Denoise renders and save a LOT of time! (Nvidia not Reqd)

Comments

• RAMWolffRAMWolff Posts: 10,146

Don't know as of yet.  I'm a total newbie when it comes to this process.  I was just gathering all the downloads and then reading the posts here to understand which is better. 

• LenioTGLenioTG Posts: 2,118
    RAMWolff said:

Don't know as of yet.  I'm a total newbie when it comes to this process.  I was just gathering all the downloads and then reading the posts here to understand which is better. 

Thank you anyway :D

• Leonides02Leonides02 Posts: 1,379

For my money, the Intel denoiser is superior. :)

• Matt_CastleMatt_Castle Posts: 2,347
    edited June 2019

Interesting! Would you mind a brief tutorial of how you get this all to work together? I’d love to give your method a try.

The meat of it right now is the Iray to 3Delight script I'm working on (which is unfortunately not yet completely refined).

The main jist is that it takes the Iray materials' base map/colour properties, and copies that to both the 3DL materials' base and ambient properties, creating a self illuminated material, as well as preserving displacement and opacity maps, but any specular, bump, normal, etc maps are thrown out. After that, set the object's parameters to have "Cast Shadows" off and turn off all scene lights (which I assume I can do via the script, but I'm focusing on material parameters for now).

I then render in 3DL with the sample quality set suitably high, and it seems to work as an acceptable albedo.

Padone said:

No, I still can't get an albedo from Iray. As I said before, I don't believe it's available via LPEs (which just focus on light paths, not surfaces), so if the feature is in Iray at all, it's something that Daz's programmers will need to unlock.