Basic Texturing Questions

BurstAngelBurstAngel Posts: 761
edited December 1969 in Art Studio

I've been practicing texturing on and off for a couple of years now and I've never had every good results. I have a few basic questions to ask so I can get consistant decent results.

1- How large should the texture template be?

2- How important is the dpi, what setting? 72dpi? 300dpi?

3- Why the bloody hell everytime I try to use paths in photoshop, the lines are never smooth?

Any good tutorials out there?

Thanks!

Comments

• SzarkSzark Posts: 10,634
    edited December 1969

1 Depending on how far away the object is. Close to the camera the higher you go. 4096 x 4096 seems to be the norm. You can go higher if you want but fior me 4096 seems high enough.

2 DPI I would think it shouldn't matter but it would be noce to have confirmation on this from the ciontent makers themselves.

3 have no idea as my little version of PSE dosn't do paths.:)

• Hiro ProtagonistHiro Protagonist Posts: 699
    edited December 1969