A Conex Box (Penetrating A Rhomboid)

handyman4545handyman4545 Posts: 399
edited September 2018 in Hexagon Discussion

This thread started out as a request for assistance in penetrating one of the components of the Conex Box.
The titlw was changed because the thread took on more aspects of the project than the actual original question.
Handyman

Question:

I'm still learning how to navigate this interesting software.
I want to penetrate this cube with these two cylinders so that I can see through the cube.
How do I merge the cylinders with the cube such that I can delete the face of the cube within the cylinder circumference only?

Please bear in mind that NOVICE instructions or suggestions in a step by step manner will not insult me.

Post edited by handyman4545 on

Comments

• AscaniaAscania Posts: 1,838

Either use the boolean operations and create an utter mess of geometry or start with the hole and costruct your cube outward from that.

• handyman4545handyman4545 Posts: 399
    edited September 2018

#1 Boolean Operations.
    #2 Starting with the hole?
    Not sure how to do that but I'd love a simple explaination on how to extract a cube from a cylinder.

Don't see that as practicle in this application though.
    I have two intersecting cylinders penetrating this cube.
    I'd have to start with two holes(?) at perpindicular angles before somehow building the cube from them.
    I'd guess that I'd end up having to resort back to option #1 with at least one of the two cylinders?

Is there no way to simply penetrate the cube with the cylinder, weld the ends of the cylinder to the cube's face(s) (w/o adding a cuzillion new edges & pts) and then delete the cube face only inside the cylinder's circumference?

BTW
    Curious as to your background with this software.
    I'm guessing your occupation puts you in front of a computer screen in an engineering application of some sort.