The Realism Challenge - Biased VS Unbiased Showdown

Comments

• JabbaJabba Posts: 1,458
    edited December 1969

looking through my render folder for some raw renders that are in jpg format (I normally render & work with png files and convert to jpg to share) - DS 4.5 render...

Jane_test_01.jpg
    1920 x 1080 - 1M
  • MistaraMistara Posts: 38,675
    edited December 1969

i've been saving up to but Cinema4d for a couple years, (not there yet), and i have no idea if c4d is bias or unbias?

the orange in the fruit bowl looks good enough to eat.

• Herald of FireHerald of Fire Posts: 3,504
    edited December 1969

i've been saving up to but Cinema4d for a couple years, (not there yet), and i have no idea if c4d is bias or unbias?

the orange in the fruit bowl looks good enough to eat.

Cinema4D uses a biased render engine, but as I'm sure we can all agree, the results are still pretty spectacular.
  • daveleitzdaveleitz Posts: 459
    edited December 1969

I've been reading a book about VRay lately. Not because I have VRay. Not because I plan to buy VRay. I'm reading it because it talks about universal principles common to all rendering engines like lighting, shading, and textures. Until one understands the "why" it won't matter so much about the "how." Btw, that's why I use Blender. I can learn the principles of CG before attempting to master a "professional" application like Maya. When I started out on Blender a couple of years ago, I couldn't afford Maya. Although I probably could now, I've got other things I need to spend that money on. Nevertheless, I like Maya, having played with a demo version. But I'm not going to wait to learn CG until I can afford the application I think is best.