JACK TOMALIN APPRECIATION SOCIETY [JAS IV]

1414244464750

Comments

  • TotteTotte Posts: 12,196
    edited December 1969

    Kyoto Kid said:
    Totte said:
    Did for the PC, render in Vue. Question is, how any point lights used?

    ...uh, yikes. That looks like a theatrical light rigger's worst nightmare.


    I'd maybe consider mesh lights? Can Vue create mesh lights?

    Not really, but it isn't a problem, Vue handles "Grouping" + "Copy/Paste" or "Replicate selected object". Here I just set the replicate to a secret value., then y-inc to 14.67 meters, boom, in place.

  • kyoto kidkyoto kid Posts: 36,986
    edited June 2013

    ...Bryce has that too, really helpful. Daz has a Copy/Paste function but it isn't for this type of operation. Wish it was available, as today I spent about 20 min setting up a bunch of indian grass clumps by hand (using the Group function).

    ...just checked and I do have Send in the Clones for Daz (4) but forgot to install it.

    Post edited by kyoto kid on
  • Daz Jack TomalinDaz Jack Tomalin Posts: 11,878
    edited December 1969

    Totte said:
    Did for the PC, render in Vue. Question is, how any point lights used?

    200?

  • TotteTotte Posts: 12,196
    edited December 1969

    Totte said:
    Did for the PC, render in Vue. Question is, how any point lights used?

    200?

    Top guess in PC weekly is 418 and that is still too low ;-) You can do better!

  • Daz Jack TomalinDaz Jack Tomalin Posts: 11,878
    edited December 1969

    Totte said:
    Totte said:
    Did for the PC, render in Vue. Question is, how any point lights used?

    200?

    Top guess in PC weekly is 418 and that is still too low ;-) You can do better!

    Wow... ok..

    624?

  • TotteTotte Posts: 12,196
    edited June 2013

    Totte said:
    Totte said:
    Did for the PC, render in Vue. Question is, how any point lights used?

    200?

    Top guess in PC weekly is 418 and that is still too low ;-) You can do better!

    Wow... ok..

    624?

    Thats close enough!! 616

    22 * 7 * 2 * 2 (CyberFox guessed 16 sets, it was 22 sets)

    I just had to see how well Vue handled it, and it did render in about 30 minutes with Global Illumination (GI) in 1200 x 765 ;-)

    Post edited by Totte on
  • Daz Jack TomalinDaz Jack Tomalin Posts: 11,878
    edited December 1969

    Totte said:
    Totte said:
    Totte said:
    Did for the PC, render in Vue. Question is, how any point lights used?

    200?

    Top guess in PC weekly is 418 and that is still too low ;-) You can do better!

    Wow... ok..

    624?

    Thats close enough!! 616

    22 * 7 * 2 * 2 (CyberFox guessed 16 sets, it was 22 sets)

    I just had to see how well Vue handled it, and it did render in about 30 minutes with Global Illumination (GI) in 1200 x 765 ;-)

    lol, that's good enough for me too!

    Nice to hear it handles them well.. I think I did the same in LW for the Carnival stuff.. that light count was equally as mental.

  • kyoto kidkyoto kid Posts: 36,986
    edited June 2013

    ...I kind of saw it like those "hallway" dreams where the further you go down it the longer and longer it gets as you go.


    Many many weeks later...

    "...283,416 lights and there's still more to go? This thing seems to never end" ; )

    Post edited by kyoto kid on
  • TotteTotte Posts: 12,196
    edited December 1969

    Kyoto Kid said:
    ...I kind of saw it like those "hallway" dreams where the further you go down it the longer and longer it gets as you go.


    Many many weeks later...

    "...283,416 lights and there's still more to go? This thing seems to never end" ; )

    lol!

  • bohemian3bohemian3 Posts: 754
    edited December 1969

    Platea meets Cheirocrates (FW's texture)
    "Three Towers Park"
    Rendered in Vue xStream / 3ds Max / Mental Ray

    Park.jpg
    1280 x 720 - 822K
  • Carola OCarola O Posts: 3,759
    edited December 1969

    If one move their eyes away from the girl and guy ( *winks teasingly* ) One might ntoice that the bed is indeed the freebie Modern Bed 2.. and the walls do come from the inside of Nouvea Vignette (probably spelled that wrong)

    Two nice freebies from our Jack here, which certainly are useful *whistles innocently*


    Aldrak - Teasing cuddles

    My character Aldrak with his girl, having a teasing cuddle moment

    aldrakandhisgirlbed.jpg
    1500 x 843 - 227K
  • Cayman StudiosCayman Studios Posts: 1,053
    edited December 1969

    Gedd said:
    When I manually download the files, I get .duf West Park Lobby and East Park Lobby. That is my point, if you are getting them through the DIM, they will be .daz but they are not the most recent.

    A gentle reminder (ahem...) that the West Park Lobby DIM files have still not been updated.

  • SzarkSzark Posts: 10,633
    edited December 1969

    hey more West Park...yipeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

  • SpottedKittySpottedKitty Posts: 7,232
    edited December 1969

    And a nice grungy Aslan Court texture set with overgrown ivy bits — very nice!

  • kyoto kidkyoto kid Posts: 36,986
    edited December 1969

    ...got em' both.

  • bohemian3bohemian3 Posts: 754
    edited June 2013

    Aslan Court 1 Fallen makes for great ruins - Hide those back walls
    "What Once Was Home"

    Once.jpg
    1280 x 720 - 452K
    Post edited by bohemian3 on
  • cosmo71cosmo71 Posts: 3,609
    edited June 2013

    two new images with some of Jacks items :) locker, table, shower in other places and with other textures :)

    both sets totally self created with props from my content, all textures reworked by me

    disturbing_2013-2.jpg
    1680 x 1050 - 308K
    disturbing_2013-3.jpg
    1680 x 1050 - 319K
    Post edited by cosmo71 on
  • TotteTotte Posts: 12,196
    edited December 1969

    Hello!


    Can anyone explain this little mystery with Westpark dayroom. (I bet jack can, but he's on vacation)

    If I load the preload (both DS or Poser), the windows are transparent
    If I load the wall or roof as pieces, they are solid.

    what.jpg
    1497 x 500 - 161K
  • Joe CotterJoe Cotter Posts: 3,234
    edited June 2013

    Take a look at the surfaces of the windows of the individually loaded pieces and of the preload. Chances are, you may find they are not the same. I don't have the prop so I can 't check myself.

    Post edited by Joe Cotter on
  • TotteTotte Posts: 12,196
    edited December 1969

    Found that in the preset the window "holes" are separate mat zones that are hidden by default, no zones in the modular ones, had to build my warehouse from presets ;-)

  • SpottedKittySpottedKitty Posts: 7,232
    edited June 2013

    Totte said:
    If I load the preload (both DS or Poser), the windows are transparent
    If I load the wall or roof as pieces, they are solid.

    Odd, I'm not seeing that with the preload. I'm running a test render right now or I'd check, but the windows in the preload are definitely not nonexistent — they're sort of translucent with a partial transmap to simulate incredibly dirty and dusty glass. With an environment sphere on the outside, or a sky background, you should be able to see a fuzzy diffuse sky glow through them.

    (And this is going to be a slooow render with the default lights as loaded — 3% so far at 12 minutes...)

    Post edited by SpottedKitty on
  • TotteTotte Posts: 12,196
    edited December 1969

    Totte said:
    If I load the preload (both DS or Poser), the windows are transparent
    If I load the wall or roof as pieces, they are solid.

    Odd, I'm not seeing that with the preload. I'm running a test render right now or I'd check, but the windows in the preload are definitely not nonexistent — they're sort of translucent with a partial transmap to simulate incredibly dirty and dusty glass. With an environment sphere on the outside, or a sky background, you should be able to see a fuzzy diffuse sky glow through them.
    Yes, but load a single roof or wall piece, the holes are missing.
  • TotteTotte Posts: 12,196
    edited December 1969

    I add this here to (for this weeks PC weekly)
    Indy finds it again

    indy-wh.jpg
    1920 x 1200 - 354K
  • kyoto kidkyoto kid Posts: 36,986
    edited December 1969

    ...nice.

  • Carola OCarola O Posts: 3,759
    edited December 1969

    I seem to enjoy putting animals in your buildings Jack.. one way or another *grins*

    The Keeper of Snakes (this one was posted a few days ago, but I forgot to add it in here *grins*) using Aslan Court 2


    Home using Classical Deco

    home2.jpg
    1747 x 902 - 329K
    thekeeperofsnakes.jpg
    2000 x 1600 - 519K
  • TotteTotte Posts: 12,196
    edited December 1969

    It's fun when you got snakes under Indy ;-)

  • mxstyliemxstylie Posts: 114
    edited December 1969

    I found the Jack Tomalin Appreciation Society! Always some of the best go to environments for my renders. I figured I'd share. Hope you like these!

    elixir2.jpg
    1920 x 1080 - 1M
    d538.jpg
    1920 x 1080 - 1M
    d171.jpg
    1920 x 1080 - 1M
    d56.jpg
    1920 x 1080 - 1M
  • mxstyliemxstylie Posts: 114
    edited December 1969

    Don't know how I forgot this one.

    bountyhunter.jpg
    1920 x 1080 - 921K
  • kyoto kidkyoto kid Posts: 36,986
    edited December 1969

    ...those are really nice.


    ...and welcome.

  • carrie58carrie58 Posts: 3,362
    edited December 1969

    What does it mean when you try to load a picture and it gives you an error message " the upload exceeds the maximum allowed size in your PHP configuration file"
    Now the picture is 1400x900 or close enough to that so it's not larger then the 2000x2000 limit ,it is in PNG format instead of jpg ,would that make a difference??

This discussion has been closed.