DAZ hogs 100% of my cpu

Please bear with me because I am not too technically proficient and all the stuff about processors mystifies me.

I've tried multiple times over a span of over 10 years to use DAZ and finally acquired a pc that I thought would actually meet the system requirements. I jumped through all the many hoops necessary to install it, and it seemed to work as I got to work on a scene (I have a fair amount of experience with poser 7, so it was't too hard to figure out...) But it soon crawled to a near stop, and I checked Task Manager to discover that DAZ was hogging nearly 100% of my CPU! On a brand new computer that was supposed to far, far exceed the minimum reqirements!

I've attached a screen grab of the Task Manager panel, as well as a summary of my pc's specs from speccy, which I've had on two other pc's  with no problem.

Does anybody have any idea what the problem is? Or did I throw away $800 on a useless pc?

Thanks.

Comments

• cm152335cm152335 Posts: 421

expand the ">" to check what part of Daz use the process power

• CGI3DMCGI3DM Posts: 276
    edited August 2018

mode IRAY in Viewport??? Selected Texture Shaded

And in Render Settings

Engine NVidia Iray - Checkbox - For GTX-1060

Preview.png
    486 x 305 - 35K
    Post edited by CGI3DM on
  • ronanon8002ronanon8002 Posts: 0
    edited August 2018
    cm152335 said:

expand the ">" to check what part of Daz use the process power

Initially, when it was still using all my CPU, nothing but another "DAZ" with no subdirectories apeared.

An hour ago there was a whole long string of stuff I did not get a screen shot of, but it was only using 0.3% of my pc's cpu.

But now all it says is "DAZ Studio 4.10 Pro" plus the name of the file I'm working on. And it seems to be working ok, with exactly 0% cpu usage (or so it says)

I've only been using DAZ for a total of 6-8 hours, and clearly I've got a lot to learn.

Post edited by Richard Haseltine on