UV Mapping

handyman4545handyman4545 Posts: 399
edited December 2018 in Hexagon Discussion

I have zero experience in UV Mapping and I want to apply it to a new projext shaped similar to the Star Trek Enterprise.
mol two plates stacked top to top.

Does anyone know of a tute that addresses this topic from a beginners point of view?

I also want to create a flyby and I can't find anything on that either.

Post edited by handyman4545 on

Comments

• FSMCDesignsFSMCDesigns Posts: 12,518

Daz Studio doesn't do UVmapping since it is a posing, rendering and animation app. Is that image from DS or another app? Most modeling apps come with UV mapping capabilities. There are other standalone alternatives such as Roadkill, Ultimate Unwrap 3d, UVLayout, Substance Painter, etc.

• My bad...
    You're right. I was thinking about Hexagon and seeing Daz
    I'll roll this over to Hex.

• TaozTaoz Posts: 9,714
    edited December 2018

There are several in the store which cover the issue if you search on "hexagon". There are also some on youtube, just search on "hexagon uv mapping".

Post edited by Taoz on
  • Garry Miller the original geekatplay hexagon tutorial maker has tutorial videos on youtube that help decipher many of the Hexagon functions. The channel has plenty of videos available. Lots to learn.  Here the one on uv mapping a tire.

• JonnyRayJonnyRay Posts: 1,744

I have to put a plug in for my favorite UV mapping tool ... Ulitmate Unwrap

It is SO much easier and more intuitive. I always export my objects from Hex and map them in that tool instead. I know that Hex can do it. I just never got the hang of how to make it work despite some of the tutorials that are available for it.

• DzFireDzFire Posts: 1,473
    JonnyRay said:

It is SO much easier and more intuitive. I always export my objects from Hex and map them in that tool instead. I know that Hex can do it. I just never got the hang of how to make it work despite some of the tutorials that are available for it.