Mac is Back!

If you’re on a Mac, we have exciting news! The Daz Studio team is pleased to announce the release of Daz Studio 4.15.0.30 for Mac and Windows. This Studio software update broadens Mac compatibility to include macOS Big Sur and all previously supported Mac operating systems. 

What’s New?

Alongside macOS Big Sur compatibility, this update includes a handful of bug fixes and scripting updates for both Mac and Windows operating systems.

Daz Studio 4.15.0.30 Features:

  • Daz Studio 4 compatibility with macOS Big Sur and Apple M1 chips

  • Scripting API updates to add forward compatibility with Studio 5 scripts

  • Various bug fixes to issues that would result in crashing on Windows OS

  • Fixes to the smart content system

  • Bugfix update to Iray


The Daz Studio team is hard at work on future releases and we plan to keep the macOS updates coming. Get the latest version of Daz Studio for Mac and Windows today!

Please make sure to let our support team know if you run into any bugs or issues

Comments

  • Mark_e593e0a5Mark_e593e0a5 Posts: 1,206
    edited September 2021

    I am working on both macOS  and Win 10 with DAZ Studio (same version, 4.15.0.30). I must say that the macOS (11.5.2) version is MUCH more stable than the Windows one. The Win10 one is crashing a lot when using Iray preview or switching preview types (namely to / from Iray). Plus, Win10 version is very slow in saving a scene. A complex scene (UltraScenery plus HDRI plus three Genesis 8.1 females plus some animals) takes up to two minutes. The very same scene saves in less than 10 sec on macOS.

    P.S.: Don't let this slow you down. You are doing a great job laugh

    Post edited by Mark_e593e0a5 on
  • Daz_Travis said:

    If you’re on a Mac, we have exciting news! The Daz Studio team is pleased to announce the release of Daz Studio 4.15.0.30 for Mac and Windows. This Studio software update broadens Mac compatibility to include macOS Big Sur and all previously supported Mac operating systems. 

    What’s New?

    Alongside macOS Big Sur compatibility, this update includes a handful of bug fixes and scripting updates for both Mac and Windows operating systems.

    Daz Studio 4.15.0.30 Features:

    • Daz Studio 4 compatibility with macOS Big Sur and Apple M1 chips

    • Scripting API updates to add forward compatibility with Studio 5 scripts

    • Various bug fixes to issues that would result in crashing on Windows OS

    • Fixes to the smart content system

    • Bugfix update to Iray


    The Daz Studio team is hard at work on future releases and we plan to keep the macOS updates coming. Get the latest version of Daz Studio for Mac and Windows today!

    Please make sure to let our support team know if you run into any bugs or issues

    DAZ 4.15.0.30 is working perfectly on my iMac now — except for the GOZ plugin. I tried both the new beta version and the version downloaded in D Central but it seems the plugin is still referencing the old dyld files throwing the same old error: 


    Dyld Error Message:
      dyld: Using shared cache: 0C9EB0DE-F5CE-3AFC-8F08-0C6DB1E7FC44
    Library not loaded: @rpath/libdzcore.dylib
      Referenced from: /Users/Shared/*/GoZBrushToDAZStudio.app/Contents/MacOS/GoZBrushToDAZStudio
      Reason: image not found

     

    Screenshot 2021-08-27 at 18.56.21.png
    1250 x 950 - 369K
  • does any one have a suggestion for unzipping the new driver, its alway broken and i have used 4 apps to try unzipping it. archive utility,stuffit expander, the unarchiver, and extractor. this is not something i normallt encounter with drivers. normally one works of the 4.

    Screen Shot 2021-09-13 at 10.24.01 PM.png
    255 x 238 - 56K
  • Try using Install Manager rather than Daz Central. https://www.daz3d.com/get_install_manager/

  • I'm guessing not, but does 4.15 on mac now have filament, or is that still only a windows feature? (And if the latter, any news on when or even IF filament is ever going to be available for mac?)

  • wsterdanwsterdan Posts: 1,587

    jeylien said:

    I'm guessing not, but does 4.15 on mac now have filament, or is that still only a windows feature? (And if the latter, any news on when or even IF filament is ever going to be available for mac?)

    No Filament yet, we'll probably still see it in the Beta for DAZ 5 for the first time.

    -- Walt Sterdan

  • I am using filament on a bootcamp Win10 instance. I think in the current state, filament is overrated. I still prefer to construct all my scenes on macOS. DS is much more stable on macOS than on WinXX. 

  • M1 Mac guys, are you rendering using your Mac or saving the files to a PC with a beefy Nvid GPU?

  • Just want to chip in to say that this is great news!  I'm looking to buy a new MacBook in the coming weeks - and am looking at an M1 MacBook Pro of some description if it has Big Sur, so that I can continue my fave hobby on a new unit if my Intel iMac running Catalina should ever fail.  And hoping M1/Big Sur prices might come down with the release of the M1X units.

    So a big thank you to the developers!

     

  • Well as Apple released some beefy machines today I am wondering whether those will at any time be good for rendering. The showed a screen during the event with a render pane. Looked like Octane to me or something similar. Well something like iRay for Metal would be cool. Since nVidia wants to sell there cards we won't ever get it unfortunately.

  • Rod Wise Driggo said:

    Well as Apple released some beefy machines today I am wondering whether those will at any time be good for rendering. The showed a screen during the event with a render pane. Looked like Octane to me or something similar. Well something like iRay for Metal would be cool. Since nVidia wants to sell there cards we won't ever get it unfortunately.

    The renders and the UI they showed were Cinema4D  / Redshift.  

  • wsterdanwsterdan Posts: 1,587

    Apple's also working with Blender to beef up Metal support, that might be cool to see, especially since a metal-optimized Cycles would use the Apple Silicon GPUs.

    -- Walt Sterdan

  • FauvistFauvist Posts: 1,599

    What's M1?  I render everything on my MacBook Pro.  
     

     

  • wsterdanwsterdan Posts: 1,587

    Fauvist said:

    What's M1?  I render everything on my MacBook Pro.  

    Last fall Apple launched their custom Apple Silicon chip-based computers using the m1 chip as the first step in phasing out Intel chips in their machines:

    https://www.macworld.com/article/234860/apple-silicon-m1-system-on-chip-macbook-air-macbook-pro-mac-mini-imac-m1x-specs-features-intel-apps-rosetta-2.html

    -- Walt Sterdan 

  • Fauvist said:

    What's M1?  I render everything on my MacBook Pro.  
     

     

     

    This week on October 18th, 2021, the MacBook Pro got bumped-up to the M1 Pro and M1 Max CPUs with up to 32 GPU cores and up to 400GB/s of memory bandwidth.  That should make Daz Studio fly on a Mac.

    https://www.apple.com/macbook-pro-14-and-16/
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9tobL8U7dQo

    https://www.apple.com/newsroom/2021/10/apple-unveils-game-changing-macbook-pro/
    https://www.apple.com/newsroom/2021/10/introducing-m1-pro-and-m1-max-the-most-powerful-chips-apple-has-ever-built/

  • algovincianalgovincian Posts: 2,379
    edited October 2021

    robertswww said:

    Fauvist said:

    What's M1?  I render everything on my MacBook Pro.  
     

     

     

    This week on October 18th, 2021, the MacBook Pro got bumped-up to the M1 Pro and M1 Max CPUs with up to 32 GPU cores and up to 400GB/s of memory bandwidth.  That should make Daz Studio fly on a Mac.

    https://www.apple.com/macbook-pro-14-and-16/
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9tobL8U7dQo

    https://www.apple.com/newsroom/2021/10/apple-unveils-game-changing-macbook-pro/
    https://www.apple.com/newsroom/2021/10/introducing-m1-pro-and-m1-max-the-most-powerful-chips-apple-has-ever-built/

     

    Sorry, but I don't think so. Those on-chip GPU cores are useless for rendering in Iray (no CUDA).

    - Greg

    ETA: I take it back - I guess they might help if you're not rendering in the native render engines in DS (Iray or 3Delight).

    Post edited by algovincian on
  • 3Delight only does CPU rendering and does not use the GPU, so it will run just fine on a M1 Mac. But you are correct that iRay requires an nVidia GPU.

    So, Mac users who want photorealistic rendering on the M1 GPU cores, will most likely need to use Octane X...

    "This exclusive version of Octane X for the App Store features multi-GPU rendering, network rendering (through an additional Octane Enterprise Render Node license) and Apple M1 native GPU rendering support."

    Source:
    https://apps.apple.com/us/app/octane-x/id1548355081

  • Iray will render on the CPU, it will be slower and will lacka  couple of features (the AI-based denoiser and the new completion measure) but otherwise it will work.

  • TBorNotTBorNot Posts: 323

    Remember, with the new M1 you can render while you are outside in a park, at the same speed, using battery.

     

     

  • TBorNot said:

    Remember, with the new M1 you can render while you are outside in a park, at the same speed, using battery.

     

     

    But it will only CPU-render. While rather fast, it will not utilize the GPU, as the IRay render engine is not usable for non-NVidia GPU's. I hvae tried it with Octane, using the DAZ Octane render bridge, on a M1, and it is not fast, but FAST. Once budget permits, I will try it on a M1 Pro or M1 Max.

  • CMacksCMacks Posts: 179

    Thought I'd post comments on DS with a brand new high-end macbook pro M1 Max, running Mac OS Monterey 12.1:

    Downloaded and (manually) installed 4.16.0.3.  There was an error with the CMS install, but I still don't use that so I didn't investigate.  Manually moved over my content from an old Mac. Apart from some minor issues, which I chalk up to the new release, things work!  So, that's great.  It is definitely speedier,  like 20% faster compared to my previous 2018 MBP.  So, not astounding but solid.  Secretly, I was hoping for more of a speedup in CPU rendering, but again, maybe a 20% improvment.    Quitting DS still takes a couple of minutes.  Some crashes when saving files that I experienced on my old Mac/old DS seem to be gone, so that's a relief.

    It would be great if others shared their experiences here so we can compare notes.  I checked, and didn't find an appropriate thread in the DS forum.

     

  • CMacks said:

    Thought I'd post comments on DS with a brand new high-end macbook pro M1 Max, running Mac OS Monterey 12.1:

    Downloaded and (manually) installed 4.16.0.3.  There was an error with the CMS install, but I still don't use that so I didn't investigate.  Manually moved over my content from an old Mac. Apart from some minor issues, which I chalk up to the new release, things work!  So, that's great.  It is definitely speedier,  like 20% faster compared to my previous 2018 MBP.  So, not astounding but solid.  Secretly, I was hoping for more of a speedup in CPU rendering, but again, maybe a 20% improvment.    Quitting DS still takes a couple of minutes.  Some crashes when saving files that I experienced on my old Mac/old DS seem to be gone, so that's a relief.

    It would be great if others shared their experiences here so we can compare notes.  I checked, and didn't find an appropriate thread in the DS forum.

    Thanks!  I'm waiting for my first ever MBP to be shipped in the 2nd half of February.  I'm also getting the M1 Max, and since I wanted the 64 GB version, it forced me to cool my jets and wait for delivery.

    I am heartened that Octane works on the M1, as Mark says in his post immediately above yours.  I think that bodes well and who knows; maybe iRay will become available for running on the M1 "ARM" architecture.  Or maybe Apple will figure out a way to use GPU horsepower for unbiased rendering.

    That's a lot of maybes, yeah.  But it could happen!  wink

  • CMacksCMacks Posts: 179

    I've never tried Octane.  Is the plugin for Mac compatible with Monterey (OS 12.X) available yet?  

  • CMacks said:

    I've never tried Octane.  Is the plugin for Mac compatible with Monterey (OS 12.X) available yet?  

    Yes, MacOS Monterey (MacOS 12) is compatible with Octane X according to OTOY...

    Octane X (PR12) standalone is out for MacOS 12 / M1 Pro/ M1X!
    https://twitter.com/OTOY/status/1453130777445552128

     - and - 

    Octane X™ PR 12 [current Octane X for MacOS12]
    https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=78607

    NOTE: PR12 is the latest Public Release version from OTOY, but the Mac App Store Octane X version is still showing: Version 10.0.3.5
    https://apps.apple.com/us/app/octane-x/id1548355081

     

  • CMacksCMacks Posts: 179
    edited December 2021

    Not knowing anything about octane, I think I want the "Demo" version and that's not available yet.  But comments in the forum there seem to indicate it should be there soon.

    Post edited by CMacks on
Sign In or Register to comment.