Corrupted model? / shiny surfaces looking ugly

I am relatively new to 3D modeling and I've had trouble with the combination Hexagon and DAZ Studio for several times with the same issue:

In Hexagon everything seems alright, but in DAZ Studio a plane surface of the object looks very ugly. You can see it in DAZ studio already in non-Iray-preview when highlighting the object. And in the final Render the result is okay for smooth shaders like carpet, but bad with shiny shaders like metal.

Are non-planar polygons the reason? Or is the obj-file corrupt?

Comments

• KitsumoKitsumo Posts: 1,210

I think the issue is that middle section where you have n-gons(polygons with more than 4 sides). Daz Studio doesn't like n-gons, and tries to fix them on its own, but the results usually don't look good.

I tried splitting the center n-gons on your model with Free Tesselate, and it helped a little but still had artifacts (board 3 in the images). Then I used the Extract Edge tool on the exterior edges. The result looked a little better, but now has artifacts along some of the edges(board 4).

Image 2 is the wireframe in Daz Studio, image 3 is the regular preview, and image 4 is the Iray preview.

I'm still a beginner at Hexagon, so someone else can probably do better. Hope that helps.

board example 1.jpg
    1158 x 841 - 123K
    board example 2.jpg
    1351 x 671 - 132K
    board example 3.jpg
    1351 x 671 - 76K
    board example 4.jpg
    1351 x 671 - 79K
    zip
    zip
    board 3-4.zip
  • JonnyRayJonnyRay Posts: 1,744

I think @Kitsumo is on the right track. Getting rid of the n-gons is the first step. You can find them in Hexagon by using the Select menu and choosing "Select faces with more than 4 points".