February 2018 - Daz 3D New User Challenge - Lighting

Comments

• barbultbarbult Posts: 23,129
    asums said:
    Tynkere said:

@ Asums

Welcome to the fun!

Emissive light for the front?  Low intensity spot?  

Something is going on with surface settings (duh) to make the bridge of his nose appear almost translucent like that, and of course his hair isn't a plastic helmet.

Can you pose a screenie of your surface settings?

Please don’t take any of this the wrong way.  You have a terrific render as is!  Usually, ‘tweaking’ doesn’t come around until later.  Since you said you’ve already been working on it, I guess you’re at that stage.  ; ) 

Good job

Hi Tynkere, all help and tips welcome, I'm still learning the technical sideof Daz, and very much want to learn. In fact just from reading  your comments, I realise I've never used the surface tab before!! And I realise the G3 male hair glossiness was set to 100% Something I can correctr straight away.

I've attached a couple of screen grabs for the surface settings of the male character and an overhead of the set up. If I can improve the look of the textures please let me know.

Hello, @asums, and welcome to the New User Challenge. You've got a good start to an interesting lighting challenge image. I see that your G3M character is using the AoA Subsurface shader. That is a 3Delight render engine shader. Are you rendering in 3Delight or Iray (the default render engine in recent Daz Studio versions)? If you are rendering in Iray, Daz Studio will do an automatic conversion of most 3Delight shaders to Iray, but the results will probably not be optimum. I'll hold off on further advice until I know whether you are rendering in Iray or 3Delight. (The render engine is selected in the Render Settings pane.)