Generation X2 and Morphs, Characters, Presets and Poses?

I'm fairly new to all of this, so clearly I don't understand all the terms or technological frameworks going on with DAZ Studio, and I think that is part of the problem I am experiencing with Generation X2. 

Sometimes I transfer a morph or a character and it works great on the destination. Sometimes it turns the destination figure into a monster when I activate the morph, and other times, nothing happens at all... or you know, maybe the eyebrows raise or the lips change shape - but the actual character or morph I was trying to transfer isn't the end result. 

Playing around with it today at some length, I feel like I'm near some sort of realization of what I am doing wrong, as well as getting a better understanding of the difference between figures, characters, poses, presets, morph injections, and legacy poser formats versus DAZ studio formats... which, I think are ALL going to have some sort of impact on if what you want to transfer from one generation to another will work right or not. 

I'm hoping some of the old pros around here can help me better understand this and if my thinking is on the right track. 

We'll use a transfer from a source figure of Victoria 4 to a target shape of Genesis for this example.... 

I load Victoria 4.2 either using the GenX plugin "source" button

or by loading her in DAZ studio (using PowerLoader to select V4.2 Aiko 4 Morphs and V 4.2 base Morphs and Morphs++, with Generate ExP Files checked, including support for all listed products) 

If I look at BODY and head nothing is selected. If I "Select" "On For All Non Zero Values", still nothing is selected. All values are zero. 

Now... if I have loaded the Victoria 4 character in DAZ studio, select her in the scene tab, and in the Parameters tab I dial Aiko4 to 1.00...  Victoria 4.2 base's BODY changes to Aiko4.