No one asked me - Diomede posts screenshots on whatever

12930313335

Comments

  • MystiarraMystiarra Posts: 35,149

    it looks kewl.  thanks

    remembers the please dont squeez the charmin commercials laugh

  • StezzaStezza Posts: 5,511

    ahhhh.. thankyou @diomede

    the days when tp was in abundance.... those were the days wink

  • HeadwaxHeadwax Posts: 8,170

    The Toon horse captures the idea of 'toon' terrifically./ Missed your calling? Thanks for the tp. I wont have to use the two shells anymore

  • DiomedeDiomede Posts: 10,897
    edited April 16
    Headwax said:

    The Toon horse captures the idea of 'toon' terrifically./ Missed your calling? Thanks for the tp. I wont have to use the two shells anymore

    Appreciate the nice comments about the toon horse.  I may model a few more random things.  Something simple.  What else does the Carrara community need?  

    Post edited by Diomede on
  • DiomedeDiomede Posts: 10,897
    edited April 17

    Used Carrara to model a formal dress and shoulder wrap for G8F.  Assigned shading domains to make it easy to use the dress with G8F in Carrara with VWD, but I have been having a devil of a time with G8F in Carrara for the past month or so.  Freezes.  Crashes.  I think it was a graphics driver update in March.  Maybe there was an update to G8F essentials in Studio that affecta the figure in Carrara?  It could be Covid-19.  Who knows?

     

    Anyway, the dress figure is ready to be a freebie (without shaders).  I need to reassign the shading domains of the wrap so that it can stay on the shoulders during a drape simulation.  I should probably also edit the weightmaps where the wrap nears the sides of the torso.

    modeling a formal dress for g8F.jpg
    1492 x 939 - 198K
    modeling a formal dress for g8F 2.jpg
    336 x 732 - 40K
    Post edited by Diomede on
  • DiomedeDiomede Posts: 10,897
    edited April 17

    Here is the wrap falling off the shoulders in a DForce simulation.  I suspect the same would happen in Carrara with VWD without nailing some vertexes to the collision object.  I find nailing vertexes easier when I can select by shading domain, thus the need to redo the shading domains for the wrap.

    modeling a formal dress for g8F 3.jpg
    616 x 859 - 69K
    Post edited by Diomede on
  • DiomedeDiomede Posts: 10,897

    Dress and wrap now offered as a freebie.  You will have to convert to blended to use in Carrara.  Should work well with VWD.  

    https://www.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/400551/free-dress-long-dforce-skirt-and-dforce-shoulder-wrap-untextured

  • DiomedeDiomede Posts: 10,897
    Diomede said:

    Dress and wrap now offered as a freebie.  You will have to convert to blended to use in Carrara.  Should work well with VWD.  

    https://www.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/400551/free-dress-long-dforce-skirt-and-dforce-shoulder-wrap-untextured

    I had to replace the upload.  Apparently my data file was missing a folder.  If you have a problem, try downloading the updated file from ShareCG, same page.

  • DiomedeDiomede Posts: 10,897
    edited April 30

    Terrain creation, Painting, and Fluidos - Proof of Concept

    - drew rough heightmaps with an image editor

    - imported maps in Carrara's terrain modeler and applied filters (such as erosion)

    - converted to a vertex model at low resolution

    - selected outer edge, pulled down, closed the bottom (inportant for fluidos, I think)

    - uvmapped (probably suboptimal when told what is next)

    - exported as an obj

    - imported OBJ in 3D coat

    - in 3DCoat, painted some simple textures

    - exported model from 3DCoat as obj 

    - imported obj in Carrara and loaded the maps

     

    cc01 terrain imported from 3d coat.jpg
    1538 x 974 - 238K
    Post edited by Diomede on
  • MystiarraMystiarra Posts: 35,149

    thanks. !

    \i have trouble remembering the steps.  need to do it more often

  • DiomedeDiomede Posts: 10,897
    edited May 28

    Custom Figure

    (Fan Art) Rigged in Studio for Use in Carrara  (and Studio)

    The Grinch

    For this month's challenge, I modeled fanart Grinch and his dog Max.  I've rigged and weightmapped them both using Carrara's native tools.  However, I've decided to rig the Grinch using Studio's tools because I want to be able to make a variety of "Who" morphs and clothes.  The transfer utility in Studio can be a big help.

    Part 1 - Preparing a Carrara Mesh for Daz Studio Rigging

    - modeled the Grinch in Carrara's vertex modeler

    - using the Selection : by Name : by Polygons menu, I created groups and named them for the entire Grinch mesh.  One named group for each bodypart.

    - I tried to prevent unnamed polygons by sequentially selecting by each group and then inverting.  If nothing selected, then all polygons are in a group.

    - I exported the Grinch obj in the preset for Daz Studio : Full Scene.

    - I created a file structure based on some advice by Mark Olsen, MDO2010, but I'm not sure what forum name he goes by now.

    - I have a base project file with two main  subsets, the Content Files, and my Working Files.  Only the Content files would ever be shared

    - The content file has a folder for the data files that Studio will create when the completed figure is rigged and saved as a support asset.  This project also requires a place to put the custom figure so I chose People.  It is also customary to place material and texture files in a Runtime : Textures folder within the content folder.

    - Separate from the content folder, I have a working files folder.  I have subfolders for my Carrara files, for OBJs (base figure and morphs), and for anything I use to help with textures (including references).  I do not share the working files folder.

    grinch rigged and posed.jpg
    800 x 600 - 28K
    yy01 naming polygons in this case chest.jpg
    1236 x 809 - 100K
    yy03 export obj as daz studio full scene preset.jpg
    1212 x 972 - 205K
    yy04 grinch file structure.jpg
    600 x 600 - 74K
    Post edited by Diomede on
  • DiomedeDiomede Posts: 10,897

    I have more than 1 tutorial for rigging, but I must say that the one by SickleYield is a favorite.

    https://www.daz3d.com/how-to-create-a-new-daz-studio-custom-creature

    sicleyield tute.jpg
    310 x 406 - 35K
  • Bunyip02Bunyip02 Posts: 3,894

    Good job on the Grinch !!!

    Thanks for the recommendation on Sickleyield's Tute, have eyed it off before !

  • DiomedeDiomede Posts: 10,897

    New Freebie at ShareCG.  I modeled a simple low poly grass prop, suitable for replication.  It is in DUF format, and will install fine in Carrara 8.5 content library to be replicated on all your low poly background landscapes.

    https://sharecg.com/v/95873/view/21/DAZ-Studio/Grass-Prop-for-Daz-Studio-UltraScatter

     

  • DiomedeDiomede Posts: 10,897
    edited June 5

    Replicated in Carrara Assemble Room

     

    grass in carrara.jpg
    1774 x 1005 - 417K
    Post edited by Diomede on
  • Bunyip02Bunyip02 Posts: 3,894

    Does this mean that the grass is greener on the other side ?

  • DiomedeDiomede Posts: 10,897

    I do like Howie Farkes' new product, UltraScenery.  One issue I have with it is the difficulty to customize.  So, I will be making a few props so that I can test substituting my own creations.

  • WendyLuvsCatzWendyLuvsCatz Posts: 25,955
    Diomede said:

    I do like Howie Farkes' new product, UltraScenery.  One issue I have with it is the difficulty to customize.  So, I will be making a few props so that I can test substituting my own creations.

    you have a computer that can actually handle it too yes

    knowing how Ultrascatter freezes up my PC and goes to CPU I need to save up for hardware before I can buy that and most of the new stuffs with dforced everything too

  • Bunyip02Bunyip02 Posts: 3,894

    Been eyeing off the Ultra Scenery, would have been nice if there was a Carrara version of it !

  • DiomedeDiomede Posts: 10,897

    Wish all Carrara-ists were able to upgrade computers when UB and I did.  Recently, I've been wondering if I should take another look at Carrara's softbody physics.  One of the problems was calculation time.  Didn't Misty look again recently?

  • WendyLuvsCatzWendyLuvsCatz Posts: 25,955
    Bunyip02 said:

    Been eyeing off the Ultra Scenery, would have been nice if there was a Carrara version of it !

    there is

    it's called Carrara heart

  • WendyLuvsCatzWendyLuvsCatz Posts: 25,955

    but

    yes we could do with more tools using the replicator system

    need people who can understand the SDK and Digital Carvers and other opensource plugins to make them work more like DAZ instances 

    to be able to use the instance placeholders in duf files would be in itself awesome 

  • WendyLuvsCatzWendyLuvsCatz Posts: 25,955

    I thought I could do it using replace in Twinmotion but that loads every instance placeholder at 0,0,0 too like Carrara

    iClone seems to be the only thing that reads the FBX in situ, 

  • Bunyip02Bunyip02 Posts: 3,894
    Bunyip02 said:

    Been eyeing off the Ultra Scenery, would have been nice if there was a Carrara version of it !

    there is

    it's called Carrara heart

    Yes there's lots that can be done !!!!

    Would be nice if Howie had the time and financial rewards to do some more Carrara masterpieces !

     

  • DiomedeDiomede Posts: 10,897
    edited June 5

    2nd Free Grass Prop - low poly suitable for toon, best with instancing or ultrascatter but not necessary

    https://sharecg.com/v/95878/view/21/DAZ-Studio/Grass-Prop-02-for-Daz-Studio-UltraScatter-low-po

     

    Grass 02 promo.jpg
    1300 x 1000 - 347K
    Post edited by Diomede on
  • DiomedeDiomede Posts: 10,897
    edited June 6

    And a tree in Daz Studio format.  I will see about posting the carrara version in next post, but I'm not sure about the leaves and bark shaders

    https://sharecg.com/v/95879/view/21/DAZ-Studio/Tree-Prop-Daz-Studio-Unrealistic

    tree promo 2 jpg.jpg
    795 x 853 - 121K
    Post edited by Diomede on
  • DiomedeDiomede Posts: 10,897

    Here is the Carrara version of the same tree.  Let me know if there is a problem.  See attached zip.

    zip
    zip
    Dio Tree Yucky 01 CAR zip.zip
    2M
  • WendyLuvsCatzWendyLuvsCatz Posts: 25,955
    edited June 6

    I just rendered a scene with your other trees

    and new grasses

    @Artini terrain heightmap

    https://www.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/comment/5695641/#Comment_5695641

    now I have to add that one cheeky

    this is Carrara BTW not Ultrascenery blush
    took 1.33 mins

    DAZ studio iray I would have to go for a walk to the mall and grab a takeaway and eat it

    Doc3.png
    1920 x 1080 - 2M
    Post edited by WendyLuvsCatz on
  • WendyLuvsCatzWendyLuvsCatz Posts: 25,955
    edited June 6

    this one took almost 15mins because I used sky light

    didn't use the palm as not a tropical island I think

    think Distant light instead of sunlight and no skylight in render looks better and only 2:43mins

    Dio trees grass Artini HM.jpg
    1920 x 1080 - 273K
    distant no skylight.jpg
    1920 x 1080 - 293K
    Post edited by WendyLuvsCatz on
  • Bunyip02Bunyip02 Posts: 3,894
    edited June 6

    this one took almost 15mins because I used sky light

    didn't use the palm as not a tropical island I think

    think Distant light instead of sunlight and no skylight in render looks better and only 2:43mins

    Looking good

    Don't forget the Palm Tree

    Diomede Palm Trees 1 Topaz.png
    800 x 598 - 1M
    Post edited by Bunyip02 on
Sign In or Register to comment.