What are the advantages of purchasing other Genesis figures?

I'm not sure if anyone else has posted about this subject, but I have been playing around with Daz for about 3 years. I had never messed with any kind of digital art, until I came across Daz. So I'm still learning a lot.  Ive been using Genesis 2 figures for everything. I did purchase a few Genesis 3 figures, but I always find myself going back to Genesis 2 figures. Now I see that they have Genesis 8. 

My question is, what are the advantages of purchasing other Genesis figures?  Is it a preferance thing or are they actually better?  Also will they ever stop creating things, like clothes and poses to use with Genesis 2?   

Opening9.jpg
1158 x 646 - 66K

Comments

• frankrblowfrankrblow Posts: 2,052

Each iteration of the Daz characters brings some improvements, as well as some compromise. G8 has improved face structure, but some minor problems with some skin textures. I prefer G3, mainly because that was what was the "new thing" when I returned to 3D art. Before that, I really liked Generation 4 (V4/M4) and even Generation 3 (V3/M3/etc). Genesis 3 can do most of the things Genesis 8 can do, and vice versa. Genesis 2, not so much. Keep in mind that this is a very expensive hobby, and decide how you want to use your money. And have fun!

• kyoto kidkyoto kid Posts: 40,617
    edited January 2018

...the benefit of the Genesis line over Gen3/4 is being able to more freely fit clothing between different figures (even cross gender).  In teh past it requried using a thrid party conversion tool that wasn't always accruate and/or going though a tedious manual fit process.  Now I can fit say, Aiko 6 clothing to Sadie which was almost impossible to do back then.

Same goes for skins.

Post edited by kyoto kid on
  • nemesis10nemesis10 Posts: 3,277