Do I want Poser or DAZ Studio, and what figure?

jasonkjasonk Posts: 42
edited January 2015 in Poser Discussion

I'm trying to decide which program(s) to use, and what figure(s) to use.

I own Poser 10 and I downloaded DAZ Studio, and I've looked at both a tiny bit. I am a 2D artist. I need to use Poser and/or DS to create static renders that I use as references for my hand-drawn art. I want a only slightly-idealized realistic figure (not some super-leggy out-of-proportion fantasy sex goddess), whose body I can alter (height/weight/muscularity/skin tone/etc), have long flowing hair, some clothing, be able to setup lighting, and get a decent render. My render standards aren't too high since the render isn't the "final product". Though I suppose the more interesting or realistic the render, the more it might inspire in my drawing. For now I just need women, but later men too. For a good figure, I don't care if there are not many clothing options for the figure. I have other ideas on how to deal with that if I have to.

I would prefer to use 1 product rather than 2. I'm not super-price-sensitive. Though I don't want to waste money, or spend a lot on features I won't need. I'm certainly fine with using free content and programs, though I'd prefer to spend some money if it will save me time and pain.

I do need the figure to look good, since it's a reference model. Since the 3D render is only an intermediate step in my artistic process, it is worth it to me to spend money to give me quick-click fixes to save me time. For instance, if I went with DS & Genesis 2 figures, I would be considering easy realism add-ons like http://www.daz3d.com/ultimate-natural-for-victoria-6-body, http://www.daz3d.com/i13-squish-soft-body-effect-morphs, http://www.daz3d.com/beautiful-bends-for-genesis-2-female-s (or for V4 http://www.daz3d.com/beautiful-bends-v4, http://www.daz3d.com/ideal-beauty-for-genesis-2-and-v6, etc.