DAZ Studio Pro BETA [Project Iradium] - version 4.8.0.4!

1232426282945

Comments

  • Richard John SRichard John S Posts: 358
    edited December 1969

    This is great news. I am desperately in need of new video card. I've been stuck with my EVGA 8800GT 512MB since 2008.

    DAZ_Jon said:
    A quick note for our customers, so you can't say we didn't let you know before most of you went out and bought a new video card, DAZ is working with some distributors to provide you the stellar deals, and unique value to DAZ customers, on NVIDIA cards directly. I can't go into any details, and if you see a great deal on a different website, by all means, go for it, but if you want to wait to see what we think will be a better value that we can bring you in the near future to help you on the hardware end, its in the pipeline that we're pushing hard finalize.
  • SimonJMSimonJM Posts: 5,362
    edited December 1969

    OK here we go dedicated

    Might want to check for driver updates, I have 344.75 and there's a pending update available to 347.52.
  • LindseyLindsey Posts: 1,680
    edited December 1969

    some reason I cant render using my card on daz studio 4.8 beta using just the GPU, this is my specs on my card, shouldnt I be able to use iray on this? All I get is a black box when i hit render, unless i use cpu directly.

    I updated my NVidia driver last week to 347.52

  • sexymacmansexymacman Posts: 8
    edited March 2015

    I am updating right now, i just tried Daz 4.8 beta on another one of my laptops that has a 4 gig dedicated card and it rendered default genesis model in under 3 minutes, i love this iray lol

    ed
    yea I will, its erroring out on any model it tries to render...

    Heres whats in the log file

    Rendering image
    Iray INFO - module:category(IMAGE:IO): 1.0 IMAGE io info : Loading image "C:/Users/Public/Documents/My DAZ 3D Library/Runtime/textures/DAZ/Characters/Genesis2/BaseFemale/V5BreeLimbsTL.jpg", pixel type "Rgb", 2048x2048x1 pixels, 1 miplevel.
    Iray INFO - module:category(IMAGE:IO): 1.0 IMAGE io info : Loading image "C:/Users/Public/Documents/My DAZ 3D Library/Runtime/textures/DAZ/Characters/Genesis2/BaseFemale/V5BreeLimbsSS.jpg", pixel type "Rgb", 1024x1024x1 pixels, 1 miplevel.
    Iray INFO - module:category(IMAGE:IO): 1.0 IMAGE io info : Loading image "C:/Users/Public/Documents/My DAZ 3D Library/Runtime/textures/DAZ/Characters/Genesis2/BaseFemale/V5BreeLimbsS.jpg", pixel type "Rgb", 4096x4096x1 pixels, 1 miplevel.
    Iray INFO - module:category(IMAGE:IO): 1.0 IMAGE io info : Loading image "C:/Users/Public/Documents/My DAZ 3D Library/Runtime/textures/DAZ/Characters/Genesis2/BaseFemale/V5BreeLimbsM.jpg", pixel type "Rgb", 4096x4096x1 pixels, 1 miplevel.
    Iray INFO - module:category(IMAGE:IO): 1.0 IMAGE io info : Loading image "C:/Users/Public/Documents/My DAZ 3D Library/Runtime/textures/DAZ/Characters/Genesis2/BaseFemale/V5BreeLimbsB.jpg", pixel type "Rgb", 4096x4096x1 pixels, 1 miplevel.
    Iray INFO - module:category(IMAGE:IO): 1.0 IMAGE io info : Loading image "C:/Users/Public/Documents/My DAZ 3D Library/Runtime/textures/DAZ/Characters/Genesis2/BaseFemale/V5BreeHeadTL.jpg", pixel type "Rgb", 2048x2048x1 pixels, 1 miplevel.
    Iray INFO - module:category(IMAGE:IO): 1.0 IMAGE io info : Loading image "C:/Users/Public/Documents/My DAZ 3D Library/Runtime/textures/DAZ/Characters/Genesis2/BaseFemale/V5BreeHeadSS.jpg", pixel type "Rgb", 1024x1024x1 pixels, 1 miplevel.
    Iray INFO - module:category(IMAGE:IO): 1.0 IMAGE io info : Loading image "C:/Users/Public/Documents/My DAZ 3D Library/Runtime/textures/DAZ/Characters/Genesis2/BaseFemale/V5BreeHeadS.jpg", pixel type "Rgb", 4096x4096x1 pixels, 1 miplevel.
    Iray INFO - module:category(IMAGE:IO): 1.0 IMAGE io info : Loading image "C:/Users/Public/Documents/My DAZ 3D Library/Runtime/textures/DAZ/Characters/Genesis2/BaseFemale/V5BreeHeadM.jpg", pixel type "Rgb", 4096x4096x1 pixels, 1 miplevel.
    Iray INFO - module:category(IMAGE:IO): 1.0 IMAGE io info : Loading image "C:/Users/Public/Documents/My DAZ 3D Library/Runtime/textures/DAZ/Characters/Genesis2/BaseFemale/V5BreeHeadB.jpg", pixel type "Rgb", 4096x4096x1 pixels, 1 miplevel.
    Iray INFO - module:category(IMAGE:IO): 1.0 IMAGE io info : Loading image "C:/Users/Public/Documents/My DAZ 3D Library/Runtime/textures/DAZ/Characters/Genesis2/BaseFemale/V5BreeEyesM.jpg", pixel type "Rgb", 2048x2048x1 pixels, 1 miplevel.
    Iray INFO - module:category(IMAGE:IO): 1.0 IMAGE io info : Loading image "C:/Users/Public/Documents/My DAZ 3D Library/Runtime/textures/DAZ/Characters/Genesis2/BaseFemale/V5BreeEyesB.jpg", pixel type "Rgb", 2048x2048x1 pixels, 1 miplevel.
    Iray INFO - module:category(IMAGE:IO): 1.0 IMAGE io info : Loading image "C:/Users/Public/Documents/My DAZ 3D Library/Runtime/textures/DAZ/Characters/Genesis2/BaseFemale/V5BreeInMouthM.jpg", pixel type "Rgb", 2048x2048x1 pixels, 1 miplevel.
    Iray INFO - module:category(IMAGE:IO): 1.0 IMAGE io info : Loading image "C:/Users/Public/Documents/My DAZ 3D Library/Runtime/textures/DAZ/Characters/Genesis2/BaseFemale/V5BreeInMouthB.jpg", pixel type "Rgb", 2048x2048x1 pixels, 1 miplevel.
    Iray INFO - module:category(IMAGE:IO): 1.0 IMAGE io info : Loading image "C:/Users/Public/Documents/My DAZ 3D Library/Runtime/textures/DAZ/Characters/Genesis2/BaseFemale/V5BreeTorsoTL.jpg", pixel type "Rgb", 2048x2048x1 pixels, 1 miplevel.
    Iray INFO - module:category(IMAGE:IO): 1.0 IMAGE io info : Loading image "C:/Users/Public/Documents/My DAZ 3D Library/Runtime/textures/DAZ/Characters/Genesis2/BaseFemale/V5BreeTorsoSS.jpg", pixel type "Rgb", 1024x1024x1 pixels, 1 miplevel.
    Iray INFO - module:category(IMAGE:IO): 1.0 IMAGE io info : Loading image "C:/Users/Public/Documents/My DAZ 3D Library/Runtime/textures/DAZ/Characters/Genesis2/BaseFemale/V5BreeTorsoS.jpg", pixel type "Rgb", 4096x4096x1 pixels, 1 miplevel.
    Iray INFO - module:category(IMAGE:IO): 1.0 IMAGE io info : Loading image "C:/Users/Public/Documents/My DAZ 3D Library/Runtime/textures/DAZ/Characters/Genesis2/BaseFemale/V5BreeTorsoM.jpg", pixel type "Rgb", 4096x4096x1 pixels, 1 miplevel.
    Iray INFO - module:category(IMAGE:IO): 1.0 IMAGE io info : Loading image "C:/Users/Public/Documents/My DAZ 3D Library/Runtime/textures/DAZ/Characters/Genesis2/BaseFemale/V5BreeTorsoB.jpg", pixel type "Rgb", 4096x4096x1 pixels, 1 miplevel.
    Iray INFO - module:category(IMAGE:IO): 1.0 IMAGE io info : Loading image "C:/Users/Public/Documents/My DAZ 3D Library/Runtime/textures/DAZ/Characters/Genesis2/BaseFemale/V5BreeLashes1.jpg", pixel type "Rgb", 2048x2048x1 pixels, 1 miplevel.
    Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.0 IRAY rend info : Updating geometry.
    Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.0 IRAY rend info : Using built-in ray tracing.
    Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.0 IRAY rend info : Geometry import (2 objects with 169K triangles, 2 instances yielding 169K triangles) took 0.130249
    Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.0 IRAY rend info : Updating materials.
    Iray INFO - module:category(MATCNV:RENDER): 1.0 MATCNV rend info : Material instance 'Genesis 2 Female__Legs_229f_3966' uses MDL JIT compilation.
    Iray INFO - module:category(MATCNV:RENDER): 1.0 MATCNV rend info : Material instance 'Genesis 2 Female__Nostrils_22a0_3980' uses MDL JIT compilation.
    Iray INFO - module:category(MATCNV:RENDER): 1.0 MATCNV rend info : Material instance 'Genesis 2 Female__Lips_22a3_4003' uses MDL JIT compilation.
    Iray INFO - module:category(MATCNV:RENDER): 1.0 MATCNV rend info : Material instance 'Genesis 2 Female__Face_22a9_4033' uses MDL JIT compilation.
    Iray INFO - module:category(MATCNV:RENDER): 1.0 MATCNV rend info : Material instance 'Genesis 2 Female__Toenails_22aa_4046' uses MDL JIT compilation.
    Iray INFO - module:category(MATCNV:RENDER): 1.0 MATCNV rend info : Material instance 'Genesis 2 Female__Fingernails_22ac_4062' uses MDL JIT compilation.
    Iray INFO - module:category(MATCNV:RENDER): 1.0 MATCNV rend info : Material instance 'Genesis 2 Female__Head_22ad_4073' uses MDL JIT compilation.
    Iray INFO - module:category(MATCNV:RENDER): 1.0 MATCNV rend info : Material instance 'Genesis 2 Female__Hands_22ae_4086' uses MDL JIT compilation.
    Iray INFO - module:category(MATCNV:RENDER): 1.0 MATCNV rend info : Material instance 'Genesis 2 Female__Shoulders_22af_4099' uses MDL JIT compilation.
    Iray INFO - module:category(MATCNV:RENDER): 1.0 MATCNV rend info : Material instance 'Genesis 2 Female__Neck_22b0_4112' uses MDL JIT compilation.
    Iray INFO - module:category(MATCNV:RENDER): 1.0 MATCNV rend info : Material instance 'Genesis 2 Female__Hips_22b1_4125' uses MDL JIT compilation.
    Iray INFO - module:category(MATCNV:RENDER): 1.0 MATCNV rend info : Material instance 'Genesis 2 Female__Torso_22b2_4138' uses MDL JIT compilation.
    Iray INFO - module:category(MATCNV:RENDER): 1.0 MATCNV rend info : Material instance 'Genesis 2 Female__Nipples_22b3_4151' uses MDL JIT compilation.
    Iray INFO - module:category(MATCNV:RENDER): 1.0 MATCNV rend info : Material instance 'Genesis 2 Female__Forearms_22b4_4164' uses MDL JIT compilation.
    Iray INFO - module:category(MATCNV:RENDER): 1.0 MATCNV rend info : Material instance 'Genesis 2 Female__Feet_22b5_4177' uses MDL JIT compilation.
    Iray INFO - module:category(MATCNV:RENDER): 1.0 MATCNV rend info : Material instance 'Genesis 2 Female__Ears_22b8_4204' uses MDL JIT compilation.
    Iray INFO - module:category(MATCNV:RENDER): 1.0 MATCNV rend info : found 197 textures, 16 lambdas
    Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.0 IRAY rend info : Updating environment.
    Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.0 IRAY rend info : Updating lights.
    Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.0 IRAY rend info : Updating object flags.
    Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.0 IRAY rend info : Updating caustic portals.
    Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.0 IRAY rend info : Updating decals.
    Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.0 IRAY rend info : Using batch scheduling, architectural sampler disabled, caustic sampler disabled
    WARNING: dzneuraymgr.cpp(256): Iray WARNING - module:category(IRAY:RENDER): 1.0 IRAY rend warn : Found no usable nodes in cluster
    Iray Render error: Invalid parameters (NULL pointer).
    Saved image: C:\Users\Forrest\AppData\Roaming\DAZ 3D\Studio4 Public Build\temp\render\r.png
    Finished Rendering
    Total Rendering Time: 1.67 seconds

    Post edited by sexymacman on
  • Sphinx MagooSphinx Magoo Posts: 533
    edited December 1969

    Rogerbee said:
    SmallFry said:
    I did a quick pair of renders to compare 3Delight and Iray...

    Wow. Nice. Real nice.

    Let's have a look.

    CHEERS!

    Here's my two renders, side by side. I used an old file where I converted some M4 clothes to Genesis but hasn't polished it off to make it presentable. Still, it was good to show some of the differences between a 3Delight render and an Iray render in 4.8. If you zoom in and check the skin textures, some really amazing results can be seen.

    Test01+02.png
    2000 x 1294 - 1M
  • sexymacmansexymacman Posts: 8
    edited December 1969

    updating the drivers worked, I was able to render default genesis 2 female model, in under 4 minutes using my video card only. I am a happy camper.

  • PixolygonPixolygon Posts: 5,989
    edited March 2015

    -removed-

    Post edited by Pixolygon on
  • XoechZXoechZ Posts: 1,100
    edited December 1969

    Ok, since this is a thread about the new DAZ Studio beta, and not about Iray only ( :-) ), I want to mention something else about it.

    Has anyone noticed the improvements within 3Delight in this new build? First thing I noticed is that the "SSS delay" before the render of an image containing SSS shaders has become much shorter. So, all in all, rendering in 3Delight has become a bit faster, especially when using SSS.

    The only thing I do not like about it is the new behaviour of the progressive render function. I use progressive rendering a lot for testing when setting up lights and it worked quite well in 4.7. In the new 4.8 build progressive rendering is really odd. Anyone tried it yet, and can tell me why?

  • sexymacmansexymacman Posts: 8
    edited December 1969

    I really love the light it has, you can set it by time, based on a location lol and it adjusts the light "Sun" to how it would be in that location.

  • thenotoriousjedthenotoriousjed Posts: 397
    edited December 1969

    One of my first renders with iray. Not sure how to get the shiny effect off the Sasquatch and seems the Look at my Hair presets aren't working. Second pic is same exact scene in 3delight. Anyone got any ideas?

    hanging_out_2.jpg
    595 x 569 - 313K
    hanging_out.jpg
    595 x 569 - 294K
  • mjc1016mjc1016 Posts: 15,001
    edited December 1969

    XoechZ said:
    Ok, since this is a thread about the new DAZ Studio beta, and not about Iray only ( :-) ), I want to mention something else about it.

    Has anyone noticed the improvements within 3Delight in this new build? First thing I noticed is that the "SSS delay" before the render of an image containing SSS shaders has become much shorter. So, all in all, rendering in 3Delight has become a bit faster, especially when using SSS.

    The only thing I do not like about it is the new behaviour of the progressive render function. I use progressive rendering a lot for testing when setting up lights and it worked quite well in 4.7. In the new 4.8 build progressive rendering is really odd. Anyone tried it yet, and can tell me why?

    I think it's the 3DL build...the included build does have some speed ups, especially with SSS, but missed a couple of other improvements and has a couple of oddities in other areas. But I haven't gone through the lists to see which features are having problems and which got the improvements. Muskettu has gone over the lists and probably knows more (so would the devs, here...poke....poke...Spooky...et al...). I've barely glanced at the info (all from 3DL, btw)., mostly just what's up with the most recent build.

  • SpottedKittySpottedKitty Posts: 6,540
    edited December 1969

    One of my first renders with iray. Not sure how to get the shiny effect off the Sasquatch and seems the Look at my Hair presets aren't working. Second pic is same exact scene in 3delight. Anyone got any ideas?

    LaMH works by using the curve functions in 3Delight; Iray doesn't have the same functions (although it might end up with something similar in a future update), so a LaMH preset won't work. One thing you can do is export the LaMH hair as a geometry object, but that means you can't ever change the figure's pose because the hair is now fixed, and the exported hair needs a huge amount of system resources for full-body coverage like the Sasquatch.
  • thenotoriousjedthenotoriousjed Posts: 397
    edited December 1969

    LaMH works by using the curve functions in 3Delight; Iray doesn't have the same functions (although it might end up with something similar in a future update), so a LaMH preset won't work. One thing you can do is export the LaMH hair as a geometry object, but that means you can't ever change the figure's pose because the hair is now fixed, and the exported hair needs a huge amount of system resources for full-body coverage like the Sasquatch.
    Okay. Makes sense. I may work with it a little more and try different possibilities. It's just fun to have a new toy to play with and it didn't even cost me anything.
  • Oso3DOso3D Posts: 13,740
    edited December 1969

    In testing LAMH, I'm finding the object file seems to be about 1 MB per 1000 hairs. I had a 1 million hair LAMH that caused my machine to choke, but I'm having some luck with 200k hair stuff. (I haven't gotten to the point of rendering, working on that now).

    On an ongoing basis, what I envision MIGHT work is having a posing save, and then once you have your scene dialed in, convert it to a second save with the hair as an object.

  • L'AdairL'Adair Posts: 8,111
    edited December 1969

    namffuak said:
    Eva1 said:
    1. After checking out open DAZ Install Manager and check the box for Display Hidden in the Ready to Download tab.


    2. Next select Download Filters and in the Downloads tab check the box for “Public Build”.


    3. Last in the Ready To Download tab enter “sku::12000” in your filter box and down and install the files displayed.(note: file names will vary depending what operating system you are using.)

    I've done all that - How do you get the beta to show up in 'Ready to Download'? I've installed DIM (grugingly) , checked 'Public Build' in the filters, but only Public Beta Iray Suport Content is showing up in the list of products when I type sku::12000 into the filter - that is only when I have already got DIM open. If I try and download without DIM open it says the account referenced is not set up even though it's the same as my DS account (and I've tried adding the account again, and uninstalling and reinstalling). I would rather have installed this manually myself - could have done it in 5 minutes instead of the 30 minutes it's taken me so far with DIM to get this far.....

    At the risk of answering an already answered question (I'm playing catch up here) - if you have never done the beta thru DIM before you probably need to 'buy' it (it's free) -- this from the first page of the announcement thread: "If this is your first time downloading DAZ Studio Pro BETA, simply follow this link, click the “Add to Cart” button on the page and then follow the checkout process."

    I've also been watching to see if this was answered because I had the same issue, and I thought what worked for me might help someone else.

    This is my first Beta download. I followed all the directions from putting the item in my cart and "purchasing" it, to changing things in DIM. It still didn't show up. So I clicked on the little double arrow icon in the upper right corner, (I always think of it as the "sync" button,) and DIM communicated with the server. When the progress bars stopped moving, the files were there.

    I downloaded and installed DAZ Studio first, and then I downloaded and installed the other files.

    I hope this helps.

  • Oso3DOso3D Posts: 13,740
    edited December 1969

    DAZ_Jon said:
    A quick note for our customers, so you can't say we didn't let you know before most of you went out and bought a new video card, DAZ is working with some distributors to provide you the stellar deals, and unique value to DAZ customers, on NVIDIA cards directly. I can't go into any details, and if you see a great deal on a different website, by all means, go for it, but if you want to wait to see what we think will be a better value that we can bring you in the near future to help you on the hardware end, its in the pipeline that we're pushing hard finalize.

    ... ok, now I'm wondering if I should buy a 970 NOW or wait... nngggh!

  • jag11jag11 Posts: 748
    edited December 1969

    mjc1016 said:

    IES profiles are available from almost every light manufacturer's website. (It is what Architects use to design homes and every light manufacturer wants them to use their lights....)

    http://renderman.pixar.com/view/DP25764 is a link for Pixar's set of IES light profiles as well.

    Spooky, the reason I posted those is that they are set up for easy use with nice little preview and easy to remember names. I use them quite a bit in Lux.

    The Pixar set looks easy, too.

    Lighting manufacturers...not so easy. Your average one has thousands of them and they are alpha-numeric coded, generally you need a stand alone previewer to decipher the mess.

    It looks like I'm going to have to wait until it hits general release...I cannot get DIM to work on my set up, so no install. :-/

    One question...does or will it use nk files for metals?

    http://www.photometricviewer.com/ One stand alone previewer. LOL Or just preview them in the Iray viewport.

    Uses the Iray standard MDL (The equivalent of the Renderman RSL). I am not sure what NK is.

    By the way, how do I apply a custom made material(shader) .MDL to an object? I really wanna play with this. ;-)

  • Oso3DOso3D Posts: 13,740
    edited March 2015

    Anyone have any idea how viable Genesis will remain in Iray?

    I use both Genesis and Genesis 2 for various benefits -- I like having some freedom to tweak Genesis between genders (to make brothers and sisters, or whatnot), share clothes, and so on. But there are some detailed stuff (like Creature morphs) I like in Genesis 2.

    Obviously Genesis 2 has more detail, so will look a little better, but I worry about support and how easily I'll be able to tweak Genesis figures to make use of Iray shaders.

    Post edited by Oso3D on
  • kyoto kidkyoto kid Posts: 31,580
    edited December 1969

    nr_miller said:
    I did a real quick test animation, it's okay, took about 6 hours to render on a 970. Didn't play with too many settings. The interface is quite different than Reality/Octane.

    https://vimeo.com/121867200


    I'm not sold on it yet, but since Octane has been buggy as hell lately I'm excited to see where it goes past Beta.


    ...very nice.
  • KhoryKhory Posts: 3,847
    edited December 1969

    Anyone have any idea how viable Genesis will remain in Iray?

    Should be completely viable. Someone will need to set up a shader to apply to add all the iray settings but that really shouldn't be a big deal.

  • hacsarthacsart Posts: 1,178
    edited December 1969

    DAZ_Jon said:
    A quick note for our customers, so you can't say we didn't let you know before most of you went out and bought a new video card, DAZ is working with some distributors to provide you the stellar deals, and unique value to DAZ customers, on NVIDIA cards directly. I can't go into any details, and if you see a great deal on a different website, by all means, go for it, but if you want to wait to see what we think will be a better value that we can bring you in the near future to help you on the hardware end, its in the pipeline that we're pushing hard finalize.

    Aye, good on ya, but if you can do a deal with a Canadian supplier, that would be even better - Hardware is %&%&^& expensive up here :)

  • NorcaltrekNorcaltrek Posts: 9
    edited December 1969

    I had the same problem with the shy program not showing up as ready to download. I have 'purchased' an earlier beta before, and going to the Product Library and downloading 4.8 did not help.

    I managed to get a copy of it by logging into an alternate account, but that did not completely solve the problem because I can't download and install my purchased plug-ins through the alternate account.

    I have put in a request to tech-support to delete daz studio beta from my account to allow me to re-purchase it as new. I'm hoping that will help.

  • FixmypcmikeFixmypcmike Posts: 17,301
    edited December 1969

    I had the same problem with the shy program not showing up as ready to download. I have 'purchased' an earlier beta before, and going to the Product Library and downloading 4.8 did not help.

    I managed to get a copy of it by logging into an alternate account, but that did not completely solve the problem because I can't download and install my purchased plug-ins through the alternate account.

    I have put in a request to tech-support to delete daz studio beta from my account to allow me to re-purchase it as new. I'm hoping that will help.

    Make sure that your download filters in DIM include "Public Build" and "Windows 64-bit" or "Mac 64-bit".

  • NorcaltrekNorcaltrek Posts: 9
    edited December 1969

    I had the appropriate things set in Install Manager. I think the problem is somewhere in my CMS which, but the way, was deleted and reinstalled at some point.

  • kyoto kidkyoto kid Posts: 31,580
    edited December 1969

    ...OK, for those looking to save a couple hundred purchasing a GTX 970 over a 980 there is a reason for the price differential.

    Even though both units advertise 4 GB of dedicated VRAM the 970 uses an different configuration that has 3 of the shader modules disabled and initially tops out at only 3.5 GB The extra .5 GB does come into play if needed but it slows performance down as there is only 1 L2 cache controller bridged to serve the two memory controllers rather than the usual two. As all the discussion I read relates to gaming performance, not sure how this would impact GPU rendering in 3D applications. I addressed the question on the Nvidia Blog and hope to get a response.

    Here is a link to one of the articles that explains the topic more in depth.

    http://techreport.com/review/27724/nvidia-the-geforce-gtx-970-works-exactly-as-intended

  • JabbaJabba Posts: 1,212
    edited December 1969

    My PC probably won't handle doing complete scenes in Iray, but I did some PBR textures to try on the material globe...

    Jabba_PBR_Test_-_Iray.jpg
    666 x 666 - 263K
  • ZwytZwyt Posts: 81
    edited December 1969

    One of my first renders with iray. Not sure how to get the shiny effect off the Sasquatch and seems the Look at my Hair presets aren't working. Second pic is same exact scene in 3delight. Anyone got any ideas?

    The shiny stuff that you are seeing is likely caused by the same thing that causes the "vinyl" look in DAZ Studio with the 3Delight renderer too.
    It seems that the lighting model of most every material is defaulting to plastic. Just go in under the surfaces tab and look for the "lighting" model drop down, and change it to something that is more in line with the look you are trying to achieve.

  • ZwytZwyt Posts: 81
    edited December 1969

    Jabba101 said:
    My PC probably won't handle doing complete scenes in Iray, but I did some PBR textures to try on the material globe...

    I have been playing around with the Iray renderer on and off all day and I do not have an nVidia graphics card (yet :). I have however been able to get pretty good results in an acceptable amount of time spent rendering. I am sure that we have all just scratched the surface but this tech is seriously having the beginnings of blowing me away! If nVidia is getting this kind of tech out to the masses then my next graphics card will likely be nVidia.

  • ZwytZwyt Posts: 81
    edited December 1969

    RAMWolff said:
    In folks experiences with the various flavors of the NVIDIA cards who is the clear winner in your eyes...

    EVGA
    MSI
    GIGABYTE
    PNY
    ZOTAC
    ASUS

    I'm leaning towards EVGA or GIGABYTE (since I love love love their motherboards)...

    If I can find a on line retailer that takes Paypal Credit I'll go with that retailer for sure.

    I have had good experiences with MSI, EVGA, and ASUS. People say that Gigabyte makes good motherboards, but I don't know about graphics cards. Thes online retailer that I have found by far is Newegg.com and I think they take Paypal, if not you might try Amazon but make sure any marketplace seller that you buy from has good feedback. Oh and of course there is eBay, they most certainly take PayPal, and it is pretty easy to find a good seller just look at the feedback and what other buyers say about the seller... um which is feedback, I guess hunh? :)

  • jaebeajaebea Posts: 438
    edited December 1969

    I haven't read through 52 pages of this thread so I don't know if I missed something. I have the GTS450 card. I can't get a render at all, even with just the CPU box checked. Now, I must admit that most the the editor panel I don't understand so I just left everything set the way it came and tried to render a dressed v4 against a set background. The render window comes up but I get a box that says "Render Error". I am at a loss. Any ideas? Anything written yet that can explain those settings?

Sign In or Register to comment.