Buy Something That Doesn't Work in Carrara? Post your Questions and Workarounds here. (please)

13335373839

Comments

  • WendyLuvsCatzWendyLuvsCatz Posts: 30,424
    edited October 2020

    Say, do you think this FBX-only thingy would import properly into Carrara? I've never used FBX for anything yet.

    https://www.daz3d.com/fbx--studded-jeans-outfit

    I myself would use the transfer utility on it in DAZ studio and save a support asset

    dunno otherwise how well it would import

    at that price I grabbed it so can test

    Post edited by WendyLuvsCatz on
  • DartanbeckDartanbeck Posts: 17,386

    Convinced me. I'm buying it too. Not for myself, mind you... for Rosie! :)

  • WendyLuvsCatzWendyLuvsCatz Posts: 30,424
    edited October 2020

    Convinced me. I'm buying it too. Not for myself, mind you... for Rosie! :)

    after fitting to G8F refit down 'till you get to Genesis 2 and save that one enlightened

     

    Post edited by WendyLuvsCatz on
  • DartanbeckDartanbeck Posts: 17,386

    I don't need to to conform to anyone. I just need to get it into Carrara is all ;)

    But I might do as you suggest anyways, just to have it! Thanks so much, Wendy!

    So... you tried it on? Is it comfy?

  • WendyLuvsCatzWendyLuvsCatz Posts: 30,424

    I don't need to to conform to anyone. I just need to get it into Carrara is all ;)

    But I might do as you suggest anyways, just to have it! Thanks so much, Wendy!

    So... you tried it on? Is it comfy?

    you need to manually download it, DIM fails and no Carrara cannot load it but anything that loads FBX and exports as obj should

    I will try DAZ studio itself soon otherwise are lots of free options besides Blender

  • DartanbeckDartanbeck Posts: 17,386

    I don't need to to conform to anyone. I just need to get it into Carrara is all ;)

    But I might do as you suggest anyways, just to have it! Thanks so much, Wendy!

    So... you tried it on? Is it comfy?

    you need to manually download it, DIM fails and no Carrara cannot load it but anything that loads FBX and exports as obj should

    I will try DAZ studio itself soon otherwise are lots of free options besides Blender

    I'm just going to do as you suggested above. Then I'll just remove the rig in Carrara. Thank you So Much for the Amazing customer support, Wendy! You ROCK!!!

  • WendyLuvsCatzWendyLuvsCatz Posts: 30,424
    edited October 2020

    yes it imports into DAZ studio

    need to hide bones under visability

    on my old PC in D|S4.7 and I haven't got all my clones there

    g8f.png
    1300 x 1000 - 266K
    g2f.jpg
    1300 x 1000 - 112K
    Post edited by WendyLuvsCatz on
  • DartanbeckDartanbeck Posts: 17,386

    yes it imports into DAZ studio

    need to hide bones under visability

    on my old PC in D|S4.7 and I haven't got all my clones there

    Yep. I got that far, but my conversion down to Genesis failed. I'll get it though! :)

  • WendyLuvsCatzWendyLuvsCatz Posts: 30,424
    edited October 2020

    yes it imports into DAZ studio

    need to hide bones under visability

    on my old PC in D|S4.7 and I haven't got all my clones there

    Yep. I got that far, but my conversion down to Genesis failed. I'll get it though! :)

    I will try in a few hours on my Win10 with my clones

    Catherine made some free ones you can grab

    I find converting to prop after dialing up the lower figure clone shape then using TU again actually better than autofit

    you get triax that way too

    Post edited by WendyLuvsCatz on
  • DartanbeckDartanbeck Posts: 17,386

    I do use TU, but you lost me on the rest of that sentence. Like, how would I convert it to a prop (in DS), and then dial up lower figure clone shape? I'm definitely missing a lot of this.

  • WendyLuvsCatzWendyLuvsCatz Posts: 30,424

    I do use TU, but you lost me on the rest of that sentence. Like, how would I convert it to a prop (in DS), and then dial up lower figure clone shape? I'm definitely missing a lot of this.

    in parameters show hidden checked clone shapes

    under tab edit/rigging/convert to prop

  • DartanbeckDartanbeck Posts: 17,386

    Wow. Thanks!

  • UnifiedBrainUnifiedBrain Posts: 2,939

    oh btw not tried it with later DAZ studio so hopefully still works

    they broke it a few times back in the day they had Carrara 8.5  in active development 

    otherwise use DAZcollada

    if unanimated of course an obj export will do

    Thanks, Wendy!

     

    Say, do you think this FBX-only thingy would import properly into Carrara? I've never used FBX for anything yet.

    https://www.daz3d.com/fbx--studded-jeans-outfit

    I've had this in my wishlist for a while as well, not knowing if it would work in Carrara.  Too busy to try it at the moment, but thanks for the advice again, Wendy!

  • I'm getting the big October windows update tonight.  Has anyone had any issues with it so far?

  • if it was the 2004 one it made my Computer laggy but disabling indexing on all my drives has helped enormously

  • Thanks.  I think it is called 20H2.

  • Thanks.  I think it is called 20H2.

    meh not another oneangry

  • I apparently don't have 2004 yet, which is strange because I have my computer set to automatic updates, as per instructions from my computer tech.

    So, I'm currently updating to 2004, as an interim before even thinking about 20H2.

  • WendyLuvsCatzWendyLuvsCatz Posts: 30,424
    edited November 2020

    I apparently don't have 2004 yet, which is strange because I have my computer set to automatic updates, as per instructions from my computer tech.

    So, I'm currently updating to 2004, as an interim before even thinking about 20H2.

    that took me 15 hours to download and install

    You will have to enter all your serials again too

    Post edited by WendyLuvsCatz on
  • Well, it took my computer about 20 minutes.  And I haven't found any products yet that require a serial number reset.  All are working fine, including Carrara.

    Maybe I got lucky. :)

  • Well, it took my computer about 20 minutes.  And I haven't found any products yet that require a serial number reset.  All are working fine, including Carrara.

    Maybe I got lucky. :)

    it reinstalled Windows for me
    it said it had to as my version was out of date

  • UnifiedBrainUnifiedBrain Posts: 2,939
    edited November 2020

    Yes, windows was trying to force me to install as well.  But I am not out of the woods yet.  It is possible that I STILL haven't installed the whole 2004 update, as it apparently has more components that did not download.

    Windows Update Status.JPG
    482 x 584 - 52K
    Post edited by UnifiedBrain on
  • StezzaStezza Posts: 6,137
    edited November 2020

    I've had no problems but then again I keep my system up to date cool

    winxspec.JPG
    446 x 181 - 18K
    Post edited by Stezza on
  • WendyLuvsCatzWendyLuvsCatz Posts: 30,424
    edited November 2020
    Stezza said:

    I've had no problems but then again I keep my system up to date cool

    well I bought mine last year assuming it was

    and had updates enabled 

    that 2004 still popped up a month ago and told me my operating system was out of date

    Post edited by WendyLuvsCatz on
  • DartanbeckDartanbeck Posts: 17,386
    Stezza said:

    I've had no problems but then again I keep my system up to date cool

    Same here. My Ryzen just fashes through those updates - done before I get up to go get a cup of coffee, so I just stay seated.

     

    Stezza said:

    I've had no problems but then again I keep my system up to date cool

    well I bought mine last year assuming it was

    and had updates enabled 

    that 2004 still popped up a month ago and told me my operating system was out of date

    I am so sorry to hear this. :(  

    I also wish that I could make it better for you heart

  • DiomedeDiomede Posts: 12,110
    edited December 2020

    Dog 8 - remember to convert to blended weight.

    The figure loads in Carrara and has a convenient shading domain of 'coat' as a base for Carrara hair.  However, it needs to be converted to blended weight else the model 'skinning' will not follow the skeleton.  Does work once converted to from triax to blended weight in Studio and 'saved as'.

    dog 8 not attached to skeleton blended works.jpg
    1532 x 971 - 232K
    dog 8 not attached to skeleton.jpg
    1577 x 980 - 305K
    Post edited by Diomede on
  • DartanbeckDartanbeck Posts: 17,386

    That's great to know! 

  • MystiaraMystiara Posts: 38,019
    edited January 9

    anyone tried the streets of steampunk?  https://www.daz3d.com/the-streets-of-steampunk

    any problems like gatwyck or ravenskull had?

    seeing it on steep sale.  awfully tempted.

    its a stonemason set so prolly has uwrap gimmicks.

     

    i might get this instead  https://www.daz3d.com/mediterranean-seashore
    looks nice and warm

     

    Post edited by Mystiara on
  • WendyLuvsCatzWendyLuvsCatz Posts: 30,424
    edited January 9

    Mystiarra said:

    anyone tried the streets of steampunk?  https://www.daz3d.com/the-streets-of-steampunk

    any problems like gatwyck or ravenskull had?

    seeing it on steep sale.  awfully tempted.

    its a stonemason set so prolly has uwrap gimmicks.

     

    i might get this instead  https://www.daz3d.com/mediterranean-seashore
    looks nice and warm

     

     

    the streetworkers are Carrara (rest Twinmotion) a lot of alpha map chasing up and did use Sparrowhawk's UV unwrap but I do on most duf files

    Post edited by WendyLuvsCatz on
  • MystiaraMystiara Posts: 38,019
    edited January 9

    thanks.  i guess i'm being seduced by the sale price.  showing like 11 bux

    cant help but notice none of the doors open in the vid

    Post edited by Mystiara on
Sign In or Register to comment.