Have a Look Around: 360 Renders

RGcincyRGcincy Posts: 2,805

I started playing around with spherical Iray renders today and am having a blast creating scenes where I'm in the center and can look all around. The Daz Forums don't appear to have a way to display 360 renders, so I'm using a site called 2VR.in to post the renders. The process to create a 360 scene is easy:

1. Start with a scene that has objects in all directions. 
  2. Render in Iray using your camera set to Lens/Lens Distortion Type/Spherical.
  3. It's recommended you render at a 2:1 ratio with a 4096 by 2048 resolution. I'm finding a pretty good results using a 1.25:1 ratio at a 1800 by 1440 resolution which renders much faster.
  4. Save the render as a .jpg.
  5. (Optionally) Sharpen the image using GIMP or PSP.
  6. Go to 2VR.in and post your image. You will get an email after posting that has a verification link you need to click on before your image is viewable. The first time I did it, the email took 10-15 minutes to arrive. After that, they've shown up pretty much instantaeoulsy.
  7. You'll get a second email with a link to your image. Copy that URL and paste here.
  8. When you view the 360 render, use your mouse to drag the scene and you can look up/down/right/left.

Here are links to the first 360's I've made:

FirstBastions Mid Forest Vale

Peaceful House

Tithe Barn

This is an open thread, so anyone who wants to post a 360 render (using whatever host works for you, there are others besides 2VR), please fell free to do so.

Comments

• NovicaNovica Posts: 23,859

Thanks for sharing your new-found expertise!  One of these days I'll give this a go. In the meantime, looking forward to seeing what folks are doing. 

• mindsongmindsong Posts: 1,693

great thread, and your starting renders are great

--ms

• RGcincyRGcincy Posts: 2,805

Very cool! what tools do you use to animate it?

mindsong said:

great thread, and your starting renders are great

--ms

Thanks!

• RGcincy said: