rendering to cache

westernnomadwesternnomad Posts: 90
edited December 1969 in Product Suggestions

I'm still a newbie to Daz, so perhaps I'm missing something that's already there. However, I have the problem of running out of memory while rendering. Is there a renderer that works with cache instead of RAM?

Comments

• Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 96,219
    edited December 1969

Try rendering to disc. However, if you are running out of memory, and if you are using the 32 bit version, you may be stuck - can you use the 64 bit version, if you aren't already doing so?

• westernnomadwesternnomad Posts: 90
    edited December 1969

I've tried rendering directly to disk, but the same renders that cause the memory crash render a blacked-out image. Is there perhaps a file type that's more stable for rendering with low memory? Should I use .png instead of .jpg?

My Dell XPS is a few years old now. I think it's a 32-bit and using 2GB of RAM.

Another workaround question - my video card has 8 GB. Is there a way to force Daz to use VRAM instead?

edited December 1969

No, DS itself won't use RAM though if you use Reality (or Luxus, I think) and LuxRender you can use the GPU version of that - but it's different in effect, requires material adjustments in most cases, and may not help. I'm afraid 2GB is very tight - even on my old machine, which was new about six years ago, I had (and needed) 3GB, and realistically you probbaly need a 64bit system for anything remotely ambitious or complex. Having said that, it may be worth looking at the option of rendering to RIB and using the stand-alone version of 3Delight.

• jestmartjestmart Posts: 4,449
    edited March 2013