3Delight Surface and Lighting Thread

Comments

• RogerbeeRogerbee Posts: 4,460
    edited December 1969

----------------

Rogerbee said:
    Heeeere's Gia!!

I did make some adjustments, like setting gamma on the maps, 2.2 for diffuse and 1 for spec and bump and I think she looks like she did in the promos.

You could try lowering diffuse strength or diffuse colour on that white bikini. Pure white is like 100% reflectance which isn't particularly lifelike.

----------------

Yeah, good call, it was a bit of a quickie in that department, I was paying more attention to the skin and the lighting.

CHEERS!

edited April 2015

Ok, I studied Mustakettu's tutorial on SSS, I could make head nor tail of the geometry shell idea (tutorial on creating them needed) or turning Diffuse off, this just turned the diffuse texture off as far as I could see. However, I pressed on with the rest and colour me impressed! I've done more in a morning than in several days with Wowie's setup. So, it just remains for me to wholeheartedly thank Mustakettu85 and introduce *drumroll*.... BJORN!!!!!

CHEERS!

Bjorm_Musk_MAT.jpg
    577 x 750 - 222K
    Post edited by Rogerbee on
  • wowiewowie Posts: 2,029
    edited April 2015

Chappie used physically based shaders, though, and some interesting dynamic lighting.
    http://www.fxguide.com/featured/the-practical-and-digital-tech-behind-chappie/

Speaking of Chappie, has anyone actually seen the movie? I keep reading reviews that say that hip hop culture plays such a huuuge part in it, and so I kinda don't know if I should watch it or not (I'm anything but a hip hop fan).

The theme is rather predictable, though there's a twist in the end. If you like District 9 and/or Elysium, you'd probably like Chappie. If you don't, then you probably will think it was just an OK movie.