--August Carrara Monthly Challenge: SIZE MATTERS!-- WIP thread

Comments

• evilproducerevilproducer Posts: 9,040
    edited December 1969

mhossack said:
    I haven't used Carrara in ages and I thought trying this challenge would be a good way to get back to it! Using Carrara 7.2 Pro at the moment.

This is an early WIP. I'm planning to model some columns and maybe a building of some sort behind the dragon.

I'm hoping the DOF makes it seem more imposing.

Great job so far! I use Carrara 7.2 Pro as well!
  • GarstorGarstor Posts: 1,411
    edited December 1969

I think DOF would be useful to my scene...but I've never used it before. We'll see if I can figure it out in time.

• DiomedeDiomede Posts: 15,073
    edited December 1969

Garstor said:
    I think DOF would be useful to my scene...but I've never used it before. We'll see if I can figure it out in time.

I hear that! Fortunately, we have some time left.

To all. I like to see so many WIPs from artists who haven't participated before. The quality is fantastic. This will be an excellent challenge.

Since I have that bottle's reflective surface, I wanted a 360 degree setting. I've tried to create an appropriate background image by rendering a simple room with the spherical camera. I also made some changes to the sails, as per Kashyyyk's suggestions. I really appreciate the help and support.

I am now going to get away from this draft for a few days and return with fresh eyes. Gives me some time to think about my second idea, and to play with DOF - probably at the same time.

wip_pirate_spherical_1.jpg
    1640 x 1230 - 223K
    room_spherical.jpg
    1640 x 1230 - 93K
    edited December 1969

Garstor said:

BTW - here is a Cripeman tutorial on DOF

http://carraracafe.com/tag/depth-of-field/

• GarstorGarstor Posts: 1,411
    edited December 1969

My idea is proving trickier to implement than first envisioned (ain't that the way!)...

• d-j-od-j-o Posts: 345
    edited December 1969

Garstor said: