Iray Starter Scene: Post Your Benchmarks!

14243454748

Comments

  • Leonides02Leonides02 Posts: 676

    OK, I think I see what's going on here, and its not what people think.

    The new 4.12 loads into VRAM faster than ever, its actually a fantastic improvement, but I think some people are confusing this as a rendering speed improvement. It looks like 4.12 renders faster than 4.11, but only slightly. However, compared to 4.10, it is still behind in pure rendering speed.

    Ah! Well, this is interesting nonetheless. How much faster, I wonder?

  • outrider42outrider42 Posts: 2,113

    You mean loading the scene? Its like just a few seconds now. Before I might have to wait anywhere from 30 seconds to a full minute just to see an image start to appear. Not so with 4.12, you get an image in seconds.

    And this goes for the Iray Preview in the viewport as well. Bluejaunte gets some of his wish, using the Iray preview is much more responsive than before and the image pops up in just a second or so upon first turning on the viewport. It may not be real time, but it is a huge improvement, and quite possibly the single biggest improvement in the 4.12 beta that I have seen so far. It actually makes using the viewport full time a viable option. Keeping it on all the time in past versions made Daz too slow, at least for me.

    As for rendering, for the SY bench, I only saw a second or 2 gain over 4.11. But I'll need to look at more scenes to get a feel for it. I need to look up my old times on my 2018 scene.

  • AalaAala Posts: 112
    edited July 23

    Shouldn't there be pretty much no gains for non-RTX cards? Besides the loading times of course.

    I have two 1080 Ti's myself, still running on 4.10. I'm kinda scared to install the beta, lol.

    Post edited by Aala on
  • LCJDLCJD Posts: 12
    edited July 23
    DAZ_Rawb said:
    LCJD said:

    Daz 4.12 with Iray RTX is out ! Here my benchmark !

    Iray Test scene starter Essential.

    I7 6700K 4.2Ghz + 32Go RAM 2200Mhz - GTX 1070 x 2 at 1980Mhz

    GPU ONLY - No Optix - 100%

    Daz Studio 4.11 No Optix: 2 minutes 5.44 seconds
    Daz Studio 4.12 No Optix: 1 minutes 28.29 seconds

    More than half minute GAIN !!

    Iray 2019 has some pretty large performance increases even if you aren't on the latest RTX cards. Just to be warned, the first render on the latest version of Iray will take a little extra time, but all renders after that (with the same shaders) should be faster.

    Yeah ! Just notice that ! I check my previous render time from months ago. So here the real comparison:

    DAZ 4.11: GTX1070 x 2 - 1m 48.s - 100% optix on - GPU only

    Daz 4.12: GTX1070 x 2 - 1m 28.s - 100% optix off - GPU only

    Still get a great GAIN !

    Post edited by LCJD on
  • LCJDLCJD Posts: 12

    I have notice that Optix Prime version is no longer mention in the log.txt file compared to DAZ 4.11 (Optix Prime 5.0.1)

  • RayDAntRayDAnt Posts: 538
    edited July 23

    Maybe I am doing something wrong, because I am not seeing any speed increase at all with either the SY scene or my 2018 scene with Daz 4.12. I am using the newest Creative Studio Drivers, 430.86. Going into the help file I can confirm that Iray is using its 5.0 June release build. It also says it is beta, BTW.

    IRAY   rend info : Using iray plugin version 5.0-beta, build 317500.2554 n, 08 Jun 2019, nt-x86-64-vc14.

    Which means the bugs that have been discussed are indeed all preset with this build.

    My machine: 2x 1080ti. They are not the same model, so they have slightly different clocks. They tend to run between 1949 and 1964 during the course of the render, but that can depend on ambient room temps. CPU i5-4960 @3.5 Ghz 16Gb RAM.

    SY scene OptiX ON
    1 minute 1.87 seconds

    SY OptiX OFF
    2019-07-22 22:27:04.751 Total Rendering Time: 1 minutes 2.18 seconds

    My 2018 scene

    OptiX ON

    2019-07-22 22:12:44.565 Total Rendering Time: 4 minutes 25.70 seconds

    OptiX OFF
    2019-07-22 22:24:17.864 Total Rendering Time: 4 minutes 25.4 seconds

    So just looking at this, OptiX Prime OFF has taken a big leap compared to what it used to be, however, at least in my tests, it can only match the existing Prime ON times.

    And something has gone haywire. I went back to Daz 4.11 and the render time was slower than I've ever seen with it. I also tried 4.10 Pro, and its time was not on par with what I have done in the past. I tried reinstalling my drivers, even switching to the latest game drivers instead of creator studio, and no dice. Somehow installing 4.12 beta has screwed up my other Daz installations!

    Something must have happened when you were installing Daz Studio 4.12.0.033 Beta (perhaps Iray from 4.11 Beta was still running in the background - all betas use the same install dir) because you should be seeing:

    2019-07-23 09:39:00.639 Iray INFO - module:category(API:MISC):   0.0   API    misc info : Iray RTX 2019.1.1, build 317500.2554, 08 Jun 2019, nt-x86-64

    As your Iray version for 4.12.0.033 Beta.

    Post edited by RayDAnt on
  • Takeo.KenseiTakeo.Kensei Posts: 1,303
    edited July 23
    RayDAnt said:

    Maybe I am doing something wrong, because I am not seeing any speed increase at all with either the SY scene or my 2018 scene with Daz 4.12. I am using the newest Creative Studio Drivers, 430.86. Going into the help file I can confirm that Iray is using its 5.0 June release build. It also says it is beta, BTW.

    IRAY   rend info : Using iray plugin version 5.0-beta, build 317500.2554 n, 08 Jun 2019, nt-x86-64-vc14.

    RayDAnt said:

    Something must have happened when you were installing Daz Studio 4.12.0.033 Beta (perhaps Iray from 4.11 Beta was still running in the background - all betas use the same install dir) because you should be seeing:

    2019-07-23 09:39:00.639 Iray INFO - module:category(API:MISC):   0.0   API    misc info : Iray RTX 2019.1.1, build 317500.2554, 08 Jun 2019, nt-x86-64

    As your Iray version for 4.12.0.033 Beta.

    I don't think the "process in the background" has any sense (check the build number instead). These sort of thing cannot happen. You'd either have a notification that a file cannot be replaced or there would be no way the rendering process could start if one of the file wasn't the good version

    It seems Optix Prime is no more in 4.12, so setting it ON or OFF has no effect

     

    Post edited by Takeo.Kensei on
  • RayDAntRayDAnt Posts: 538

    You'd either have a notification that a file cannot be replaced

    DIM (Daz Installation Manager) has a reputation for failing to report file write access errors while installing applications.

     

    or there would be no way the rendering process could start if one of the file wasn't the good version

    Depends on how different the Iray source files going from the last 4.11 beta to this initial 4.12 beta release is. Considering how different the syntax of my version string is from outrider42's, there's clearly something amiss.

     

    It seems Optix Prime is no more in 4.12, so setting it ON or OFF has no effect

    It reappears if you're using a pre-RTX card.

  • outrider42outrider42 Posts: 2,113

    Yeah, I found the line with that. I just overlooked it in all the text of the help file.

    misc info : Iray RTX 2019.1.1, build 317500.2554, 08 Jun 2019, nt-x86-64

    I certainly didn't have anything running when I installed the new beta. Actually, I had just turned my PC on. But Takeo is right, if the process was running Windows would not have allowed me to install it.

  • Takeo.KenseiTakeo.Kensei Posts: 1,303
    edited July 23
    RayDAnt said:
     

    or there would be no way the rendering process could start if one of the file wasn't the good version

    Depends on how different the Iray source files going from the last 4.11 beta to this initial 4.12 beta release is. Considering how different the syntax of my version string is from outrider42's, there's clearly something amiss.

    Let's be logical 4.11 = Optix 5 old iray and 4.12 = Optix 6 iray 2019. The difference is massive here

    RayDAnt said:
     

    It seems Optix Prime is no more in 4.12, so setting it ON or OFF has no effect

    It reappears if you're using a pre-RTX card.

    What reappers ? All the benchmark involving pre-RTX cards that I've seen have similar rendertime wether Optix is ON or OFF

     

    Post edited by Takeo.Kensei on
  • RayDAntRayDAnt Posts: 538

    What reappers ?

    OptiX Prime in the log file (see this post from yesterday.)

  • LenioTGLenioTG Posts: 1,296

    Please, would you summarize to a noob like me if it's worth to use the Public Build? Does it have any render speed improvement for RTX cards?

  • RayDAntRayDAnt Posts: 538
    LenioTG said:

    Please, would you summarize to a noob like me if it's worth to use the Public Build? Does it have any render speed improvement for RTX cards?

    In a word, yes.

  • outrider42outrider42 Posts: 2,113

    I think OptiX Prime is still present, for now. I believe it may get dropped from Iray in the future though as it seems that OptiX Prime is largely redundant and becoming obsolete. And they now have Embree for CPU rendering, so they have CPU covered. If they were planning on keeping Prime, I don't think they would have used Embree for CPU.

    Which on that note, brings up a whole bunch of questions, as Embree is a different renderer from OptiX. Does Embree look exactly the same? This might be a big deal to people who do both. Some people have low VRAM cards, so they might render a small scene with GPU and larger ones with CPU, and if there is a difference in how the render looks, even a small one, this could impact them.

    Another question is CPU+GPU rendering. OptiX Prime allows this option, even if the CPU doesn't add much. However, OptiX has no CPU option at all, which is why they have Embree. So that means GPU+CPU will no longer be an option if OptiX Prime gets removed completely.

    Let's not forget that OptiX Prime does have a small VRAM overhead. Going full OptiX means you may have a little more VRAM to play with, not much, but for certain people every available byte can help. So it looks like choosing OptiX Prime off is the new way to go.

     

    LenioTG said:

    Please, would you summarize to a noob like me if it's worth to use the Public Build? Does it have any render speed improvement for RTX cards?

    Actually, out of all the RTX cards, I am most curious about how your 2060 fares. Iray 2019 should have RTX enhancement. However it may not be immediately obvious in the benchmark scenes because of their simplicity. But I believe you will see some speed ups in your normal scenes.

  • TheKDTheKD Posts: 1,443
    edited July 23

    One QOL thing I noticed about the new beta..... In 4.10, if you try to add or remove a figure from a group or parent, it takes fooooooooreeeeeeeeevaaaaaaaaa. It's almost instant in 4.12

    Post edited by TheKD on
  • Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 56,532
    TheKD said:

    One QOL thing I noticed about the new beta..... In 4.10, if you try to add or remove a figure from a group or parent, it takes fooooooooreeeeeeeeevaaaaaaaaa. It's almost instant in 4.12

    This was a chnage in 4.11, as I recall - though rather OT for this thread.

  • RayDAntRayDAnt Posts: 538
    edited July 23

    Which on that note, brings up a whole bunch of questions, as Embree is a different renderer from OptiX. Does Embree look exactly the same?

    Yes. Iray has actually always used Embree as the base API for CPU based rendering (on BOTH Intel and AMD CPUs, interestingly.) You can check any log file from a past version of Daz Studio with CPU rendering active, and you will see it mentioned. It's just raytracing functionality API calls also being handled by Embree that's a change.

    Another question is CPU+GPU rendering. OptiX Prime allows this option, even if the CPU doesn't add much. However, OptiX has no CPU option at all, which is why they have Embree. So that means GPU+CPU will no longer be an option if OptiX Prime gets removed completely.

    Was just investigating what happens with rayracing in GPU + CPU rendering with the latest beta. This is what I got:

    2019-07-23 14:57:07.804 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : Rendering with 2 device(s):
    2019-07-23 14:57:07.804 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : 	CUDA device 0 (TITAN RTX)
    2019-07-23 14:57:07.804 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : 	CPU
    2019-07-23 14:57:07.804 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : Rendering...
    2019-07-23 14:57:07.804 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.8   IRAY   rend info : Using Embree 2.8.0
    2019-07-23 14:57:07.808 Iray VERBOSE - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.10  IRAY   rend progr: CUDA device 0 (TITAN RTX): Processing scene...
    2019-07-23 14:57:07.808 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.8   IRAY   rend info : Initializing Embree
    2019-07-23 14:57:07.809 Iray VERBOSE - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.12  IRAY   rend progr: CPU: Processing scene...
    2019-07-23 14:57:07.813 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.5   IRAY   rend info : Initializing OptiX for CUDA device 0

    And it finished rendering just fine using both OptiX and Embree. Overall the handling of raytracing with 4.12+ seems to be:

    Render Device(s) Raytracing Library(s)
    GPU (RTX) OptiX
    GPU (GTX) OptiX Prime
    CPU Embree
    GPU + CPU OptiX / OptiX Prime + Embree

     

    ETA:

    By the way, I only just noticed that I'm only getting "optix prime not supported" type messages in my log file if OptiX Prime Acceleration is unchecked in the Daz Studio interface. Seems to be a bug.

    Post edited by RayDAnt on
  • Takeo.KenseiTakeo.Kensei Posts: 1,303
    RayDAnt said:

    What reappers ?

    OptiX Prime in the log file (see this post from yesterday.)

    there is nothing in that post or I don't know what you want to show

     

     
    LenioTG said:

    Please, would you summarize to a noob like me if it's worth to use the Public Build? Does it have any render speed improvement for RTX cards?

    Actually, out of all the RTX cards, I am most curious about how your 2060 fares. Iray 2019 should have RTX enhancement. However it may not be immediately obvious in the benchmark scenes because of their simplicity. But I believe you will see some speed ups in your normal scenes.

    Good explanation. RTcore + Optix should give performance enhancement with primary rays in a scene with lots of geometry. With so few geometry even with the new benchmark scene I don't see where RTcore would shine. Need another one to really show the difference.

    RayDAnt said:
    ETA:

    By the way, I only just noticed that I'm only getting "optix prime not supported" type messages in my log file if OptiX Prime Acceleration is unchecked in the Daz Studio interface. Seems to be a bug.

    Or the confirmation that it is no more supported

  • LenioTGLenioTG Posts: 1,296

    Actually, out of all the RTX cards, I am most curious about how your 2060 fares. Iray 2019 should have RTX enhancement. However it may not be immediately obvious in the benchmark scenes because of their simplicity. But I believe you will see some speed ups in your normal scenes.

    Thank you, I'll check it out sooner or later! :D

  • tj_1ca9500btj_1ca9500b Posts: 1,406

    I'm still curious as to how a Threadripper 2990WX clocks in with these bench marks.  By itself, without any GPU help.  Did someone post a 2990WX result recently that I may have missed?

    They've been dropping in price a bit recently.  Most people will probably just wait for 7nm Threadripper, myself included, but I'm still curious.  If the 2990WX drops in price signficantly after the 7nm Threadripper launch, well that might make it more attractive to budget shoppers.

  • RayDAntRayDAnt Posts: 538
    edited July 23
    RayDAnt said:

    What reappers ?

    OptiX Prime in the log file (see this post from yesterday.)

    there is nothing in that post or I don't know what you want to show

     

     
    LenioTG said:

    Please, would you summarize to a noob like me if it's worth to use the Public Build? Does it have any render speed improvement for RTX cards?

    Actually, out of all the RTX cards, I am most curious about how your 2060 fares. Iray 2019 should have RTX enhancement. However it may not be immediately obvious in the benchmark scenes because of their simplicity. But I believe you will see some speed ups in your normal scenes.

    Good explanation. RTcore + Optix should give performance enhancement with primary rays in a scene with lots of geometry. With so few geometry even with the new benchmark scene I don't see where RTcore would shine. Need another one to really show the difference.

    RayDAnt said:
    ETA:

    By the way, I only just noticed that I'm only getting "optix prime not supported" type messages in my log file if OptiX Prime Acceleration is unchecked in the Daz Studio interface. Seems to be a bug.

    Or the confirmation that it is no more supported

    I'm saying it's a bug because I'm only getting it when OptiX Prime is unchecked - and not when it is checked. Logically it should be the other way around.

    Post edited by RayDAnt on
  • bluejauntebluejaunte Posts: 1,345

    Did a test with a more complex custom scene. Stonemason Private Library with Sina in the middle rendered to 0.5 quality at 2048 x 1024.

    4.11

    2019-07-23 20:47:12.905 Total Rendering Time: 37 minutes 15.89 seconds

    2019-07-23 21:06:44.282 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : CUDA device 0 (GeForce RTX 2080 Ti): 4325 iterations, 26.049s init, 2199.728s render

     

    4.12 beta

    2019-07-24 00:40:15.960 Total Rendering Time: 27 minutes 48.19 seconds

    2019-07-24 00:47:29.518 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : CUDA device 0 (GeForce RTX 2080 Ti): 4331 iterations, 16.180s init, 1640.894s render

     

    sina_rtx_test_4_12_02.png
    2048 x 1024 - 4M
  • RayDAntRayDAnt Posts: 538
    edited July 23

    Did a test with a more complex custom scene. Stonemason Private Library with Sina in the middle rendered to 0.5 quality at 2048 x 1024.

    4.11

    2019-07-23 20:47:12.905 Total Rendering Time: 37 minutes 15.89 seconds

    2019-07-23 21:06:44.282 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : CUDA device 0 (GeForce RTX 2080 Ti): 4325 iterations, 26.049s init, 2199.728s render

     

    4.12 beta

    2019-07-24 00:40:15.960 Total Rendering Time: 27 minutes 48.19 seconds

    2019-07-24 00:47:29.518 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : CUDA device 0 (GeForce RTX 2080 Ti): 4331 iterations, 16.180s init, 1640.894s render

     

    Anybody have any recommendations for what the most complex scene in the Daz Studio store is?

    Post edited by RayDAnt on
  • TheKDTheKD Posts: 1,443

    Thats a tough one, probably something in stonemason store. Urban sprawls and urban future ones are pretty crazy

  • outrider42outrider42 Posts: 2,113

    While that is an interesting question, its not for this thread as this thread should purely be about benchmarks. You can make a thread asking that question, or maybe go to the General GPU/Testing Discussion thread which is more open to that topic.

    Actually we are kind of steering off course in this thread in general. A lot of this discussion should be in the other thread, while actual benchmarks should be what this thread is about.

    https://www.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/321401/general-gpu-testing-discussion-from-benchmark-thread#latest

  • AelfinMaegikAelfinMaegik Posts: 47

    4.12, 2x2080ti, SY bench. still can't d/l the other

    2019-07-23 21:02:40.029 Total Rendering Time: 26.53 seconds

    2019-07-23 21:02:40.035 Loaded image r.png

    2019-07-23 21:02:40.044 Saved image: C:\Users\XXXXX\AppData\Roaming\DAZ 3D\Studio4 Public Build\temp\RenderAlbumTmp\Render 2.jpg

    2019-07-23 21:02:45.913 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : Device statistics:

    2019-07-23 21:02:45.913 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : CUDA device 1 (GeForce RTX 2080 Ti): 2475 iterations, 0.770s init, 24.526s render

    2019-07-23 21:02:45.914 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : CUDA device 0 (GeForce RTX 2080 Ti): 2525 iterations, 0.487s init, 24.465s render

  • AelfinMaegikAelfinMaegik Posts: 47

    OI! finally realized outrider scene download was being blocked by uBlock. again, 2x2080ti

    4.12
    2019-07-23 21:26:04.342 Finished Rendering
    2019-07-23 21:26:04.384 Total Rendering Time: 1 minutes 57.25 seconds

    lots of entries like:
    2019-07-23 21:26:14.078 WARNING: ..\..\..\..\..\src\pluginsource\DzIrayRender\dzneuraymgr.cpp(302): Iray WARNING - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend warn : The 'iray_optix_prime' scene option is no longer supported.

    not sure what to make of it

    4.11

    2019-07-23 21:38:59.463 Total Rendering Time: 2 minutes 15.92 seconds
    2019-07-23 21:38:59.473 Loaded image r.png


    (not surprised if heat was affecting 4.11 run, sli/nvlink top card is HOT)

  • AalaAala Posts: 112
    edited July 24
    RayDAnt said:

    Did a test with a more complex custom scene. Stonemason Private Library with Sina in the middle rendered to 0.5 quality at 2048 x 1024.

    4.11

    2019-07-23 20:47:12.905 Total Rendering Time: 37 minutes 15.89 seconds

    2019-07-23 21:06:44.282 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : CUDA device 0 (GeForce RTX 2080 Ti): 4325 iterations, 26.049s init, 2199.728s render

     

    4.12 beta

    2019-07-24 00:40:15.960 Total Rendering Time: 27 minutes 48.19 seconds

    2019-07-24 00:47:29.518 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : CUDA device 0 (GeForce RTX 2080 Ti): 4331 iterations, 16.180s init, 1640.894s render

     

    Anybody have any recommendations for what the most complex scene in the Daz Studio store is?

    You don't really need a complex scene, meaning lots of assets in the scene. You can have something with a dozen million vertices and loads of 4k textures, but if it's open-air, it'll still render quickly if everything can fit into the memory.

    What you need is a scene that is hard to render, meaning still lots of noise after a long render time. In my experience, the usual guilty scenes for this are bathrooms. Lots of reflections, tiny spaces for 'traced rays' to find light in, and usually white themes that translate to a lot of bounces per ray. And if you design the scene so you have to crack the exposure up to see anything, it'll be even noisier.

    Post edited by Aala on
  • fred9803fred9803 Posts: 741
    Aala said:
    RayDAnt said:
     

    What you need is a scene that is hard to render, meaning still lots of noise after a long render time. In my experience, the usual guilty scenes for this are bathrooms. Lots of reflections, tiny spaces for 'traced rays' to find light in, and usually white themes that translate to a lot of bounces per ray. And if you design the scene so you have to crack the exposure up to see anything, it'll be even noisier.

    And if the promo images from the PA are full of unrendered-out artifacts, lots of them are, then it's probably a sign that said scene is particularly difficult to fully render. If a vendor has problems rendering their own scenes for their sales promos you can be sure it will be a hard one to do yourself.

  • nickalamannickalaman Posts: 186
    Aala said:
    RayDAnt said:

    Did a test with a more complex custom scene. Stonemason Private Library with Sina in the middle rendered to 0.5 quality at 2048 x 1024.

    4.11

    2019-07-23 20:47:12.905 Total Rendering Time: 37 minutes 15.89 seconds

    2019-07-23 21:06:44.282 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : CUDA device 0 (GeForce RTX 2080 Ti): 4325 iterations, 26.049s init, 2199.728s render

     

    4.12 beta

    2019-07-24 00:40:15.960 Total Rendering Time: 27 minutes 48.19 seconds

    2019-07-24 00:47:29.518 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : CUDA device 0 (GeForce RTX 2080 Ti): 4331 iterations, 16.180s init, 1640.894s render

     

    Anybody have any recommendations for what the most complex scene in the Daz Studio store is?

    You don't really need a complex scene, meaning lots of assets in the scene. You can have something with a dozen million vertices and loads of 4k textures, but if it's open-air, it'll still render quickly if everything can fit into the memory.

    What you need is a scene that is hard to render, meaning still lots of noise after a long render time. In my experience, the usual guilty scenes for this are bathrooms. Lots of reflections, tiny spaces for 'traced rays' to find light in, and usually white themes that translate to a lot of bounces per ray. And if you design the scene so you have to crack the exposure up to see anything, it'll be even noisier.

    Although bathroom and small indoor spaces are difficult scenes to render, and take very long times; the RTX cards really wont make much a difference there. Where an RTX card should make a difference is when you have an outdoor scene with 100 instanced  trees where each tree has 1000 of so leaves. This is just my opinion based on what I've read, I don't own an RTX card, was waiting for 4.12 to be released to make my decision. But, so far based on what i've seen here and the type of render's I do, i'd probbably be better of with 2 1080ti vs 1 2080ti. 

Sign In or Register to comment.