How to Rig a Prop: Magician's Staff

RGcincyRGcincy Posts: 2,808
edited April 2017 in The Commons

I previously posted my notes on learning how to rig a cabinet door. This thread contains my notes on creating a slightly more complex rig. If anything isn’t clear in the instructions or if adding another image would be helpful, let me know. Since I’m new to this, there may be a more efficient ways to accomplish some tasks. If so, just post a comment and I’ll update my directions.

This uses the Snake Staff prop from the PC+ Staff Pack. This is more complex rigging than the cabinet doors I rigged in the previous thread as it is not a single piece of rigid geometry rotating around a single axis. On the other hand, it is less complex than trying to rig a humanoid figure.

We will be adding 8 bones to the staff. More could be used if you want to give the prop greater flexibility but 8 is sufficient to show how to accomplish the rigging.

I’ve broken the steps down into 5 main tasks:

1. Guide Preparation
  2. Assign Polygons to Face Groups
  3. Convert to a Figure
  4. Position the Bones
  5. Adding Weight Maps

If you don’t own the snake staff, you can use any other staff you might have to follow along. Or you can create a staff by choosing Create/New Primitive from the main menu and making an elongated cylinder using the following parameters:

Post edited by RGcincy on

Comments

• RGcincyRGcincy Posts: 2,808
    edited April 2017

Guide Preparation

This is an optional step but I did it to create a visual guide for selecting the polygons later in the rigging process.

1. To start, load the Snake Staff prop then type Ctrl+D to raise it slightly so it sits on the ground plane.

2. Switch the camera to Left View.

3. From the main menu, select Create/New Primitive of type Cube and size 0.24 m.