Before I Start - Can I Do This?

Hi --

Before I download and starting trying to learn Daz I am curious if someone can tell me if what I want to do is possible.

I would like to start with a standard male human figure and then create four or five altered versions that would mimic the evolution of man for a simple animation I want to create. This would mean altering the shape of the head, the size of the legs and torso, the curve of the arms, the hunch of the torso, etc.

I have no real experience with 3D modeling so I'm hoping that Daz has built in tools or sliders to easily alter the figures as I need so that I can then export the ready to rig models for use in an app like Blender.

I am hoping someone can answer my question rather than me digging through documentation / demos or FAQs.

Thanks

Rich

Comments

• The application can certainly do that, the question would be whether there was suitable content - shapes that, alone or in combination, would give the look you want

• crosswindcrosswind Posts: 4,716

Shapes altering and blending, fast rigging and posing, etc. are the strengths of Daz. You can animate the evolution of you figures on the timeline with nice transition, but if you wanna make it more complex and a faster rendering, exporting to blender is a good choice, as you mentioned.

There's Diffeomorphic DAZ Importer, a pretty good bridge for Daz+blender users.

• DAZ Studio is probably the best tool there is for what you want to do. You will not find as vast and varied a marketplace for the assets you'll need nor a framework as good as Genesis to make it all work together anywhere else.

But...

If you plan to move beyond the simplest of animations or even be critical of simple ones, you will want to export your stuff to a real animation environment such as Blender, as @crosswind has said.

• Thanks for all your comments. I will defintely animate in Blender because that is the tool I "know" (although I've only been using Blender for about a year.)