GMIC - new plugin available now for Windows

124»

Comments

  • Persona Non GrataPersona Non Grata Posts: 1,365
    edited March 2021

    .

    Post edited by Persona Non Grata on
  • UnifiedBrainUnifiedBrain Posts: 3,243
    edited May 2018
    Selina said:

    ..Finally:

    • Collages - Instant collage pro - crashes
    • Collages - Negative collage color - crashes
    • Collages - Negative collage new - crashes
    • Collages - Negative collage old - crashes
    • Collages - PictureFX collage - crashes
    • Collages - Print films collage - crashes
    • Collages - Slide collage color - crashes
       

    All work fine on my PC.  By that I mean there is a definite effect and it has parameters that I can alter.

    I have no clue what a lot of these GMIC filters are supposed to do, however.  Some are very complicated, and you need to spend a LOT of time exploring to understand.  There are some online tutorials, but you have to look for them.

     

    Post edited by UnifiedBrain on
  • Persona Non GrataPersona Non Grata Posts: 1,365
    edited March 2021

    .

    Post edited by Persona Non Grata on
  • UnifiedBrainUnifiedBrain Posts: 3,243
    edited May 2018
    Selina said:
    Can you post the B&W colorize line art result (before and after) is it greyscale or patches of desaturated colour?

    It is not greyscale.  It is similar to what Diomede posted.

    Based on playing with it a few minutes, it is not a filter I would likely use.  Considering that there must be at least 200 filters (with some filters having over 10 parameters), it is not a big loss. :)

    Post edited by UnifiedBrain on
  • DiomedeDiomede Posts: 13,111
    edited May 2018

    I admit I don't know what most of these filters are supposed to do.  I tested them in two groups.  Here is group 1, which are the ones which Selina reported had no effect.  For these, I did a test render with a render pass for post effect.  In each, the post effect appears to be flat black, which I presume means no effect.  Here is the list again.


    Lights & shadows - Drop shadw 3d not working correctly for me, nor
    Lights & shadows - Equalize shadow, nor
    Lights & shadows - Slice luminosity

     

    And I am attaching an example of a test render and the post effect render pass.

     

     

     

    Noir Props 3 sliced luminosity.jpg
    800 x 600 - 23K
    Noir Props 3 sliced luminosity_PostEffect.jpg
    800 x 600 - 8K
    Post edited by Diomede on
  • DiomedeDiomede Posts: 13,111

    The second group was the collages which Selina reported caused crashes.  I did a similar test, with a test render for each and a post effect render pass.  In each of these cases, I was able to render without a crash, and the render pass included non-black information, which I presume means it did something.

    • Collages - Instant collage pro - crashes
    • Collages - Negative collage color - crashes
    • Collages - Negative collage new - crashes
    • Collages - Negative collage old - crashes
    • Collages - PictureFX collage - crashes
    • Collages - Print films collage - crashes
    • Collages - Slide collage color - crashes

    And again I am attaching one example of a test render and its render pass.  This image was done with the table setting.

    Noir Props 7 picture fx collage.jpg
    800 x 600 - 64K
    Noir Props 7 picture fx collage_PostEffect.jpg
    800 x 600 - 79K
  • DiomedeDiomede Posts: 13,111

    And this was done with the layers setting.

     

    Noir Props 6b instant collage_PostEffect layers.jpg
    800 x 600 - 21K
    Noir Props 6b instant collage_PostEffect layers_PostEffect.jpg
    800 x 600 - 23K
  • UnifiedBrainUnifiedBrain Posts: 3,243
    Selina said:

    I forgot to add:

    • Rendering - 3d random objects also doesn't seem to be working correctly for me

    Did you turn up the opacity slider at the bottom?  Default is set to zero.

     

  • UnifiedBrainUnifiedBrain Posts: 3,243
    Diomede said:

    And this was done with the layers setting.

    I'm glad Selina brought this one up.  You results, and some of my results with the layers setting, turned out pretty cool.

     

  • Persona Non GrataPersona Non Grata Posts: 1,365
    edited March 2021

    .

    Post edited by Persona Non Grata on
  • Persona Non GrataPersona Non Grata Posts: 1,365
    edited March 2021

    .

    Post edited by Persona Non Grata on
  • Persona Non GrataPersona Non Grata Posts: 1,365
    edited March 2021

    .

    Post edited by Persona Non Grata on
  • Persona Non GrataPersona Non Grata Posts: 1,365
    edited March 2021

    .

    Post edited by Persona Non Grata on
  • Persona Non GrataPersona Non Grata Posts: 1,365
    edited March 2021

    .

    Post edited by Persona Non Grata on
  • Philemo_CarraraPhilemo_Carrara Posts: 1,171
    Film emulation requires writing privileges in the GMIC subdirectory. Could you check whether this directory has writing authorisation for your user. Default is no because it's a subdirectory of the program files directory and is restricted to the admin user.
  • Persona Non GrataPersona Non Grata Posts: 1,365
    edited March 2021

    .

    Post edited by Persona Non Grata on
  • Philemo_CarraraPhilemo_Carrara Posts: 1,171
    Selina said:

    Some plugins work and others not in the Film emulation category - I have access - but just to check I'm going to run Carrara as an administrator just to check.

    Films are stored in an archive file and extracted if needed. Some where already extracted in the distribution and that's why they could work while other don't. 

  • Persona Non GrataPersona Non Grata Posts: 1,365
    edited March 2021

    .

    Post edited by Persona Non Grata on
  • WendyLuvsCatzWendyLuvsCatz Posts: 33,155
    edited May 2018

    I cannot see any difference with those either and get a black image too for the first

    everything else seems to work except preview

    I need to go to the render room everytime

    or rather preview in the plugin, I can spot render in assemble room

    Post edited by WendyLuvsCatz on
  • Philemo_CarraraPhilemo_Carrara Posts: 1,171

    You can check the original effect with this link https://gmicol.greyc.fr/

    Drop shadow 3d indeed requires an alpha channel that is not in place.

    Equalize shadow doesn't do much (if anything) in the original.

    I'll check for the chromatic aberation.and the slice luminosity.

     

  • Persona Non GrataPersona Non Grata Posts: 1,365
    edited March 2021

    .

    Post edited by Persona Non Grata on
  • Persona Non GrataPersona Non Grata Posts: 1,365
    edited March 2021

    .

    Post edited by Persona Non Grata on
  • Philemo_CarraraPhilemo_Carrara Posts: 1,171

    I hadn't forgotten. It was just on my (too long) todo list.

    Chromatic aberration won't work. It uses an operator not working in the current implementation.

    Slice luminosity works in "mask" or "mask+background" preview mode . It won't work with "image" or "image+background" mode for the same reason as chromatic aberration.

    I know I have to update to the latest version of GMIC which is supposed to solve some of those operator issue, but it's even further on my to list sad

  • Persona Non GrataPersona Non Grata Posts: 1,365
    edited March 2021

    .

    Post edited by Persona Non Grata on
Sign In or Register to comment.