Daz Motion Capture and Kinect Sensor Question

I am interested in experimenting with some motion capture animating in Daz and have come across some older posts about the topic. One of the posts that stands out is http://www.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/15404/motion-capture-kinect-and-daz-studio --mCasual had a solution in this thread which can be found here: https://sites.google.com/site/mcasualsdazscripts2/kinect-mocap-basics  

Is this still a good solution? Also, I'm a little confused about the Kinect sensor. Every one I look up has to do with Xbox. Do I need an Xbox to use it or is it possible to use it on my pc? For short, what do I need to do motion capture animation using Daz in 2017 cheaply? Any help and information would be most appreciated and my apologies if there is already a recent thread on this topic. I couldn't find it. 

Comments

• caiguisecaiguise Posts: 3

I'm still learning about mocap with kinect, but I can answer part of your question.  The kinect sensor can be plugged into your computer (leaving the xbox tower alone).  You can but a sensor on ebay at a relatively low price ($30-50).  Some of the earlier versions have an odd USB, which will not attach to the computer directly, so you either need to buy an adapter which ataches to the sensor's plug and separates into a power adapter and regular USB.  The kinect sensor was built to work with the xbox, but with free drivers, will work in Windows.  Store which sell second hand video games are a good place to check for second-hand sensors.