but my fiber is finally installed, configured and my network is moved and now the routing works too ;-)

    TA EMOT FILER = Download
    SKICKA FILER = Upload

    Gonna reset something huge just to see how fast DAZ downloads now ;-)

    The limit is on the DAZ's servers. I can download large files quickly, but each file is limited to 100kB's/sec from DAZ. I tend to download files simultaneously to circumvent this limit.

    I get a 500kB/s cap from DAZ, 4 files in parallell, the cloudfire severs in Germany, 36 ms ping btw.

    Well, before they switched servers, the download was a bit faster... It's only now that it seems 'slow'.

  • SzarkSzark Posts: 10,634
    edited December 1969

    Szark said:
    As it stands now it is between Scan and Pcspecialist for the ease you can choose what you want...Overclockers site is a nightmare. :) Comparable prices between the two. Now all I need is the money. I saw the fianance avaible but being disabled has put a stop to that. Time to get my CC down to the bear minimum and get saving. As soon as I have half the cash I will get ordering.

    Shame though as I could have gotten 6 months Interest free with Argos using my Argos card and no trouble with paying the rest off before the 6 months was up. Anyways all good stuff.

    Jack yes Water cooler is on the list..you sold me on that one and not bad price too.

    Crossing my fingers that you don't have to wait too loo! I want to see more of that Marrakesh render you're working on ;)Thx Jack I just hope it loads on the new system being a DS3A format. Mind you I will be able to use DS4.5 which is nice.

  • TotteTotte Posts: 13,495
    edited December 1969

    Anyone wants 2GB DDR3 ECC 1066MHz PC3-8500 memory modules? I got 10+ sticks that I have no use for...

  • SzarkSzark Posts: 10,634
    edited December 1969

    Thx Totte when I get a new computer I will be need 8GB modules and I have no computer at the moment.

  • TotteTotte Posts: 13,495
    edited December 1969

    Szark said:
    Thx Totte when I get a new computer I will be need 8GB modules and I have no computer at the moment.

    Thats why I got all these modules as left overs, I put 4x8 in each box, had 6x2 before....

  • SzarkSzark Posts: 10,634
    edited December 1969

    Yeah I have the same just not as many.

  • Daz Jack TomalinDaz Jack Tomalin Posts: 13,117
    edited December 1969

    Totte said:
    Anyone wants 2GB DDR3 ECC 1066MHz PC3-8500 memory modules? I got 10+ sticks that I have no use for...

    Kind offer - I hope someone takes you up on that!

    Maybe drop a note on my FB wall? Not sure what international postage would be like though..

  • JaderailJaderail Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    I got one myself, not needed. Anyone needs it is free to a good home.

This discussion has been closed.