Tough Getting Started...

BorisBadenovBorisBadenov Posts: 51
edited December 1969 in New Users

I'm pretty new to Daz 3D. From what I've experienced so far, it's probably not for me. I was looking to start slow, and maybe start buying content as I learned more, and got better at it, but it's WAY too frustrating. I tried a couple fully inclusive projects that went reasonable well, but that's where the fun ended.

I decided that rather than risk buying content, I would just start with some free stuff, and see what I could do from there. It's impossibly complicated. I haven't been able to get one single thing to work. The installer loaded Daz folders all over the place on my hard drive. I have 2 Daz folders in my documents folder, a Daz folder in my c: drive Program folder, a Daz folder in my c: drive Program (x86) folder and probably a few more scattered about.

When I manage to find free content to download, I have no idea where to put it. The folder structure is unbelievably complex. (Why is this even necessary?) When I finally did put the content in a folder, and it showed up in the Daz menu, I got error message after error message with no idea what to do about it.

There are so many generations of models that I can't possibly keep them straight. I have no idea where to go to begin learning, and absolutely no interest in buying anything when everything is this complex from the get go!

If someone tells me I need to wipe everything and reinstall, that's a good sign I need to stay away from the product. I'm a hobbyist, not a professional. I'm not going to be making money doing any of this. I was just looking for a diversion from my video editing, and after effects projects. Thought I might be able to create some cool fantasy scenes, etc, in Bryce, add a few 3D models and spice up my projects. (hobbyist, remember...?)