Weird Shadows on Door

CrissieBCrissieB Posts: 195
edited May 2016 in Hexagon Discussion

I'm modeling a six-panel door with a three-tier casing. The casing looks fine, but there are weird shadows on the door. The UV map in the right panel doesn't show any odd geometry. (I rotated the door's horizontal panels to vertical, so a wood grain texture and/or bump will run along their length.) The odd shadows don't show up when I render it in DAZ with a wood grain finish, but they do if I use a painted finish. You can see the oddness in the right-most top-to-bottom panel, in the off-white painted pic.

I've read about Hexagon sometimes generating odd normals. Is that the problem here? If so, can I fix that or do I need to start over?

Thanks for your help. smiley

Post edited by CrissieB on

Comments

• Wee Dangerous JohnWee Dangerous John Posts: 1,605
    edited May 2016

I'm no expert but I think when you render an object with the surface facing the wrong way light will go straight through it, making it look like a hole (all black).

What you have here (if I'm correct) are stretched maps, not all is lost. All you have to do is unfold it by hand.

unfold-door01.jpg
    1912 x 1031 - 1M
    unfold-door02.jpg
    1912 x 1031 - 977K
    unfold-door03.jpg
    1920 x 1080 - 1M
    Post edited by Wee Dangerous John on
  • CrissieBCrissieB Posts: 195

The weird shadows were there before I did the UV map. I followed these steps to create the door:

1) Created a Cube primitive with the door's dimensions.

2) Tessellated by Slice to create the left and right vertical 'beams'.

3) Deleted the three top and three bottom faces, and used Close to create single top and bottom faces. (This is when the wierd shadows appeared.)

4) Turned on Z-symmetry, so further changes would apply front-and-back.

5) Surface Tessellated to create the horizontal 'beams' (top, eye-level, knob-level, bottom).