Daz Studio Pro BETA - version 4.20.0.17! (*UPDATED*)

Comments

• HavosHavos Posts: 5,304

nicstt said:

luka said:

Hi there,

I don't know if anyone reported this or had this kind of issues, but my Ghostlights are not working once I updated to 4.15.1.91 or 4.15.1.96. They are working on 4.15.0.30 and 4.15.1.72 so hopefully someone knows what's going on. I'm using a 3090 with the latest Studio drivers 472.47 and windows 10 v21H1.

I just use tonemapping more now ghost lights don't work.

I'm finding I actually prefer it.

I'm still cheating of course, but it's art and I can pretend I'm an artist because of said cheating. wink

I would not consider changing the tone mapping as cheating, as that is exactly what a camera would do if you take an indoor photo without a flash.

The problem with just boosting the exposure to compensate for lack of ghost lights is the render will take a lot longer to remove the grain. Here the extra illumination the ghost lights provided is of help, in particular when the only other light is coming via a window.  You can get round this problem using the denoiser, but I had never liked the denoiser that much, it removes too much detail in order to get rid of the noise.

In general I look at the loss of Ghost Lights with some nervousness. I use them quite a bit for indoor scenes, and if they no longer work it will delay me moving up to the new Iray version until a decent alternative arrives.

• VEGAVEGA Posts: 86

Havos said:

nicstt said:

luka said:

Hi there,

I don't know if anyone reported this or had this kind of issues, but my Ghostlights are not working once I updated to 4.15.1.91 or 4.15.1.96. They are working on 4.15.0.30 and 4.15.1.72 so hopefully someone knows what's going on. I'm using a 3090 with the latest Studio drivers 472.47 and windows 10 v21H1.

I'm still cheating of course, but it's art and I can pretend I'm an artist because of said cheating. wink