Lights don't work in Texture Shaded view, Please help!

So I'm new to all this and i'm trying to light a scene. First of all, the luminous flux does NOT increase the light when I'm in texture shaded mode. I can crank it up to 50000000 and it looks exactly the same as it did at 1500. Then I go into invidia iray mode to see the light and it's blowing out my scene. So I go back to texture shaded, and now everything is dark. No light at all.

This lighting business has me so frustrated I'm about to give up. Can anyone help? What am I doing wrong?

Comments

• CTRL+L will turn on the camera light which usually lets you see what is happening in a scene in texture shaded mode (such as when everything was black).

Usually I apply a light source to a scene, then run a quick test render to 50-100 iterations and then cancel it, close the render window and adjust from there.  Depending on how good your graphics card is you can work in iray preview mode and make adjustments to the lighting from there so you can see the results fairly quickly, and then switch back to texture shaded for moving or adding objects.  When I'm doing this I generally set the Maximum Samples to 50 in the Render Settings > Progressive Rendering.

• Wow. I'm pretty sure you just raised more questions for me than you answered! LOL. Thanks for the help though. Is there a good YouTube tutorial for lighting in Daz?

• Have you tried using Scene only - When you are working with lights? Then you can see the result both 
    in texture shaded and or in Iray

• gniiialgniiial Posts: 204

I'd suggest to use a spot light, then transform it to your needs. It works really great in the texture shaded way, and is also a good way to lighten the scene in general. It looks way more realistic, with some nice settings. By moving it further away, you see also better when the impact is to low, to high or if it would give a nice lightning. 
    Some Settings, for a model at the startpoint:
    Parameters Tab of the light: