[Solved] UV Maps changing during import/export

ArkadySkiesArkadySkies Posts: 206
edited July 2018 in Hexagon Discussion

I'm trying to refit a hair a hair model to G2F in Hexagon. Using "Send to Hexagon" then "Send to Daz" on a model seems to be altering or warping the UV map, even when I do NOTHING else to it in Hexagon. It also keeps sending models back with a new surface named "def_surf_mat."

Anyone know why this is happening? Is there a setting/preference that needs to be changed to stop this? The day before yesterday was the first time I tried Hexagon so yeah, total noob here.

This is what happens when I reapply the opacity map.

EDIT: I now know how to fix mat zone names with the geometry editor, so you can ignore that bit. Unless of course it happens to be relevant to the overall problem and you have any idea what it is and how to fix it.

Post edited by ArkadySkies on

Comments

• Syrus_DanteSyrus_Dante Posts: 983

I have no expirience with the send to Hexagon plugin/brige so I can't tell you if this is a common issue.

As an alternative you could save an OBJ file with the morph you made with Hexagon and use the MorphLoaderPro to load it into DazStudio onto your hair. One advantage is the altered UV map and the surface name from Hexagon dosn't get read in by this just the pure shape (vertex position). Another advantage are the various extended options you have in the import process like the reverse deformation and things.

• ArkadySkiesArkadySkies Posts: 206
    edited July 2018

Thanks for responding, that worked, so I was finally able to use transfer utility to make it a functional conforming hair. Unfortunately, there are still a few unwelded vertices that need fixing so it's an imperfect solution for the model's other problems (it was originally a game model hair). I do have a mostly-usable conforming hair model now though, and overall that's the important part.