Worlds Edge's Trials And Errors

Worlds_EdgeWorlds_Edge Posts: 2,142

I'm a newbie at Daz/3D in general.  I've been gleaning a lot of great information from tutorials and the generous posters on the forums.  I've probably rendered less than 10 things so far as most of my time has been spent reading/trying to learn things, and yeah, buying assets.  My renders are pretty hit and miss.  If and when the lighting comes out good, it is a fluke, not talent or knowledge, LOL.  I am having a lot of fun though, and I plan to get better with time and practice. 

All comments, crits and tips are appreciated. 

This first one is non-photorealistic.  I made it a while back.  It is a simple Robert render with a Sveva background, postorked to give it a comic book look.

Comments

• Worlds_EdgeWorlds_Edge Posts: 2,142

Angel v. Monster render pre and post work.  I made so many mistakes that I later corrected in photoshop.  Here are the ones I remember:

1. Used knocked-out poses by Sickleyield as a starting point, and forgot (didn't  know) to turn off the darts that come with the poses
    2. Could not get the monster onto the sand - he partially floats despite my efforts.  Winged character might be a little floaty as well.
    3. I rendered the background and each character separately to make post work easier.  I forgot to include the wings in the render!  So, I had a larger render of the character with wings and had to cut the wings out, paste it into this one and make lots of changes to fit it right.  Yup, I won't make that silly mistake again, I hope.
    4. The monster was too small and needed to be scaled up.
    5. Left edge - no background area

I'll put the post-worked version in a separate post - I was unable to add it here.

Monster fight on beach 2.jpg
    2600 x 2600 - 3M
    edited May 2017

Here is the post-worked version.  I tried to fix the errors above (some with more success than others), and added some details such as blood, scuffed up sand, and footprints.