3d Prints Made With Carrara as Starting Point

HeadwaxHeadwax Posts: 9,921
edited August 2022 in Carrara Discussion

Well, I bought a 3d printer two months ago now that they have dropped down to a price that ordinary mortals can afford. I have to admit that it's taken two months to learn how to use the thing. After many failed prints I'm still learning. Don't let anyone tell you they are plug and play - and they are slow - think a one legged snail.

Be interested to see if anyone else is using Carrara in this way.

Interesting trying to get your head around three d composition as opposed to painting on canvas composition.

This could be a maquette but possibly it won't be 

Working on a series - "House Gods and Ball Joint Dolls" - maybe with Hans Belmer in mind.

I'll post more eventually - too many to pick from...

'Cog God Variation 1" PLA and acrylic paint. 23 x 8 cm. (maquette?) this is a Daz Model slightly altered. Exported with the displacment intact. Made manifold etc in 3dBuilder. Sliced in Cura 5.

Cog made in a free online cog generator.

Post edited by Headwax on

Comments

• Bunyip02Bunyip02 Posts: 7,524

Interesting !!!

What's the approximate price of each item printed ?

• HeadwaxHeadwax Posts: 9,921

Thanks Mr Bunyip02. Hopefully not like the Chinese Curse! Lets see this filament cost 24 to 30 australian a kilo. You cant uy it by the metre so your mikage varies dpending on the weight of the filament , think carbon fibre verses copper infusedd. I looked at uni of wollongong site today re their fins ... they are using 123 aus dollars for 250 grams? Of filament. So cost for this model , two months of grief , 20 failed prints, one screwed nozzle , one screwed pei bed, 125 grams of fulament, superglue, axrylic paint, 15 years of learning how to model in 3d, 20 kilos of filament to experiment with, the joy of doing it myself, (priceless) , hours of mucking around .... so the print is about 2,40 australian :) .