Tutorial: Converting Textures from Gen2 to Gen3

124»

Comments

• wargiswargis Posts: 142

Doesn't anyone know, is it possible to convert textures from Gen 2 to Gen3 not by Blender but within Autodesk Maya? I'm a hopeless noob in Blender and more familiar with Maya. I know there is a tool in Maya called Transfer Attributes (to make UV transfer) and another tool for Map Transfer, but I found no tutorials how to make map transfer for human figures. If I remember right, in that thread - http://www.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/58379/v4-uvs-for-g3f/p5  someone wrote that the trick with baking V4 or G2F textures is possible in Maya. How to make it exactly step by step and more desirably excluding unnecessary textures for mouth, teeth, eyes, nails?

And it would be excellent if I can bake textures backwards too - from G3F to G2F and from G3M or Michael 7 to G2M. New male figures have amazing textures, but old Genesis 2 Male (at least in my case) has much more morphs and characters. I'd like to use G3M textures on G2M and M6  - how to make such backwards conversion with Blender or Maya? If anyone tried Maya instead of Blender, I hope for sharing a brief tutorial. The Blender way is explained well in PDF but when I open this app, I feel my head a bit dizzy and lost in this tangled Blender UI. At least for transferring UVs Maya fits better. Are there any important differences in output results (the quality of textures or any other problems during conversion)?

I've read new Legacy UVs product by Cayman Studios is very easy to use, but there is no male version and no backward texture transferring from Gen 3 to Gen 2. And the new Blacksmith 3D has no G2F to G3F or G2M to G3M addons. So it seems that the baking way remains the only reliable alternative now. Thank you in advance for any help.

• mjc1016mjc1016 Posts: 15,001