The Hackers got to my XP Complaint Thread

Comments

• DanaTADanaTA Posts: 13,086
    edited December 1969

Kyoto Kid said:
    DanaTA said:
    If you were that into it, you should have tried to get into a related field. You'd be enjoying what you do for a living. Or maybe you did and I just brought up bad memories. :shut:

Dana

...yeah but no biggie.

I actually was preparing for a career in Aerospace Engineering and the majority of my coursework was focused in that direction (didn't meet the vision requirement to fly anything more than a Cessna and the Air Force wouldn't take me because of a spinal condition). Less than a year before I graduated secondary school, funding for the SST programme was eliminated and Boeing (who was awarded the project) began their "historic" layoffs which nearly turned Seattle into a "ghost town".

Having come from the "other side of the tracks", the only way I could have afforded to attend the AE programme at University of Washington (as I would have been an "out of state" student) was via an internship through Boeing which also stopped accepting any new student interns that year. The only engineering degrees offered at the University of Wisconsin back then were in agricultural and general mechanical/electrical engineering, the latter two which were geared more towards the region's heavy manufacturing, machine, and auto industries instead of aircraft and spacecraft.

Still never quite lost interest but now more of an "armchair" engineer. (which is why I want to get into modelling, just need to save up the Zloty's for Modo).

Heck maybe I should buy a Powerball ticket so if I win, I can book a flight on Branson's Virgin Galactic.

Oh, I'm so sorry! I really did bring up bad memories. :down:

Dana

• ps1borgps1borg Posts: 12,776
    edited December 1969

Rezca said:
    Urf... Well I don't think I'll be around to post in this thread before the new iteration spawns ^^;