Nov. 2016 New User 3D Art Contest - Materials (WIP thread)

Comments

• ShimrianShimrian Posts: 475
    edited November 2016

daybird - What is in the tree?  A goblin?  surprise  Maybe you can add a lightsource from moonlight (as distant light with low intensity)?

I'm also having issues with lights, I don't fully understand iray and have switched back to 3Delight until I figure it out.  I'm not so happy with the how the lighting right now, but I still have 3 weeks to figure it out.  :)

I just reinstalled things on my computer with latest version after maybe 2012?  I was a beginner and took a long break and am coming back and trying to learn everything again.  :)

I've started with my project with Genensis 2, JaguarHair (with photoshop to change hair color to blue/pink) and the background (pergola, aka shaded haven) is from gen2 starter essentials.  I changed the surface (diffuse color) of the recesswall from the clay color to more grayish stone (using photoshop) and gen2 is wearing an elven dress (not edited yet).

I figure I'll add something to the WIP to get early feedback on materials, but I do hope to make lots of changes before the end of the month as I reacquaint myself with Daz Studio.

Gen2 figure with shaded haven backdrop

TheFaxMisher -  It might be nice to add short hair to your cat in the chair.  I recall doing a tutorial for fur on mil cat, but all the searches I come up with are returning a 404.  It would be nice to find it, but unfortunately, I can't find it.  I was able to find: http://www.furrythings.com/presets/ (search for DAZ Millennium Cat).  Maybe that can help?

Materials_01.png
    1280 x 720 - 1M
    Post edited by Chohole on
  • social_stigmasocial_stigma Posts: 107
    edited November 2016

Several versions later (and still working on it) ...

at night 4.jpg
    724 x 938 - 690K
    Post edited by social_stigma on
  • daybirddaybird Posts: 648
    daybird said: