Tips & Tricks for Iray for newbies......

jakibluejakiblue Posts: 7,281
edited December 1969 in The Commons

There must be more than just me who is a total newb to this Iray rendering thing - and who are sitting here scratching their heads going HUH???

LOL. I thought I'd start this thread and see if those who are doing wonderful things with it, could give some basic tips and tricks, for all us newbies who have absolutely no idea what to do.

Things like:

What are the lights? What does the Sun Dial do and can you move it? What are these Photometric Spot Lights?

Tips on getting hair to look good.

What is that DAZ Material Ball, and what does it do?

What is an Iray Section Plane Mode?

Tips on setting up a basic test render to get a handle on what everything does.

Anyone wanna join in and help out us poor newbs?? :cheese:

Comments

• CypherFOXCypherFOX Posts: 3,401
    edited December 1969

Greetings,
    I'm just as 'n00b' as you with it, but here's a fun trick I did. I pulled up a saved scene, with a distant light, and I deleted all the other lights (it's an outdoor shot) and went into the Render Settings, changed 'Engine' to 'NVIDIA Iray', selected Environment, Dome, Sun-Sky, Direction, and set the 'SS Sun Node' to 'Distant Light 1'. I hit render, and the sunlight was coming from the same place as the distant light had been. Neat trick; not sure if I should have done anything to the distant light (maybe I'm double-lighting?) but it was a really easy way of setting the direction of the sunlight.

-- Morgan

• TotteTotte Posts: 13,441
    edited December 1969

I only have tested it a little but I think hair looks great using Translucency Weight to like 20% and a darker color as Translucency color.

At least when I tested in the NVIDIA IRay preview mode.

• Herald of FireHerald of Fire Posts: 3,504
    edited December 1969