Let's Learn Daz Studio with Nekyo

nekyonekyo Posts: 54
edited January 2018 in Art Studio

Hi I'm Nekyo...I'm a professional video game level designer who is currently working on improving his art skills including 3D modelling, lighting, and composition.

Feel free to join me in my journey learning the ins and outs of Daz!

Post edited by nekyo on

Comments

• nekyonekyo Posts: 54
    edited February 2017

"Quiet Night"

Quiet Night

First Render completed, yay! I entered this one in the forum competition "February 2017 - Daz 3D New User Challenge - Lighting"

Goal was to learn some lighting basics playing around with emissive plane surfaces in Iray. One is behind her in the building doorway. Weaker light off the left, angled down towards her. A third light is illuminating the balcony in the background.

Things I learned:

• Emissive planes seem to work great - I like the control you get placing one light at a time.
    • Night scenes are difficult in Iray - hard to get enough light so it's not grainy

Things I want to learn:

• How to do a nice backdrop. The dark trees way in the background are copies of the high poly tree in the foreground - such a waste! It could just be a simple plane in the shape of trees...hmm...
    nekyo_render_001.png
    701 x 851 - 706K
    Post edited by nekyo on
    edited February 2017

"Raising the Roof"

Raising the Roof

My second attempt, which I tried to enter in the PC Members competition at the last minute, but sadly didn't get the render completed in time. This one was fun to do though!

My goals for this render were to try using spotlights in Iray, as well as play with the render camera perspective.

Things I learned: