Introduce Yourself, Hello, my name is.....

Comments

• Db3dDb3d Posts: 248

I'm new to both DAZ3D and Poser 11.  I bought Poser 11, and later discovered DAZ3D.  My intent is to use them to create images for reference for paintings.

By profession, I am a professional portrait artist/photographer.  My studio has been in operation for 18 years, and I'm located in Western New York (Finger Lakes Region).

• Hello, my name is Allen Grippin. I'm an advanced CG artist with several years of experience in a variety of 3D packages.

I have always considered DAZ and Poser to be ungratifying hacks compared to real 3D work, but recently have thought about the possibility of DAZ being a fabulous source of basemeshes for posed sculptable figures in Zbrush. On this note I'd be very interested to know what i can get away with here for commercial purposes. If I use a model as a sculpting armature to make something completely different, is that ok? 

There are a variety of other tools for this (Zbuilder, MakeHuman). But I thought I'd broaden my horizons a little and explore some other options. I downloaded DAZ last night to have a look at how it works. I haven't been able to find much yet on how I can implement it as an actual 3D creation resource in a pipeline.

• Hello, my name is Allen Grippin. I'm an advanced CG artist with several years of experience in a variety of 3D packages.

I have always considered DAZ and Poser to be ungratifying hacks compared to real 3D work, but recently have thought about the possibility of DAZ being a fabulous source of basemeshes for posed sculptable figures in Zbrush. On this note I'd be very interested to know what i can get away with here for commercial purposes. If I use a model as a sculpting armature to make something completely different, is that ok?