DzLights 101, More then just the Menu Lights.

ZarconDeeGrissomZarconDeeGrissom Posts: 5,412
edited October 2014 in New Users

As a beginner, I simply used the Menu Lights, as I had no clue where anything was in the Content Library maze. The Menu Lights are simple to use, and they protect you from applying dangerous settings, lol.

I have been told that the Dz Lights are better, and (rephrased by me) faster to render under certain circumstances.

So here I am, I have a vague clue what some of the settings imply, and others I have no clue. To complicate matters, there are some differences with how the same settings applied to UE2 lights have drastically different results when applied to regular UberLights. Some Uber settings even override the "world" settings under certain circumstances. Given that, I am hesitant to just blindly mess with settings I have no clue about.

So to start with, Where are these "DzLights". They are also in the Smart tab, somewhere, for this the Content Library is easier.
Post 1 of 2

Post edited by ZarconDeeGrissom on

Comments

• ZarconDeeGrissomZarconDeeGrissom Posts: 5,412
    edited July 2014

And a glimpse at some of the settings, at there defaults, for the "DzSpotlight". I have yet to look at the other two (dzDistantLight, dzPointLight).

Shadow Type, well for me it is "Ray-trace" always, as I want real light for my work.
    I have a clue as to what Shadow Color, Softness, and Shadow Bias is, I think.
    Same with (light) Intensity, Yet I'm confused by the extra "Intensity Scale".
    The rest, What dose it do? Do any of the settings alter the "World settings", and how do the settings differ from the super-simple Menu lights?

Some of the settings almost look like a softness by means of adjusting the size of the light source, tho it is not exactly clear if that is what it dose.
    Post 2 of 2

DzSpotLight1_Shadow101b.png
    509 x 529 - 18K
    DzSpotLight1_Light101a.png
    510 x 683 - 24K
    DzSpotLight1_Display101c.png