My digital comic book composed of DAZ products!

Comments

• RorrKonnRorrKonn Posts: 509
    edited December 1969

You just need experienced at lighting ,rendering just keep at it till ya get what ya doing.
    The more you practice the better you get at it.
    Shaders can effect the look a lot also.

• jorge dorlandojorge dorlando Posts: 1,156
    edited December 1969

Here I used: curves, soft glow, and color (midtones, highlights, and shadows) all the gimp.

rog.png
    600 x 477 - 517K
  • galactica1981galactica1981 Posts: 1,250
    edited December 1969

That's interesting, although I'm not sure that's the look I would want. I also would like to avoid postwork if possible, as I'm not very good at using Gimp.

• Herald of FireHerald of Fire Posts: 3,504
    edited December 1969

I think part of the problem is you're too used to seeing the 'headlamp' lighting setup and aren't entirely confident in using alternate lighting strategies. Your experimentation seems to be focused on trying to achieve the same look as the headlamp, when you should ideally focus on what the scene requires.

Brightly lit scenes usually convey happier tones while darker scenes convey tension and horror. Not only should you pay attention to the type of lighting to use, another thing to consider is light colour. Using contrasting colours can pick out certain details which are otherwise missed as well as make scenes more lively. Tone down intensity for different lights to offer a different type of contrast across the image, and also so you don't 'blow out' the scene by making it over bright.

Lighting is one of those things which could take a whole tutorial to explain fully, and there are lots of ways you can go about it. The best way to learn, I find, is to begin with a simple light setup and learn what each of the various options do. Play around with different styles and don't be afraid to use additional lights to add more tones to the final scene.

• daveleitzdaveleitz Posts: 459