September 2019 - Daz 3D New User Challenge - Depth of Field

Comments

• L'AdairL'Adair Posts: 9,479

Whelp. My computer works again and where does my mind go? Ginormous, complicated scenes. One of these days my computer's going to melt.

Anywho, I started playing with MICK; in particular the Great Hall preset with an eye towards a contrasted fore- and background. One small problem: the Great Hall is big. Like, really big.

So, this is the result when most of it is invisible. (The vendor promised the potion would wear of in 24-48 hours. It's been 3 weeks!)

Court Meeting Mk0 (foreground only)

Time to see what the lighting looks like with the rest of the hall visible. If it fits in VRAM.

@rcbcgreenpanzer, I'm a little confused about the potion. Is it a love potion? A potion to turn a man into a woman for a day? Just wondering. The question and answer have nothing to do with challenge.
    smiley

(I can totally relate about the ginormous, complicated scenes. The image I'm working on now had to be rendered in five layers!)

I'm looking forward to seeing how the full image looks. One thing that might help with rendering such a large set, depending on how dark you want the background, is to light everything normally and then use Tone-Mapping to darken the output. Iray likes light, so if the Great Hall is well lit, it will render faster. You can then set the Exposure Value to a higher number and the image will darken accordingly. You may need to use another light on your figures to keep them from going darker, (Unless you like the results, of course.)

Cinus said:

My entry for this month

The Blue Fairy, by Cinus

Full size here : https://www.daz3d.com/gallery/#images/860231/

@Cinus, I love everything about this image. The high contrast lighting on the fairy, the ominous, red set behind her, even the grain, (noise,) of the finished render feels like a film photo taken in a dark setting.