MANGA STYLE & VISUAL STYLE topic - Update Sept 23rd 2017: Fixed Dropbox links! [Commercial]

Comments

• Well, I'm jealous, you guys. laugh

You're all doing such beautiful renders, both with Manga Style Shaders and Visual Style Shaders.  I bought both shader packs a few weeks back, but since I'm a DAZ Studio newb, I haven't figured out how to create any renders with them.  I'd love to know how TheNathanParable achieved his results, like promo pics 4 and 8 of MGS, or the shirtless guy promo pic of VSS.

The Geometric Shell has me stumped, too. When I "apply" it (obviously I'm doing it all wrong) all I get is a black blob instead of a rendered figure.  Perfect if you're doing a Bob The Blob comic. Otherwise...

• Are you using the correct renderer? These shaders will only work if the renderer is set to "3Delight", and not "Nvidia Iray".

As for the geoshell outline, you need to first create a geometry shell for the object you want to outline, and then apply the shader to that geometry shell.

There are some step-by-step guides you can download from the first post in this topic. They were written a while ago (before Iray was added to Daz Studio), but they should still be relevent.

• edited April 2016

So I'm trying to use visual style shaders on Keiko 6 on her skin. If I apply a preset skin shader, like Peach, I lose the color of details such as eyelases, nipples (which gain the same color as her skin) and so forth while definitely getting the effect. Is there any way to either maintain these details or make them display in the same style as the rest of the shader? I tried applying textures to all these areas after applying visual skin - texture, but then I almost entirely lost the shader effect.  

Post edited by palmer_aif_1b587f57f9 on
  • If you own either Hitomi, Hiro 5, or AoA's Subsurface Toon shaders, you could try using the cartoon eyebrows included with those. You might be able to use auto-fit to get them working on Keiko 6.