Difference between NPR shaders?

Hi everyone - total newbie here to this tool (I mean I've used Max, Maya, Photoshop, Lightroom, Illustrator, done simple 2d shaders based on normal directions - but never used Daz3d beyond the intro tutorials)

I'd like to get into it more but before going deep I just want to make sure I can get a look I could be excited about - doing away with anything that look 'CG'.  

Btw, to my aesthetic this looks CG: 

In my perfect ideal world I'd love to get looks like:

Or (if I were to look at non-CG I'd love to reach, I'd shoot for stuff like)

But I get that's unrealistic for starting out and that all those took a lot of work and deep knowledge past 'out of the box'... So I'd be happy to just go noir style and get stuff like 

Or other 'over the top' stuff versions of NPR like that that go far enough people don't think of them as CG..  I guess if I had to define it, it would be stuff with non-uniform line width on strokes, and either no shadows / all black shadows / textured shadows..  Stuff like that.

There seem to be a few popular shader tools there, but at $20ish a pop I'd rather not buy every possible shader just to see which (if any) I'd like.  For that matter, trying to figure out 'what is the difference between what these do', 'what can each of them not do', and if at all possible 'what have you done with these that pushed them without breaking out scripting'

Thoughts?  

Comments

• Hmm it keeps saying there is 1 comment here but not seeing it, so if you replied please do it again or message me, very much want to hear your thoughts
  • tkdroberttkdrobert Posts: 3,532

I use Visual Style Dhaders alot, but you have to tweak the settings to get the look you want.  You can figure that out by using the PDF tutorials that the PA has made available.  Also, VSS only works with 3Delight.  Check out this thread.