JACK TOMALIN APPRECIATION SOCIETY [JAS IV]

1333436383950

Comments

  • Jack TomalinJack Tomalin Posts: 7,581
    edited December 1969

    bohemian3 said:

    Very nice render - just wondering, did you set the stuff up in Max by hand, or do you use an importer?

    And thanks for your kind words. Means a lot coming from you.

    Quick workflow Sketch:
    1) Set up preset in DAZ - delete instances but retain core preset placement to reduce work in Max
    2) Export - import into Max using obj format
    3) Transfer standard Mats to Mental Ray and A&D Mats using macros I wrote available here--> http://sdrv.ms/ZVnsfo
    4) I use photometric lights - for each lamp I set up an inside light at very low intensity, then an outside one and exclude the lamp (better for area lighting)
    5) Drape the cape use massFX cloth modifer
    6) Recreate the instances based on your original setup, set up camera, tweak and render
    (One tweak was editing the lamp mesh to redefine a new materal layer for the glass part alone, easy enough to do)

    It sounds complicated, but it actually is less than 15 minutes once you get the workflow down. I do the volume light effect in Photoshop using Ron's Bokeh and light brushes. They are very hard to get exact in Max, as well as taking forever to rendr.

    In my signature there is a link for anyone else interested in using Max for more resources.

    Again, thanks for your words

    Ah interesting, thanks for sharing :)

  • SloshSlosh Posts: 2,246
    edited December 1969

    Just submitted this for the PC Inspirations contest. Are you following that thread, Jack? Lots of good renders with Aslan Court. In fact, so many renders with Aslan Court, that I have deemed it a tourist attraction and this render is entitled "The Tourist." Rendered in LuxRender via Luxus.

    The_Tourist.png
    896 x 675 - 1M
  • Jack TomalinJack Tomalin Posts: 7,581
    edited December 1969

    Slosh said:
    Just submitted this for the PC Inspirations contest. Are you following that thread, Jack? Lots of good renders with Aslan Court. In fact, so many renders with Aslan Court, that I have deemed it a tourist attraction and this render is entitled "The Tourist." Rendered in LuxRender via Luxus.

    lol.. nice render :)

    I haven't for a while no - I keep forgetting to check it out.. will go have a looksee now :)

  • SimonJMSimonJM Posts: 4,385
    edited December 1969

    Aslan Court 'brushes up' quite nicely in Octane:
    http://fav.me/d63i00t (a little NSFW)

  • Jack TomalinJack Tomalin Posts: 7,581
    edited December 1969

    SimonJM said:
    Aslan Court 'brushes up' quite nicely in Octane:
    http://fav.me/d63i00t (a little NSFW)

    Ah nice to see it in Octane too.. I wish I had the time to play about in Octane/Lux..!

  • TotteTotte Posts: 9,334
    edited December 1969

    Then we need a Vue render of it too.

    showroom.jpg
    1200 x 750 - 263K
  • TotteTotte Posts: 9,334
    edited December 1969

    SimonJM said:
    Aslan Court 'brushes up' quite nicely in Octane:
    http://fav.me/d63i00t (a little NSFW)

    Ah nice to see it in Octane too.. I wish I had the time to play about in Octane/Lux..!

    It's not time you need, it's a render farm ;-)

  • Jack TomalinJack Tomalin Posts: 7,581
    edited December 1969

    Totte said:
    Then we need a Vue render of it too.

    Nice! Surely that's a full house - seen Lux/Octane/Vue/3DSMax.. Shall I post a LW one too? lol

  • Jack TomalinJack Tomalin Posts: 7,581
    edited December 1969

    Totte said:
    SimonJM said:
    Aslan Court 'brushes up' quite nicely in Octane:
    http://fav.me/d63i00t (a little NSFW)

    Ah nice to see it in Octane too.. I wish I had the time to play about in Octane/Lux..!

    It's not time you need, it's a render farm ;-)

    That too, indeed!

  • TotteTotte Posts: 9,334
    edited December 1969

    Totte said:
    Then we need a Vue render of it too.

    Nice! Surely that's a full house - seen Lux/Octane/Vue/3DSMax.. Shall I post a LW one too? lol

    The promo?

  • Jack TomalinJack Tomalin Posts: 7,581
    edited December 1969

    All the promos were done in DS.. I don't think I've posted any of the LW renders

  • TotteTotte Posts: 9,334
    edited December 1969

    All the promos were done in DS.. I don't think I've posted any of the LW renders

    Then it's time! I'm trying to bake a Carrara one now, with a Volvo to please Dumorian!

  • TotteTotte Posts: 9,334
    edited May 2013

    OK, Cararra with Volvo, (Was too many shaders zones on that Volvo to tweak (over 140), hence some uglies.

    Updated

    volvo-2.jpg
    1200 x 547 - 161K
    Post edited by Totte on
  • SimonJMSimonJM Posts: 4,385
    edited December 1969

    I might try sending it to Bryce :)

  • Jack TomalinJack Tomalin Posts: 7,581
    edited December 1969

    lol.. its everywhere!

    Sadly I can't post my LW renders.. it erm, features AC2 ;).. so I'll post it up as 'zoon' as I can.

  • ChoholeChohole Posts: 26,813
    edited December 1969

    SimonJM said:
    I might try sending it to Bryce :)

    It works well in Bryce, but will run out of memory if you try to import all the texture maps. Only load as many as you need for what is in view.

    Remember that Bryce does not use compressed textures, it helpfully uncompresses tehm for you, so a jpg which is around 3500 kb will end up as somewhere around 11.8 mb in Bryce.

    I retextured it in Bryce, except for the floor, which I did in PS to match the bryce procedural textures I used. Jack saw the first render, this is how it is now, and still working on it.

    Aslant_Court_3.jpg
    1198 x 675 - 478K
  • SimonJMSimonJM Posts: 4,385
    edited December 1969

    I suspected we might hit 32-bit limits transferring this across! :)
    Your re-textured versions looks good.

  • SloshSlosh Posts: 2,246
    edited December 1969

    chohole said:
    SimonJM said:
    I might try sending it to Bryce :)

    It works well in Bryce, but will run out of memory if you try to import all the texture maps. Only load as many as you need for what is in view.

    Remember that Bryce does not use compressed textures, it helpfully uncompresses tehm for you, so a jpg which is around 3500 kb will end up as somewhere around 11.8 mb in Bryce.

    I retextured it in Bryce, except for the floor, which I did in PS to match the bryce procedural textures I used. Jack saw the first render, this is how it is now, and still working on it.

    Georgeous, chohole! I'm wondering, since the repeated items in the scene are not instances, does Bryce load the same texture 16 times (or however many there are)? If so, would creating the repeaters as instances help with memory limits?

  • Miss BMiss B Posts: 3,068
    edited December 1969

    chohole said:
    SimonJM said:
    I might try sending it to Bryce :)

    It works well in Bryce, but will run out of memory if you try to import all the texture maps. Only load as many as you need for what is in view.

    Remember that Bryce does not use compressed textures, it helpfully uncompresses tehm for you, so a jpg which is around 3500 kb will end up as somewhere around 11.8 mb in Bryce.

    I retextured it in Bryce, except for the floor, which I did in PS to match the bryce procedural textures I used. Jack saw the first render, this is how it is now, and still working on it.
    WOW, that looks wonderful!! :-)

  • TotteTotte Posts: 9,334
    edited December 1969

    Another one, inspired by dievans render.

    david-goliat_s.jpg
    1200 x 751 - 318K
  • Jack TomalinJack Tomalin Posts: 7,581
    edited December 1969

    chohole said:
    SimonJM said:
    I might try sending it to Bryce :)

    It works well in Bryce, but will run out of memory if you try to import all the texture maps. Only load as many as you need for what is in view.

    Remember that Bryce does not use compressed textures, it helpfully uncompresses tehm for you, so a jpg which is around 3500 kb will end up as somewhere around 11.8 mb in Bryce.

    I retextured it in Bryce, except for the floor, which I did in PS to match the bryce procedural textures I used. Jack saw the first render, this is how it is now, and still working on it.

    That's coming along nicely, nice job :)

  • Jack TomalinJack Tomalin Posts: 7,581
    edited December 1969

    Totte said:
    Another one, inspired by dievans render.

    Heh, I never even considered that could be used as an exterior until I saw that.. makes me think I could add something to give the roof a bit of a 'lip'.. hmm!

  • TotteTotte Posts: 9,334
    edited December 1969

    Totte said:
    Another one, inspired by dievans render.

    Heh, I never even considered that could be used as an exterior until I saw that.. makes me think I could add something to give the roof a bit of a 'lip'.. hmm!

    I see a gladiator arena, thank dievans for the idea ;-)

  • LycanthropeXLycanthropeX Posts: 2,286
    edited December 1969

    seeing the Arena style renders gave me an idea, i added the Gorgon Hall to the upper level....

    colliseum-002.jpg
    1920 x 1080 - 438K
  • Jack TomalinJack Tomalin Posts: 7,581
    edited December 1969

    seeing the Arena style renders gave me an idea, i added the Gorgon Hall to the upper level....

    Heh that works pretty well actually as a stand-in :)

  • LycanthropeXLycanthropeX Posts: 2,286
    edited December 1969

    seeing the Arena style renders gave me an idea, i added the Gorgon Hall to the upper level....

    Heh that works pretty well actually as a stand-in :)

    its kinda scary how well they fit together, the radius of the curve is so close on both sets

  • ChoholeChohole Posts: 26,813
    edited December 1969

    Slosh said:
    chohole said:
    SimonJM said:
    I might try sending it to Bryce :)

    It works well in Bryce, but will run out of memory if you try to import all the texture maps. Only load as many as you need for what is in view.

    Remember that Bryce does not use compressed textures, it helpfully uncompresses tehm for you, so a jpg which is around 3500 kb will end up as somewhere around 11.8 mb in Bryce.

    I retextured it in Bryce, except for the floor, which I did in PS to match the bryce procedural textures I used. Jack saw the first render, this is how it is now, and still working on it.

    Georgeous, chohole! I'm wondering, since the repeated items in the scene are not instances, does Bryce load the same texture 16 times (or however many there are)? If so, would creating the repeaters as instances help with memory limits?

    Bryce only loads each texture once, if you import the whole model at once.

    Not sure about instancing in this regard, I think it would be quite difficult to get every instanced part into the exact alignment. The Poly count is not a problem, the entire model imported quite easily. It is Bryce's unique way of dealing with textures formats that can cause problems.

  • katfeetekatfeete Posts: 225
    edited December 1969

    Didn't know about this thread until now, so I just wanted to pop in and say thanks so much for the detail and variety you put into your sets, I've been using the heck out of them. :)

    PAFinal.png
    1700 x 1183 - 2M
  • Jack TomalinJack Tomalin Posts: 7,581
    edited December 1969

    katfeete said:
    Didn't know about this thread until now, so I just wanted to pop in and say thanks so much for the detail and variety you put into your sets, I've been using the heck out of them. :)

    Hey, welcome to the JAS!

    Thanks for the kind words, appreciate it :)

  • kyoto kidkyoto kid Posts: 24,436
    edited December 1969

    seeing the Arena style renders gave me an idea, i added the Gorgon Hall to the upper level....

    ...that looks really, really good.
This discussion has been closed.